Readied Action to Move and Force an AOO vs Enemy Caster


Rules Questions

101 to 150 of 154 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>

Chess Pwn wrote:


"Your movement occurs just before the beginning of the casting of a spell as that is what the trigger is"
IE YES, your movement does occur before the spell is started.

It doesn't say "just before the beginning." It makes no particular distinction. It could just as easily say "just before the end."

Because it makes no distinction, the context of the paragraph is what clarifies the sentence.

Again. Stop ignoring context."

Or do you want to explain how these two sentences can mean anything other than "just before the end of the casting of a spell."

"Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition."

"Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."


"D-day, when the Allies invaded Normandy, happened before WWII."
"Barack Obama was president before American history."
"Marco Polo visited with Kublai Khan before his journey to the East."
"Humans reach puberty before their lifetimes."
"Wheat is cut from the ground before it is harvested."

All totally reasonable grammatical sentences according to you, apparently.

Quote:
Again. Stop ignoring context."

And I am not ignoring context. It is because of context that I am agreeing with your interpretation of what RAI is, but that does not change RAW being silly.

Quote:
Or do you want to explain how these two sentences can mean anything other than "just before the end of the casting of a spell."

They either imply time travel/future sight, or they are errors and simply don't make sense.

Sentences don't HAVE to have a reasonable meaning simply by consequence of them existing in a book printed by Paizo Publishing. Because Paizo Publishing is not omnipotent and infallible.

Therefore "You can't think of a way it makes sense" does not logically imply "You must be reading it wrong." It might just... not make sense.


It makes perfect sense if you apply even a lick of common sense to the rules instead of your pedantic rules lawyering.

But as mentioned above, the rules aren't even being discussed anymore. Have fun containing your argument that demand burden of proof where you provide none. Happy gaming.


CommandoDude wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:


"Your movement occurs just before the beginning of the casting of a spell as that is what the trigger is"
IE YES, your movement does occur before the spell is started.

It doesn't say "just before the beginning." It makes no particular distinction. It could just as easily say "just before the end."

Because it makes no distinction, the context of the paragraph is what clarifies the sentence.

Again. Stop ignoring context."

Or do you want to explain how these two sentences can mean anything other than "just before the end of the casting of a spell."

"Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition."

"Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."

"You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."

First I will define some items.
1)I ready a move action to move to square Y. This is my readied action
2)I will take it when wizard X begins to cast a spell. This is the condition

Now I will clarify something
So anytime before my next action, I may 'do a move action to move to square Y' in response to 'wizard X beginning to cast a spell'.

I will replace the words "action" with the actual stuff happening.
"'do a move action to move to square Y' occurs just before the 'Standard action wizard X was using to cast a spell'"

BUT another interpretation might actually be
"'do a move action to move to square Y' occurs just before the 'wizard X beginning to cast a spell'"

Which is the correct wording replacement depends on what action means. does it mean (free, swift, move standard) or is it referring to the condition set for the readied action.

Either way, your movement does occur before the spell is started. As that was the condition set for your readied action, and your action happens before the action that triggered it.

Now, since the caster is still able to use his standard action to cast a spell, he continues to begin to cast his spell, which is continuing the action that triggered the readied action.


Crimeo wrote:
"D-day, when the Allies invaded Normandy, happened before WWII."

Not even close to what I said, but, okay, whatever. I think I'm done, as carl says, this isn't even a discussion about the rules, just pointless semantics wankery.

Grand Lodge

Crimeo wrote:
It says before THE ACTION. Not "the conclusion of the action" or "part of the action" or "everything but the very first bit of the action" or "before the action that triggered it completes" or anything else of the sort. That is not ambiguous. If the other context implies something else, then the other context contradicts this, and they screwed up writing it. English does not morph on demand to the needs of Paizo never being wrong.

The only action however that is actually triggered is the movement. That is the only action that is resolved before the trigger which is the mage's spellcasting. You don't get to ready two actions which is the move and attack.


Quote:
Not even close to what I said

Oh? You said:

Quote:
It doesn't say "just before the beginning." It makes no particular distinction. It could just as easily say "just before the end."

"The Allies invaded Normandy before WWII" does not make any particular distinction about the "beginning of WWII" or the "end of WWII". That was your criterion. So applying your logic in precisely the same way as you did in this thread, that sentence is totally grammatically fine, because it can "just as easily" mean "The Allies invaded Normandy before [the end of] WWII" which would be true if so.

Thus, you should find absolutely nothing wrong with that sentence. Unless you've changed your rules since then. In which case, please tell us what your new rules are, that we may go back and apply them to pathfinder as well.

Quote:
You don't get to ready two actions which is the move and attack.

You don't have to ready the AoO, it just happens as per regular AoO rules automatically since a character began spellcasting non-defensively next to an enemy. There is no other requirement for an AoO, it can happen at any time the criteria are fulfilled during anybody's turn.


By the way, there's actually no contradiction in the "continues to cast".

If we consider a timeline:

Martial readies to move:
5| <-- End of Round
4|
3|
2|
1| <-- Readies to move
0| <-- Start of Round

Caster starts to cast:
5| <-- End of Round
4|
3| <-- Starts to cast
2|
1|
0| <-- Start of Round

Martial's ready goes off:
5| <-- End of Round
4|
3| <-- Starts to cast
2| <-- Martial moves adjacent
1|
0| <-- Start of Round

Caster continues to cast:
5| <-- End of Round
4|
3| <-- Starts to cast(which provokes) AND continues to cast
2|
1|
0| <-- Start of Round

As you can see above, the martial has time traveled to just before the caster started casting. After his movement is done, the caster continues to cast the spell he had started. However, at this point, the AoO has already happened timeline-wise. Yes, this means you can "continue" the casting - the ready and AoO happened in the past, relative to when your action started.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
I much prefer the explanation "the readied action lets you move in as the casting starts, but the provoking point of the spell is already past".

And this is perfectly legit by RAW. RAW does not answer which goes first between an AOO and a readied action enacting on the exact same trigger. GM interpretation is required.

OP... expect table variation. Some on this thread would allow it. Some on this thread would not.

For those that would allow it, just imagine the increased threatened range for a trip monster. You just added the ability to add their movement to their threat range. On any round that someone has only a standard action left and can't attack anyone, they suddenly can get to and attack someone, often spoiling completely entire actions in the process.

That isn't something I'd allow in my game, but... more power to you.

Cheers!

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Readying an Action wrote:


The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

Your readied move action interrupts the spell casting. After your movement, the spell casting continues. Continuing to cast a spell doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

This is RAW as interpreted by me, a GM. It is supported by the rules, it is how everyone I've ever played with runs it. You guys are welcome to interpret it differently in the games you GM.


What about readied-actions-partial charges?

Shadow Lodge

Nicos wrote:
What about readied-actions-partial charges?

Fairly certain you can't normally ready a 'Partial Charge':

PRD Wrote wrote:
If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.

You are limited to a Standard action or less as your readied action, but you don't actually lose your move action (you could, for instance, draw a weapon on your normal initiative as a move action and then ready a standard action to attack if the wizard in front of you starts to cast).

Now, if you were restricted to standard actions for some other reason, technically you could ready a partial charge, which is quite frankly more than a little silly (I can only move and attack if you slow me?) and probably calls for a GM's interpretation.
Since you can ready an attack to interrupt spellcasting, if you do somehow get a 'readied partial charge' it would probably work under those guidelines. Whether you can get an AoO as well is, well, I guess you'd need to review the previous 110 posts and come to your own conclusion on that.


what a weird situation where being slowed is an improvement.

Grand Lodge

ShieldLawrence wrote:
Readying an Action wrote:


The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

Your readied move action interrupts the spell casting. After your movement, the spell casting continues. Continuing to cast a spell doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

This is RAW as interpreted by me, a GM. It is supported by the rules, it is how everyone I've ever played with runs it. You guys are welcome to interpret it differently in the games you GM.

You skipped an important part...

Quote:
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

It's better if you read the whole section rather than just cherry-picking individual words that help your point.

---

Nicos wrote:
what a weird situation where being slowed is an improvement.

In case Taja's answer wasn't enough.

FAQ wrote:

Ready: Can you ready an action to charge?

No. The rules for a charge state that you can take a charge action as a standard action if you are "restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn". Although the ready action text states that you can take a standard action, it does not meet the requirements of the text in the charge action. (See Core Rulebook pages 198 and 203)

The Concordance

claudekennilol wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Readying an Action wrote:


The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

Your readied move action interrupts the spell casting. After your movement, the spell casting continues. Continuing to cast a spell doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

This is RAW as interpreted by me, a GM. It is supported by the rules, it is how everyone I've ever played with runs it. You guys are welcome to interpret it differently in the games you GM.

You skipped an important part...

Quote:
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
It's better if you read the whole section rather than just cherry-picking individual words that help your point.

It was included in my reference to the rules. Emphasis by bolding is a common technique on a forum, just as you used to to emphasize the sentence in question.

The rules seem to contradict themselves, as you cannot do A before B starts while simultaneously interrupting B and then allowing B to continue. I choose to use the interrupt/continue interpretation, and you are welcome to use the occurs-before interpretation in your games. Both seemingly have RAW support.

Grand Lodge

ShieldLawrence wrote:
claudekennilol wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Readying an Action wrote:


The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

Your readied move action interrupts the spell casting. After your movement, the spell casting continues. Continuing to cast a spell doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

This is RAW as interpreted by me, a GM. It is supported by the rules, it is how everyone I've ever played with runs it. You guys are welcome to interpret it differently in the games you GM.

You skipped an important part...

Quote:
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
It's better if you read the whole section rather than just cherry-picking individual words that help your point.

It was included in my reference to the rules. Emphasis by bolding is a common technique on a forum, just as you used to to emphasize the sentence in question.

The rules seem to contradict themselves, as you cannot do A before B starts while simultaneously interrupting B and then allowing B to continue....

Well, one interpretation has a contradiction (yours), the other does not (mine). How I interpret that line that your hinging your argument upon is that the player (creature, npc, whatever) must continue with the action they've already committed to. With that interpretation there is no contradiction.

Shadow Lodge

Nicos wrote:
what a weird situation where being slowed is an improvement.

In case Taja's answer wasn't enough.

FAQ wrote:

Ready: Can you ready an action to charge?

No. The rules for a charge state that you can take a charge action as a standard action if you are "restricted to taking only a standard
...

As Nicos and I both noticed, you can technically ready a partial charge if you are slowed or otherwise staggered (I was editing my post to mention that option when Nicos made that reply).

On the general argument of this thread, let's take a more basic and extreme example:

  • 'Big Bad Bob' has a standard tactic of teleporting into a room and attacking.
  • The PCs are familiar with this trick and one readies an action to cast Dimension Anchor as soon as Bob appears.
  • Bob teleports in.
  • Dimension Anchor is successfully cast.

Now, where is Bob?
  • Is he trapped in the same room as the party? Logically, he is.
  • Per the RAW, however, Dimension Anchor went off before he teleported in, which means he is somehow trapped in the room he originally teleported out of.
  • Of course, since the PCs did not have Line of Effect to that location, per RAW the Dimension Anchor casting failed, Bob did teleport in, and he is free to teleport out.

Personally, I think Bob is trapped in the room with the PCs and a readied 'move to the caster' does not allow you to take an AoO on that caster...


Nicos wrote:
What about readied-actions-partial charges?

That's a feat. Rhino's Charge.

I'm not saying i agree that it should be a feat. Just that it is.


Taja the Barbarian wrote:

On the general argument of this thread, let's take a more basic and extreme example:

  • 'Big Bad Bob' has a standard tactic of teleporting into a room and attacking.
  • The PCs are familiar with this trick and one readies an action to cast Dimension Anchor as soon as Bob appears.
  • Bob teleports in.
  • Dimension Anchor is successfully cast.

Now, where is Bob?
  • Is he trapped in the same room as the party? Logically, he is.
  • Per the RAW, however, Dimension Anchor went off before he teleported in, which means he is somehow trapped in the room he originally teleported out of.
  • Of course, since the PCs did not have Line of Effect to that location, per RAW the Dimension Anchor casting failed, Bob did teleport in, and he is free to teleport out.

Personally, I think Bob is trapped in the room with the PCs and a readied 'move to the caster' does not allow you to take an AoO on that caster...

First off, you can't ready actions outside of combat.

Discounting that, your ready was triggered based on him appearing. While hitting Bob with the anchor just before he appears is logically problematic, it can be hand waved in some flavorful way. The important thing is that the teleport spell was already completely cast and thus the anchor is not interrupting its effect. If the player doesn't buy this then tell them their dimensional anchor failed, as they tried to cast it before Bob appeared and thus didn't meet the spell's targeting requirements.

If you had readied to cast dimensional anchor on Bob when he cast teleport, you'd have to first determine whether the player can detect the casting. If they could, perhaps muffled through the door, you would still need to meet the targeting and LoS requirements of the spell. If you did, then you have now successfully anchored BoB before his teleport causing it to fail.

Most of situations like these can be resolved by understanding what players are trying to do with their ready and adjusting it to make sense. Thus, "I ready to shoot the bad guy when the door is opened." should be translated to "I ready to shoot the bad guy half a second after the door is opened.". ( <-- Imho this should be correct punctuation. meh.)


Quote:
If you had readied to cast dimensional anchor on Bob when he cast teleport, you'd have to first determine whether the player can detect the casting.

Not if the contingency is based on "somebody teleporting into this room"

To satisfy those criteria, you have to be able to perceive exactly what it says: somebody teleporting into the room. They could have CAST it 100 miles away, this is irrelevant since the trigger is "teleporting into the room" not "casting teleport"

Quote:
First off, you can't ready actions outside of combat.

There was an unrelated goblin stabbing an unrelated party member during the above events on the other side of the room, so initiative was on.


Crimeo, that's what the "If" at the start of the sentence is there for.

For the "appearing in the room" ready: as mentioned in the second paragraph, technically your Dimensional Anchor would fail to cast because you cast it before Bob appeared.

Which is why I suggested using reasonable interpretation to fill in the blanks on what is actually readied so that it works. (see last paragraph)


A move action is roughly 2-3 seconds, dashing 30ft in that time is easy peasy. Certainly fast enough to intercept a spell being cast that takes 3-4 seconds to complete.

Shadow Lodge

tsuruki wrote:
A move action is roughly 2-3 seconds, dashing 30ft in that time is easy peasy. Certainly fast enough to intercept a spell being cast that takes 3-4 seconds to complete.
The specific issue is:
  • Per RAW, spell casting only provokes at the start of the casting action (if the spell has a full or multi-round cast time, you don't get an AoO just because you walked up to him after he started but before he finished).
  • The OP's readied action is to move to the caster if he starts casting a spell.
  • Logically, if that movement takes any time at all, the OP does not get an attack: He wasn't threatening the Caster when the cast started, and the cast was already 'in progress' when he was within reach.
  • Per RAW, however, the 'Reaction' happens before the cast, which creates the whole 'I can see into the future' issue.
  • Of course, Reacts resolving before the trigger makes no sense with the 'Distracting Spellcasters' tactic: Damage taken doesn't require a Concentration check if the caster hasn't actually started casting yet.
    Core Rulebook PRD (Combat Chapter) wrote:
    You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger "if she starts casting a spell." If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her concentration check result).

So basically, the rules are bit of a mess, and given the variety of possible 'action and reaction' interactions, I doubt it's possible to get good rules on this beyond a generic 'GMs need to use their best judgement' clause. Okay, you could go the old 'Star Fleet Battles' approach and spread your actions and movements out each round so everyone moves simultaneously ('My 1.5s cast will provoke for the first 0.5s: If you are close enough to threaten me in that half second, you get an AoO'), but personally I think I'd prefer it if a 6s round took less than an actual hour to complete...

The Concordance

Using this sentence alone doesn't work.

Quote:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it.

If you ready an attack for someone entering your threatened area, you would have to take your attack just before they enter your threatened area, which you cannot do because they are outside of it "just before" entering.

If you ready a ranged attack for seeing a monster in the doorway, you'd take your ranged attack "just before" seeing them, which you cannot do because the monster isn't within line of sight yet.

If you ready a Hold Person for when you see the invisible human pop out of invisibility, you can't actually target them "just before" they become visible, as you don't have line of sight on them yet.


Byakko wrote:

Crimeo, that's what the "If" at the start of the sentence is there for.

For the "appearing in the room" ready: as mentioned in the second paragraph, technically your Dimensional Anchor would fail to cast because you cast it before Bob appeared.

Which is why I suggested using reasonable interpretation to fill in the blanks on what is actually readied so that it works. (see last paragraph)

Yeah that's fine to make it work at your table, but is obviously not RAW when you say "Just use other rules besides what is written/stated as the trigger". You are describing a house rule


No "Start making up totally new triggers that were not what the readying player TOLD you the trigger was" is not supported by RAW. Any more than just randomly changing a longbow to 2d4 would be, or deciding that halfling is an elf for now because you simply disliked the results otherwise.

Besides you could change the example trigger to not require magic anyway to make this moot point. Imagine the player said "...when somebody enters the room, cast dimension anchor" not "teleport"


There is nothing ambiguous about entering the room or teleporting into the room. So "interpretation" is inappropriate. As inappropriate as "interpreting" a longbow to be club because you don't like the outcome of longbow attack.


I disagree. I say that it's ambiguous and am convinced that ShieldLawrence's position is the most appropriate interpretation.

The Concordance

Crimeo wrote:

No "Start making up totally new triggers that were not what the readying player TOLD you the trigger was" is not supported by RAW. Any more than just randomly changing a longbow to 2d4 would be, or deciding that halfling is an elf for now because you simply disliked the results otherwise.

Besides you could change the example trigger to not require magic anyway to make this moot point. Imagine the player said "...when somebody enters the room, cast dimension anchor" not "teleport"

If you readied for "somebody entering the room", your readied action would happen JUST BEFORE they entered the room. After all...

"The action occurs just before the action that triggers it."

But unfortunately, you don't have line of sight "just before" they enter the room, so dimension anchor fails.


So Carl, if I were, say, a customs inspector, and told you in real life to wait here until I enter the room again, you would stop and ask me "wait WHAT? I DON'T UNDERSTAND! There are so many interpretations of that! Please rephrase!" ?

No you would not, because it's perfectly clear. And if you wandered out you would likely get arrested for breaking a crystal clear security instruction.

Quote:
If you readied for "somebody entering the room", your readied action But unfortunately, you don't have line of sight "just before" they enter the room, so dimension anchor fails.

Yes but this is a triviality of the example. Simply switch to Dimensional lock instead of anchor (in a 10x10 room that it easily covers completely), and this is not an issue, yet still serves as a test example case:

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/spells/dimensionalLock.html

The Concordance

I suppose I agree with Crimeo's option 1...

Quote:
The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

I absolutely think that the first sentence was poorly written and is in contention with the second and third sentences above. Instead, Paizo should have written "The readied action is resolved just before the action that triggers it is resolved." It would then read:

Quote:
The readied action is resolved just before the action that triggers it is resolved. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action.

If this were the case, we wouldn't have time-jump problems and future-seeing problems. As I am not Paizo, I cannot change the sentence myself. Instead, I elect to use sentences 2 and 3 to determine the outcome. A readied action "interrupts" and then the action "continues."

Sentence 1 and Sentences 2/3 are irreconcilable.


Future seeing and time traveling aren't actually necessarily "problems" rules-wise. What makes you rule out it just actually happening that way?

In fact, I'd actually lean toward #2 or 3, under the opinion it is generally preferable to conclude RAW in a way that the rules function as written AND none of them are broken, and those allow for that.


Crimeo wrote:
Byakko wrote:

Crimeo, that's what the "If" at the start of the sentence is there for.

For the "appearing in the room" ready: as mentioned in the second paragraph, technically your Dimensional Anchor would fail to cast because you cast it before Bob appeared.

Which is why I suggested using reasonable interpretation to fill in the blanks on what is actually readied so that it works. (see last paragraph)

Yeah that's fine to make it work at your table, but is obviously not RAW when you say "Just use other rules besides what is written/stated as the trigger". You are describing a house rule

Crimeo, you seem to be missing my point. I am not making up any house rules here. I am suggesting the GM use their brains to translate what the player is stating as their ready, to what they actually want their ready to be. Imho, part of the GM's job is ensuring the game plays smoothly and to keep track of the odds and ends to do so.

Would you really want to play at the table where every time someone slightly misstates their readied action (or any other aspect of what their character is doing!), the GM either tells them it doesn't work after it triggers because of (discussed) reasons or tells them to reframe their ready so that it'll work within the strange time-travel ready rules (with all the accompanying confusion)?

A good GM will take what his or her players say, and make it work to the best of their ability and intent, even if it requires a bit of interpretation. This is almost always to the player's benefit, and I've never had a player unhappy for me helping them out in this way.

So in short, yes, at my table a player can ready to shoot a guy when they become visible without having a 50% miss chance. And I don't consider this a house rule.

101 to 150 of 154 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Readied Action to Move and Force an AOO vs Enemy Caster All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.