Craft Skill Confusion


Pathfinder Society

Dark Archive

Hello, I'm new to PFS and am deciding on playing an alchemist. However, I'm really unsure of how crafting works, and the rules around it. Say I want to craft alchemist's fire. The DC is 20 and requires craft (Alchemy) which I have. Am I allowed to craft it? If I am, could I sell or trade it? I am confused because of the removal of the Brew Potions ability, and would like some help. Thanks!

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Crafting is not legal in PFS, unless there is a specifically example listed in the Guide, or is called out in the Additional Resources as legal, which to my knowledge there is no existing exception. Whether it's potions, armor, wands, etc., you won't be allowed to make it.

If you're going to play in Pathfinder Society, you'll want to read

http://paizo.com/products/btpy84k4

It gives all the information you need to know, and lists any exceptions to existing rules, such as crafting being illegal on Page 8 under Step 6.

Scarab Sages 5/5 5/5 **** Venture-Captain, Washington—Spokane

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Actually, alchemist and investigator are the only classes who are able to craft in PFS. You will want to review the following FAQ:

Pathfinder Society FAQ - How Can Alchemists Craft In Pathfinder Society Organized Play wrote:

How can alchemists craft in Pathfinder Society Organized Play?

Alchemists can use the Craft (alchemy) skill to produce items with their Alchemy ability. Follow the Craft rules on pages 91–93 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook as well as in the alchemist’s Alchemy ability description. Any item created must be properly noted on that scenario’s Chronicle sheet. Under "Items Bought", note the amount of gold spent and the item created. Alchemists are assumed, for Pathfinder Society Organized Play, to carry the necessary items and tools with them to use available resources to create alchemical items. If they have a base of operations from which to do so, they may use an alchemy lab to gain the +2 bonus on their Craft (alchemy) check. Alchemists may never sell any of their created items nor may they trade them to another PC. However, they may allow other PCs to borrow or use items they’ve created (so long as the alchemist class ability being used allows them to do so).

Silver Crusade 5/5

Edit: What Preston said, also check the PFS FAQ page for more information on other rulings.

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As a practical matter, the way it usually works (given how long it takes to craft alchemical items) is that if you have enough skill to take ten and make the item, you can "buy" the item for 1/3 cost during down times. (When I was playing an alchemist, I usually just bought items in sets of three so I didn't have to deal with rounding.)

So in the case of alchemical fire above.

If you have a +10 to your skill, you can make the DC 20 on a take ten, so when you need to buy alchemical fire between adventures, just spend 1/3 the cost. If you have less than that, you will need to roll it out, following the normal rules.

4/5

what FLite said, with two add-ons. Two boosts to craft(alchemy) apply to day-job checks. Your Alchemist/Investigator level and Crafter's Fortune (if you have it in you formula book).

The Exchange 5/5

GinoA wrote:
what FLite said, with two add-ons. Two boosts to craft(alchemy) apply to day-job checks. Your Alchemist/Investigator level and Crafter's Fortune (if you have it in you formula book).

I was under the impression that the Level boost did NOT apply to day-job Checks, but did apply to crafting items...

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

Prof. Wat Sun wrote:
GinoA wrote:
what FLite said, with two add-ons. Two boosts to craft(alchemy) apply to day-job checks. Your Alchemist/Investigator level and Crafter's Fortune (if you have it in you formula book).
I was under the impression that the Level boost did NOT apply to day-job Checks, but did apply to crafting items...

There is table variation on that one.

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

FLite wrote:
Prof. Wat Sun wrote:
GinoA wrote:
what FLite said, with two add-ons. Two boosts to craft(alchemy) apply to day-job checks. Your Alchemist/Investigator level and Crafter's Fortune (if you have it in you formula book).
I was under the impression that the Level boost did NOT apply to day-job Checks, but did apply to crafting items...
There is table variation on that one.

Why? Seems clear to me it's a permanent bonus, so it applies. Or are we saying Bardic knowledge doesn't add to the roll for the information broker vanity? Or that Skill focus doesn't add?

1/5

the bonus is to crafting alchemical items, so it's not all inclusive and thus doesn't count.

Grand Lodge 4/5 **** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

It must be a permanent bonus (or maintanable for 24 hours with out spending money.). And it must apply to all uses of the skill ( it cannot have language such as "+X to skill Y for the purpose of Z.) unless the bonus is "when using this skill to make money" (such as the glib performer ability of the street bard.)

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Ah, I see. *shrug* I allow it at my tables, never even thought on the other side. Thank you gentlemen.

*goes off to think about adding 'information broker' vanity to my #22 concept...*

4/5

TIL

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Craft Skill Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society