Bladebound and hexblade magus


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Are these compatable even tho they change the same ability?

Silver Crusade

Quote:
A character can take more than one archetype and garner additional alternate class features, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature from the core class as another alternate class feature.

Assuming you mean hexcrafter, the answer is no since both archetyptes replace or alter the Magus Arcana class feature.

Scarab Sages

No. If two archetypes modify the same ability, they cannot both be taken.

Scarab Sages

That's what I meant, Thank you for the clarification

Sovereign Court

Is Hexcrafter actually altering the class feature? I've never thought of adding to a list of options as altering the feature itself.


yes, adding has been confirmed to be altering and enough to prevent stacking.

Sovereign Court

Good to know.

Are alternate levels of the same feat also considered enough to prevent stacking then? For example,

Two fighter archetypes, one that replaces Level 1 Bonus Feat, one replaces Level 2 Bonus Feat

Or

Two Witch archetypes, one that replaces Level 1 Hex, on that replaces Level 4 Hex

I only just found out you could even stack archetypes about a week ago so I'm still trying to figure the nuances of it.


Each alternate class feature presented in an archetype either replaces or alters one or more specific class features from the base class.

When an archetype includes multiple alternate class features, a character must take all of them—often blocking the character from ever gaining certain standard class features, but replacing them with other options. All class features of the base class that aren't mentioned among the alternate class features of an archetype remain unchanged and are acquired normally when a character reaches the appropriate level. If an alternate class feature replaces a base class feature, the archetype doesn't count as having that base class feature for the purpose of meeting any requirements or prerequisites. On the other hand, if an alternate class feature alters an existing class feature, it is considered to be the core class feature for the purposes of meeting any requirements or prerequisites, even if it was renamed.

A character can take more than one archetype, but none of the alternate class features can replace or alter the same class feature of the base class.

If a class feature has a series of improvements (such as a Fighter's weapon training or a ranger's favored enemy), it can be replaced either entirely or partially. By default, an alternate class feature replaces the entire original class feature and all of its improvements. For example, if a class feature states that it replaces trap sense without mentioning a specific bonus, it replaces trap sense entirely.

If an alternate class feature replaces one instance of a class feature that's part of a series, the next time the character would gain an improvement to that ability, the new improvement counts as the lower-level ability that was replaced by the archetype, and all subsequent improvements follow suit. For example, if the barbarian's 3rd-level trap sense +1 were replaced, the barbarian would gain trap sense +1 at 6th level, trap sense +2 at 9th level, and so on.


Andrew L Klein wrote:

Good to know.

Are alternate levels of the same feat also considered enough to prevent stacking then? For example,

Two fighter archetypes, one that replaces Level 1 Bonus Feat, one replaces Level 2 Bonus Feat

Or

Two Witch archetypes, one that replaces Level 1 Hex, on that replaces Level 4 Hex

I only just found out you could even stack archetypes about a week ago so I'm still trying to figure the nuances of it.

So the answer is yes, both of those examples would work since you're trading subfeatures of the feature.

Sovereign Court

Ok cool. I'm building a Cartomancer Hedge Witch for PFS, and then saw this thread and thought that maybe it wasn't legal since one replaces the L2 Hex and the other the L4.

Silver Crusade

d20pfsrd.com has a handy table of archetypes, and the features they affect, for each class. You can quickly look at the table and if two archetypes have a C or X in the same column, then they can't be used together.


Though you want to double check things. Not all the tables are correct on that site.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bladebound and hexblade magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions