Swashbuckler's Finesse w / Lance while mounted?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I'm thinking about a martial class to dip for my mounted Halfling Bard.

This FAQ says you treat a weapon being wielded one handed but that's normally two handed as one handed:

FAQ wrote:
If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.

Swashbuckler's Finesse/Champion's Finesse both let you use Weapon Finesse with one handed piercing weapons.

I read that as meaning that you can use Swashbuckler's Finesse with a Lance while mounted.

But the FAQs around Lance are contradictory about how it's actually handled (there's another FAQ on the same page saying you get the +50% str bonus) and I've seen people split all manner of hairs on things like this.

What's your read?

Sovereign Court

Nope - a lance is still a two-handed weapon when mounted, it can just be wielded with one hand.

The only way to do what you're thinking is with Swash 1/Phalanx Fighter 3, where all polearms become one-handed weapons. (Though in that case, you would NOT get 1.5x STR damage and better PA ratio.)


"and so on" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Grand Lodge

Did you read the FAQ I linked/quoted? Do you not think it applies?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The FAQ you quoted doesn't apply to the lance. This FAQ specifically about the lance does though.

"Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?
Yes."

The lance isn't wielded as a one-handed weapon, it's still treated as a two-handed weapon. You just happen to be able to wield it in one hand while mounted.

Grand Lodge

Ok. Those two FAQs seem contradictory to me. :) But there's enough concensus against it that I won't worry about it.

What situation do you think the FAQ I linked does apply to? (Just the Pahalnx Fighter?)

Scarab Sages

Markov Spiked Chain wrote:

Ok. Those two FAQs seem contradictory to me. :) But there's enough concensus against it that I won't worry about it.

What situation do you think the FAQ I linked does apply to? (Just the Pahalnx Fighter?)

The Thunder and Fang feat that allows you to wield an earthbreaker one-handed, probably bastard swords / dwarven waraxes just for clarity's sake, the Phalanx Fighter, probably a couple other things that aren't coming to mind at the moment.


If your GM allows 3rd party, there is an alterantive option for you to Swash a Lance [or other polearm]

Shaft and Shield


So hang on, we have a category of two handed weapons: A.
A has a property: If you're wielding it in one hand, treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of...the Power Attack damage bonus
A also has property: If wielding it in one hand, treat it as two-handed for Power Attack damage.

...

I'm so confused; I think I finally comprehend the sensation of "can't even".
In slightly less farsical replies: I understand the deliniation is that the former requires a special ability to be in play and the latter refers to the situation of being mounted. The thing is, the brackets areguably should mean the sentence works without that reference. Meaning our deliniation is by special abilities only. Which are the only other way to use a two-handed weapon one-handed.
I do feel this is very contradictory. Kind of have to ask:

In some situations, a two-handed weapon wielded one-handed functions as a one-handed weapon when interacting with strength, power attack, and so on. In others, a two-handed weapon interacts as a two-handed weapon. What determines the difference?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think it depends on tiny variations of verbage. Phalanx Soldier and Thunder and Fang both state that the weapon is wielded as a one-handed weapon, so the first FAQ would apply. The lance doesn't contain the specific verbage changing its designation from a two-handed weapon to a one-handed weapon, so you still treat it as a two-handed weapon, just one that happens to only require one hand if you're mounted.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Physically Unfeasible wrote:


In some situations, a two-handed weapon wielded one-handed functions as a one-handed weapon when interacting with strength, power attack, and so on. In others, a two-handed weapon interacts as a two-handed weapon. What determines the difference?

It's the verbiage.

SRD wrote:
A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand.
SRD wrote:
At 3rd level, when a phalanx soldier wields a shield, he can use any polearm or spear of his size as a one-handed weapon.

In the lance's case you can just wield it with one hand but it remains a two-handed weapon.

In the case of the phalanx soldier you actually wield it AS a one-handed weapon, so for you it is, in all respects, a one-handed weapon.


Thank you both. That's a lot of help. The deliniation is specifically:
"Wield X with one hand" vs "Wield X as a one-handed weapon" then

[can of worms]I suppose that means you can't use Lances and TWF on horseback?[/can of worms] :P

Scarab Sages

Physically Unfeasible wrote:

Thank you both. That's a lot of help. The deliniation is specifically:

"Wield X with one hand" vs "Wield X as a one-handed weapon" then

[can of worms]I suppose that means you can't use Lances and TWF on horseback?[/can of worms] :P

Here's the Two-Weapon Fighting rules, and here's the rules about two-handed weapons. Since the TWF rules assume that you can't wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, they never actually specify that you have to be wielding two one-handed or light weapons, so the ridiculousnes that is dual-wielding lances is still potentially viable. They'd both just count as two-handed weapons, and you'd need something like Pounce or Mounted Skirmisher to use them in any round your mount moves more than 5 feet. You'd also have to wait until you were mounted to have a hand free for the second lance :P

Sovereign Court

Physically Unfeasible wrote:

Thank you both. That's a lot of help. The deliniation is specifically:

"Wield X with one hand" vs "Wield X as a one-handed weapon" then

[can of worms]I suppose that means you can't use Lances and TWF on horseback?[/can of worms] :P

i don't really see a problem with that considering that the lance was designed to be used one handed while mounted so you could use a shield


Something kind of awesome about this whole discussion is the method of use of a lance with one hand while mounted. It draws its power from the mount's bodyweight, meaning the only way to effectively wield it after the charge is over would be to have the horse using melee combat footwork in conjunction with the wielder's strikes.


Ssalarn wrote:
Physically Unfeasible wrote:

Thank you both. That's a lot of help. The deliniation is specifically:

"Wield X with one hand" vs "Wield X as a one-handed weapon" then

[can of worms]I suppose that means you can't use Lances and TWF on horseback?[/can of worms] :P

Here's the Two-Weapon Fighting rules, and here's the rules about two-handed weapons. Since the TWF rules assume that you can't wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, they never actually specify that you have to be wielding two one-handed or light weapons, so the ridiculousnes that is dual-wielding lances is still potentially viable. They'd both just count as two-handed weapons, and you'd need something like Pounce or Mounted Skirmisher to use them in any round your mount moves more than 5 feet. You'd also have to wait until you were mounted to have a hand free for the second lance :P

My can of worms was in reference partially to the interpretation I've seen elsewhere taken as gospel, that an alchemist can't dual-wield greatswords with their arms. And that you can't use a two-handed weapon with armour spikes.

That said, it was totally and utterly facetious.

Scarab Sages

Physically Unfeasible wrote:

My can of worms was in reference partially to the interpretation I've seen elsewhere taken as gospel, that an alchemist can't dual-wield greatswords with their arms. And that you can't use a two-handed weapon with armour spikes.

That said, it was totally and utterly facetious.

I know you're being facetious, but.... There's actually a FAQ about the two-handers and armor spikes thing. There's an underlying design assumption of "hands worth of effort" that has little to do with the actual number of hands involved. Presumably, dual-wielding lances would be a violation of this underlying principle, if not the actual rules.


Ssalarn wrote:
Physically Unfeasible wrote:

My can of worms was in reference partially to the interpretation I've seen elsewhere taken as gospel, that an alchemist can't dual-wield greatswords with their arms. And that you can't use a two-handed weapon with armour spikes.

That said, it was totally and utterly facetious.

I know you're being facetious, but.... There's actually a FAQ about the two-handers and armor spikes thing. There's an underlying design assumption of "hands worth of effort" that has little to do with the actual number of hands involved. Presumably, dual-wielding lances would be a violation of this underlying principle, if not the actual rules.

Which was kind of why I said I assume you can't. If lances act as two-handed, then presumably they maintain the requirement of two "hands of effort" with each use.

My claim it's a can of worms is just because I find the ruling clunky, weird, and irritating.


There are two things to remember here:

1) Specific trumps general

According to this concept, the FAQ that is both about the lance and specifically mentions the lance trumps the more general statement of "two handed weapons wielded with one hand," and therefore is the rule that takes effect.

2) FAQs are meant to be read narrowly.

The FAQ about wielding two handed weapons with one hand specifically calls out feats and special abilities. You can always wield an appropriately sized lance from the back of an appropriately sized mount in one hand (but not as a one handed weapon), no feat or special ability required. It's an intrinsic part of a lance. The FAQ in question doesn't apply to the lance for two reasons:

a) The scope of the FAQ doesn't cover the lance in one hand rule, because it's not granted by a feat or special ability
b) Even it is was within the scope, the lance is only WIELDED in one hand, not TREATED as (or considered) a one handed weapon, which again, isn't covered by the FAQ

(I was sure there was a third reason, but I can't seem to figure out what is was)


....must find way to duel wield lance charge/pounce...

Grand Lodge

Ssalarn wrote:
I think it depends on tiny variations of verbage. Phalanx Soldier and Thunder and Fang both state that the weapon is wielded as a one-handed weapon, so the first FAQ would apply. The lance doesn't contain the specific verbage changing its designation from a two-handed weapon to a one-handed weapon, so you still treat it as a two-handed weapon, just one that happens to only require one hand if you're mounted.

I would say it is still a two handed weapon, but your mount's back / shoulder is supplying one of the hands. :)

Grand Lodge

JustABill wrote:
....must find way to duel wield lance charge/pounce...

Well, a buckler is a shield, right? So.

Phalanx soldier 3, Equip a buckler, you are now wearing a shield and treat all spears (lance is a spear according to fighter weapon groups) as 1 handed. Buckler allows you to wield a weapon in that hand (at a small penalty.)

Barbarian 10, for greater Beast Totem.

Use the feat chain that gets you an animal companion to get a mount.

(Yes, this is complete cheese.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler's Finesse w / Lance while mounted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions