Does the Tome Eater (or any Occultist, really) need a free hand for his book (or implement)?


Rules Questions


In the description it says that your character needs to present your implement in order to cast anything from it, or use the abilities.

Occultist, Implements subheader wrote:
Whenever an occultist casts a spell, he must have the corresponding implement in his possession and present the implement to the target or toward the area of effect.

Does that mean I need to have one hand free at all times, where I store my book (or any other implement, if I'm a vanilla Occultist)? That seems quite the restriction if you want to wield a two-handed weapon, or go sword and board. Would it be okay to flavour it that I've tied a string to it and it's attached to my waist or something? The image on page 103 seems to suggest something like that is possible, but maybe it's just artistic license. >_>


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Well I don't think you need to hold it, just present it. Remember a lot of implements are worn.


Fair, a lot of other implements can be worn (gloves, headband, and so on), but how do you wear a book? >_>


Using a book chain to attach it to your belt.


Nohwear wrote:
Using a book chain to attach it to your belt.

How are you presenting it, then? Do you need to perform a crotch thrust as part of casting your spells?

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Aratrok wrote:
Nohwear wrote:
Using a book chain to attach it to your belt.
How are you presenting it, then? Do you need to perform a crotch thrust as part of casting your spells?

The proper term is "pelvic thrust"

Transylvanian Information Archives


Quentin Coldwater wrote:

In the description it says that your character needs to present your implement in order to cast anything from it, or use the abilities.

Occultist, Implements subheader wrote:
Whenever an occultist casts a spell, he must have the corresponding implement in his possession and present the implement to the target or toward the area of effect.
Does that mean I need to have one hand free at all times, where I store my book (or any other implement, if I'm a vanilla Occultist)? That seems quite the restriction if you want to wield a two-handed weapon, or go sword and board. Would it be okay to flavour it that I've tied a string to it and it's attached to my waist or something? The image on page 103 seems to suggest something like that is possible, but maybe it's just artistic license. >_>

It is no worse than say a wizard with an arcane bonded item, or a cleric at low levels who can't afford a fancy holy symbol. Sometimes you just need to plan ahead and take appropriate action. Artistic liscence is quite common and should never be taken as "intent" or how the rules play out when there is a question of how it works.


A holy symbol can be hung around your neck and grabbed when needed (a free action), but I'm not sure if it's allowed to strap a book to your leg.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Wear it like a hat? You could always strap it on with a Headband of Vast Intelligence... You wouldn't look silly at all...


LazarX wrote:
Aratrok wrote:
Nohwear wrote:
Using a book chain to attach it to your belt.
How are you presenting it, then? Do you need to perform a crotch thrust as part of casting your spells?

The proper term is "pelvic thrust"

Transylvanian Information Archives

That really drives me insane.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does the Tome Eater (or any Occultist, really) need a free hand for his book (or implement)? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions