| OmnionMagnari |
I am currently in a game as a low level mage, and I was wondering if you could use mage hand in one of the following ways.
To guide the hook into the fishes mouth
To stick the hook into the fishes mouth and then pull it back to me if the fish and hook weighed less than 5 pounds
I was also wondering if the scoop cantrip could be used like a fishing net, leave it under the surface of the water then raise it it when a fish gets in?
| WagnerSika |
Guiding the hook in the fishes mouth would require an attack roll I presume. Mage hand refers to Telekinesis which gives three ways to use it: combat maneuvers, sustained force or violent thrust. Guidng the hook would probably be a combat maneuver to grapple or violent thrust to damage.
Scoop:
" The vessel holds up to 1 pint of liquid or small objects, weighing up to 5 pounds. " Now if you rule that fish are objects instead of creatures then sure, otherwise no.
Besides that is a really inefficient way to fish :)
| Milo v3 |
I'd allow it to grant a +2 bonus on a Profession (Fisherman) check, but it would likely take a long time to succeed given that there is no finesse at all with mage hand.
Mage hand refers to Telekinesis which gives three ways to use it: combat maneuvers, sustained force or violent thrust. Guidng the hook would probably be a combat maneuver to grapple or violent thrust to damage.
All of this is false.
| WagnerSika |
WagnerSika wrote:Mage hand refers to Telekinesis which gives three ways to use it: combat maneuvers, sustained force or violent thrust. Guidng the hook would probably be a combat maneuver to grapple or violent thrust to damage.All of this is false.
Hmm, seems you are correct, even if it came out abrupt, the description of the spell in d20pfsrd refers to telekinesis but the actual text does not.
Since Mage hand lacks any text about hitting creatures with objects like Telekinesis does, is it even possible to use mage hand to hit creatures?| Milo v3 |
Hmm, seems you are correct, even if it came out abrupt, the description of the spell in d20pfsrd refers to telekinesis but the actual text does not.
Another reason why I don't trust d20pfsrd -.-
Since Mage hand lacks any text about hitting creatures with objects like Telekinesis does, is it even possible to use mage hand to hit creatures?
Not really. But fishing at least has the benefit of the fish potentially swimming into the hook that you're holding in place and nudging now and then.
| Gisher |
WagnerSika wrote:Hmm, seems you are correct, even if it came out abrupt, the description of the spell in d20pfsrd refers to telekinesis but the actual text does not.Another reason why I don't trust d20pfsrd -.-
Despite WagnerSika's claim, there is no mention of telekinesis in the d20pfsrd description of Mage Hand. As far as I can tell, there is no difference between the d20pfsrd description and the PRD description except that d20pfsrd has a more complete list of the casters who can use it. That hardly seems like a reason to distrust d20pfsrd.
| WagnerSika |
Milo v3 wrote:Despite WagnerSika's claim, there is no mention of telekinesis in the d20pfsrd description of Mage Hand. As far as I can tell, there is no difference between the d20pfsrd description and the PRD description except that d20pfsrd has a more complete list of the casters who can use it. That hardly seems like a reason to distrust d20pfsrd.WagnerSika wrote:Hmm, seems you are correct, even if it came out abrupt, the description of the spell in d20pfsrd refers to telekinesis but the actual text does not.Another reason why I don't trust d20pfsrd -.-
I might have used the word description wrong, I mean the short description that is on the spell list here.
This is the format the table uses:Mage Hand 5-pound telekinesis. PRG:CRB
The actual text is identical as you demonstrte, I mistook the link in the spell lists descriptive text as rules information when it is not. The only gripe I have with d20pfsrd is these kind of misleading links.
Diego Rossi
|
A completely submerged creature has total cover against opponents on land unless those opponents have freedom of movement effects. Magical effects are unaffected except for those that require attack rolls (which are treated like any other effects) and fire effects.
Complete cover vs. effects that require an attack roll. So you can't attack the fish using mage hand.
On the other hand you can use it to put the line exactly where you want it. A perfect casting any time. So Milo idea of giving a +2 to Profession (Fisherman) checks (and I will add survival checks to gather food) seem appropriate.
| MeanMutton |
Gisher wrote:Milo v3 wrote:Despite WagnerSika's claim, there is no mention of telekinesis in the d20pfsrd description of Mage Hand. As far as I can tell, there is no difference between the d20pfsrd description and the PRD description except that d20pfsrd has a more complete list of the casters who can use it. That hardly seems like a reason to distrust d20pfsrd.WagnerSika wrote:Hmm, seems you are correct, even if it came out abrupt, the description of the spell in d20pfsrd refers to telekinesis but the actual text does not.Another reason why I don't trust d20pfsrd -.-I might have used the word description wrong, I mean the short description that is on the spell list here.
This is the format the table uses:
Mage Hand 5-pound telekinesis. PRG:CRBThe actual text is identical as you demonstrte, I mistook the link in the spell lists descriptive text as rules information when it is not. The only gripe I have with d20pfsrd is these kind of misleading links.
The train is already off the rails so I'm going to ride it to the next stop.
This sort of rules summaries is exactly why I LOVE the site and find it vastly superior to the Paizo SRD and superior even to the hardcover books in the vast majority of cases. You just have to realize that rule summaries like this aren't the actual rules but are, well, summaries to make it easier to find things.
| Milo v3 |
The train is already off the rails so I'm going to ride it to the next stop.
This sort of rules summaries is exactly why I LOVE the site and find it vastly superior to the Paizo SRD and superior even to the hardcover books in the vast majority of cases. You just have to realize that rule summaries like this aren't the actual rules but are, well, summaries to make it easier to find things.
Thing is, the PRD has that summary as well. It's summary just doesn't link to something completely unrelated.