Threatened Sq Q


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If a medium creature is wielding a Huge weapon, would his threatened squares for an AoO still be 5' or 15'?


Assuming you found some combination of abilities that allowed a medium creature to use a huge weapon the threatened squares would not change from a medium creature's reach (5' for normal, 10' for reach weapons).


I know that logically it seems like reach should increase with larger weapons but RAW doesn't support this.

Think of this: A huge giant can head-butt you with a 15' reach. He can punch you or kick you with a 15' reach. If he picks up a huge longsword, he can chop you with a 15' reach.

If that Huge giant gets NO extra reach from his longsword, then why should a medium creature get more reach?

A good argument against the RAW is that his huge longsword might actually longer than a medium-sized longspear (which gives a medium creature reach) - since it's longer than medium reach weapons it should give at least the same reach that they do.

But as good as that argument is, RAW simply does not support it; it would be a house rule to make it work this way (and then don't forget to give extra reach to all those large, huge, colossal, and gargantuan humanoids out there using appropriately longer weapons).

Grand Lodge

Gauss wrote:
Assuming you found some combination of abilities that allowed a medium creature to use a huge weapon the threatened squares would not change from a medium creature's reach (5' for normal, 10' for reach weapons).

No ability is needed to wield a Huge Light weapon.


Jeff Merola, that is correct, but most people are not trying to wield a huge dagger, they are trying to do things like a huge greatsword and without spending the time to do the research I worded my post so that the type of the weapon and the abilities required (or not required) were not relevant to the answer.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Back in 3.5 for a bit of fun some friends and I figured out how to get a medium creature to wield a Colossal longsword - while still retaining a 5 foot reach. By that point the grip is longer than 5 feet. It was horribly ineffective but the mental image of this normal sized guy using a 20 foot long sword, but only being able to hit things 5 feet away was pretty amusing.

Dark Archive

Gauss wrote:
Assuming you found some combination of abilities that allowed a medium creature to use a huge weapon the threatened squares would not change from a medium creature's reach (5' for normal, 10' for reach weapons).

Isn't it just a -2 per size category?

Also a Titan Mauler archetype would help...


5

Grand Lodge

Master Elodin wrote:
Gauss wrote:
Assuming you found some combination of abilities that allowed a medium creature to use a huge weapon the threatened squares would not change from a medium creature's reach (5' for normal, 10' for reach weapons).

Isn't it just a -2 per size category?

Also a Titan Mauler archetype would help...

It's -2 per category, plus an increase in handedness per category (light -> one-handed -> two-handed). Anything that would be pushed past two-handed cannot be wielded (the Titan Mauler doesn't help with this at all).


Master Elodin wrote:
Gauss wrote:
Assuming you found some combination of abilities that allowed a medium creature to use a huge weapon the threatened squares would not change from a medium creature's reach (5' for normal, 10' for reach weapons).

Isn't it just a -2 per size category?

Also a Titan Mauler archetype would help...

It goes light, one handed, two handed, too big

medium dagger is light

Large dagger is one handed

Huge dagger is two handed

Gargantuan dagger is too big.

It might be huge but its still a huge dagger... so its nothing more than a ridiculously thick two handed sword.


there is a fighter archetype that lets you wield bigger weapons, the Titan Fighter


Titan mauler doesn't actually work as intended.

Grand Lodge

Chess Pwn wrote:
there is a fighter archetype that lets you wield bigger weapons, the Titan Fighter

Titan Fighter only works on one size category up, not two.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Threatened Sq Q All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.