Polymorph and Type


Rules Questions


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

When a character has taken the form of a creature of another type, does their own type also change until the effect ends?

I couldn't find a rule regarding which favored enemy bonus should be applied. Say a ranger is fighting a human wizard who shape-changes into a demon to avoid favored enemy bonuses, only to discover that the ranger specializes in demons. I thought this would be humorous but couldn't find any rules to support it.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

no, your type is the same.

Grand Lodge

Their type remains the same. A Human Shapechanged into a Demon is still a Humanoid (Human), not an Outsider (Evil, Chaotic, Demon).


In PFRPG, as Bandw2 said, your type doesn't change when swapping forms (barring a specific rule stating it does). This is different from 3.5 if you played.

If you need the rules it should be under Magic Schools, Transmutation, Subschool Polymorph, I believe.

Scarab Sages

Nope. Never states it either way. Is there a reference for verification someone has?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

William Sinclair wrote:

Nope. Never states it either way. Is there a reference for verification someone has?

3.5 said "The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form."

There are no sentences remotely similar in Pathfinder.

All of the polymorph effects use the word form, when discussing what happens. "Take the form of" etc.

You look like X but you remain your original type.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder polymorphing is done on the basis of "the only things that change are the ones explicitly called out to change".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph and Type All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions