Demon's and Spells, Divine or Arcane?


Rules Questions


Hello my question is simple when Demons use their spell like abilities are these considered Divine versions or Arcane?

I ask because I want to play a Godhunter Mythic path character for Wrath of the Righteous, non PFS. and their abilities require that you be targeted by Divine effects.


I believe spell like abilities are considered arcane, or neither.

In order for spell casting to be considered divine, it would need to be granted by a deity. Not inherent to the type of creature it is, like a drow casting darkness from it's racial SLA certainly isn't divine.

Now, if a specific demon says that it casts as a cleric or oracle or other divine casting class then spell draw from it's spell list would count as divine.

See something like the Naga, Spirit as an example of what I mean. However, please note that the Naga Spirit casts as a sorcerer actually, but this was simply to show you the kind of notes in creature entries I am referring to.


From the relevant FAQ:

Quote:


Spell-Like Abilities: How do I know whether a spell-like ability is arcane or divine?
The universal monster rules for spell-like abilities states: "Some spell-like abilities duplicate spells that work differently when cast by characters of different classes. A monster's spell-like abilities are presumed to be the sorcerer/wizard versions. If the spell in question is not a sorcerer/wizard spell, then default to cleric, druid, bard, paladin, and ranger, in that order."

For spell-like abilities gained from a creature's race or type (including PC races), the same rule should apply: the creature's spell-like abilities are presumed to be the sorcerer/wizard versions. If the spell in question is not a sorcerer/wizard spell, then default to cleric, druid, bard, paladin, and ranger, in that order.

For spell-like abiities gained from a class, use the spell type (arcane or divine) of that class to determine whether the spell-like ability is arcane or divine. If the class doesn't cast spells, use the above rule for spell-like abilities from race or type.

Edit 7/15/13: Wording changed match the precedent in the universal monster rules for spell-like abilities.

Edit 9/23/13: Wording updated to clarify racial/type SLAs vs. class SLAs.


Darn.... lol that significantly declines my abilities later on in the book, but thank you for the info.


I forgot about that FAQ, good job Orfamay Quest.


So when I design the mutation where the creature can touch things and turn them into bombs, that's arcane because of Alchemists. Right?


Goth Guru wrote:
So when I design the mutation where the creature can touch things and turn them into bombs, that's arcane because of Alchemists. Right?

Alchemists aren't arcane casters, so no. Also, I don't even think that's an SLA.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Demon's and Spells, Divine or Arcane? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions