Weird questions


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I had a few questions that came up in my running of Golemworks Incident today and if I made the correct ruling.

1) Can a player have multiple Spiritual Weapons out at once? It doesn't say that you can't (which I dislike as a reason) but it doesn't say you can either. I allowed it at the time since there was nothing saying it couldn't be done.

2) Character that had the Spiritual Weapons out then got hit with feeblemind and failed the save. Since she couldn't communicate effectively, I ruled that she couldn't redirect the weapons to keep hitting the BBEG. Even with the effects of feeblemind, would she still have been able to use her move actions to move the hammers or does she need to be able to effectively communicate for that?

Thanks

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I can't see any reason against having multiple spiritual weapons. You can have multiple black tentacles, ect.

I would rule that a feebleminded caster could not direct a SW to a new target, but the SW would continue to attack its previous target.

Scarab Sages

1.) I do not believe so as you use a move action to direct and directing more than one would just take up all your actions. This is according to the text of the spell.

2.) I would agree with PAZ42 on that ruling.

Silver Crusade

As far as I can tell a caster can have multiple spiritual weapons out. You only have to use a move action to direct it to hit a new target, or to redirect it to hit an opponent if it moves out of the PC's line of sight or range of the spell. So, the PC should be able to have multiple Spiritual Weapons, but their ability to redirect the weapons will be limited.

I think PAZ42 has it right for point two.

Grand Lodge

1) Multiple Weapons is ok.
2) You don't have to redirect to keep hitting the same target, but as it is just a move action to redirect, I'd even let the player switch targets.

Scarab Sages

...and who says you don't learn something new every day. Good to know on the ability to have more than one spiritual weapon out in play. Thanks.

Liberty's Edge

1) yes, more than one is OK. But you could only redirect two in the same round as it takes a move action to do so.

2) No, I would not allow a feebleminded character to redirect a spiritual weapon.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

A caster does not need to redirect the spiritual weapon if the target moves, so I'd say that it would keep attacking the same target, mashing him into paste, even if he tried to get away from the spell's effect.

Grand Lodge

Thanks for the quick responses.

I wasn't sure about the multiple spiritual weapons cause I've never seen more than on get cast at a time, but it was her only real option at the time.

Also good to know that it's only a move action to change targets, not to move it in general. So I kinda screwed up on that part since there was only one target.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weird questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions