confirmed critical hit with ability damage...double damage?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

hi all,
simple question here: ability drain damage(shadow/wraith.ect) rolls touch ac attack and confirms.

double damage?
friend of mine was hit in one round by two greater shadows in a surprise round. 1 G.shadow hit touch ac 1 G.Strength Damage crits

A greater shadow's touch deals 1d8 points of Strength damage to a living creature. This is a negative energy effect. A creature dies if this Strength damage equals or exceeds its actual Strength score shadow rolls crit vs his touch ac

he took 3d8 strength damage and survived with 2 strength left

correct?

Grand Lodge

Spells and Critical Hits

"If a spell causes ability damage or drain (see Special Abilities), the damage or drain is doubled on a critical hit."

It looks right if he was hit twice with 1 of those being a critical.


Supernatural Abilities (Su)

Supernatural abilities are magical but not spell-like

does that make a difference?

Strength Damage (Su)

A greater shadow's touch deals 1d8 points of Strength damage to a living creature.


Yeah it still works. I do think it should be clarified. I might start an FAQ later on.


They don't enumerate all the ways in which spells and supernatural abilities are the same. Mostly the description of supernatural abilities tell you how they are mechanically different. In general, it's relatively safe to assume that supernatural abilities function like spells except where they are specifically noted not to.

In this case, it seems like yes the effect of the successful critical hit means the strength damage is rolled twice (not just flatly double). Because 1d8 for 4 * 2 is different from 2d8 for 2 and 3.

Liberty's Edge

The rule is very simple:
your make an attack roll and get a critical hit you you roll your damage twice, included all the bonuses and add it all together to get teh final damage.
The damage a greater shadow deal is 1d8 strength damage, so you roll 2d8 when you get a critical hit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / confirmed critical hit with ability damage...double damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions