Butterfly’s Sting and Magus SpellStrike?


Rules Questions


If an ally uses Butterfly’s Sting and gives the critical to a Magus and the magus hits. Does his spell also critical?


It's a crit, so yes.


The spell uses the same critical rules as the attack delivering it, except if the weapon has more than a x2 the spell still has a x2. If the weapon crits, the spell also crits.

Grand Lodge

Also, the Magus is their own ally. So you can use Butterfly Sting when you crit with your weapon to turn your next spellstrike into a crit.


Markov Spiked Chain wrote:
Also, the Magus is their own ally. So you can use Butterfly Sting when you crit with your weapon to turn your next spellstrike into a crit.

That one's a debatable point at best. Most seem to believe that Butterly Sting is one of the occasions in which it doesn't make sense for you to be your own ally so that doesn't apply. Definitely clear it with your GM before you try, and if you plan to bring it to PFS... well, I'd make a new plan.


I can see it making sense, if you think of it as simply making an openning for yourself. Though I can see the counter argument.


Definitely gray water.
I wouldn't let you Butterfly Sting for yourself at my PFS tables.

But magus?
Yep, your Spellstrike will crit if given the autocrit. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Butterfly’s Sting and Magus SpellStrike? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions