Magic Gauntlets + Amulet of Mighty Fists


Rules Questions


If I have +1 gauntlets and a flaming amulet of mighty fists, do my attacks receive the enchantment bonus and the flaming quality because gauntlets are listed as an unarmed strike?

Sorry if this one gets asked a lot.


At the expense of a double post, I'll clarify that I'm not asking if the gauntlet can do monk-damage or concerned with monks at all.


IIRC there's a dev post somewhere on the forums saying that the unarmed strike line in the gauntlet description was a typo they were planning to fix... Maybe someone else has a link.

The question comes up every so often and the general consensus is to my knowledge that so long as total price modifier for the gauntlet and AoMF is less than or equal to 10 it's fine. Also any enhancement bonuses don't stack (obviously).


Gauntlets were, apparently, moved out of the unarmed attacks section and into the weapons section. That means they're not governed by the AoMF.

Grand Lodge

Gauntlets deal Gauntlet damage, and count as Gauntlets.

That's it.

Sczarni

Gauntlets are a simple light melee weapon. Although it seems like they should work with things like the Amulet of Mighty Fists and Monk damage, they are their own separate weapon, just like a dagger or club.


Is there a clarification on that? In Ultimate Equipment, it says gauntlets count as unarmed attacks.


That ruling used to bother me, until I learned that you can two weapon fight with just your unarmed strikes. So, there isn't really any need for the gauntlet to be a true unarmed strike, except for cheezing out a build.

Sczarni

DeathmatchFM wrote:
Is there a clarification on that? In Ultimate Equipment, it says gauntlets count as unarmed attacks.

I read that to be "Unarmed" attack (meaning you don't threaten for AoOs and Flanking) rather than "Unarmed attack" (as in "Unarmed Strike").

I admit something more official would be great. This is a frequently asked question.


I have doubts in that interpretation, because in the precious sentence of the gauntlet it uses the term "unarmed strike" and then says "a strike counts as an unarmed attack". It's listed as a light simple weapon, but comes with a special ability that you can use it as an unarmed strike.

I'm not doubting the "gauntlet is a weapon like a club" line of thinking, and that may perfectly apply to other punching weapons, but doesn't seem to apply here.

Knowing that there isn't an official ruling is probably the only answer I needed. Seeing as how, unlike other punching weapons, the gauntlet is identical to just punching someone normally with Improved Unarmed Strike, all it changes is the magic weapon interaction.

So my next question is this: how does magic weapon or magic fang interact when used to grant an enchantment bonus on a weapon that already has an effective +10?


I am in the minority, but I say that since it says attacks with gauntlets are unarmed strikes, they actually are unarmed strikes. Meaning you benefit from anything that benefits unarmed strikes while attacking with gauntlets.

None of the several revisions has removed the statement that they are unarmed strikes, and since there has been several revisions there was opportunity. No dev statement on the boards changes this until it is errata'ed, FAQ'ed, or changed in a new printing or new a new book.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Gauntlets + Amulet of Mighty Fists All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions