Questions #3646 and #3647


Rules Questions

101 to 150 of 165 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

bbangerter wrote:
Swift actions reset at the end of your CURRENT turn.

Please elaborate on this more as I think its central to our discussion. I believe this is subject to table variation but since you can take a new standard and move actions on your turn I assume they all reset at the beginning. It simply makes more sense to me in the absence of specific rules saying they reset at the end.

bbangerter wrote:


Also still wrong. You get a new readied action when your turn ENDS, not at the beginning of a turn. Otherwise you could immediate action, then on your turn still swift action, which is specifically disallowed by the rules, showing that swift actions reset at the end of your turn.

I'll focus on this for now. You can't immediate action on your turn, because it converts to a swift action (this turn). If we are talking immediate action out of turn, it becomes the next rounds swift action.

"Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn).

I believe you are focusing on the italicized portion(?). To me that just say you can use another immediate action (continuing to borrow forward) without specifying the swift action is reset at the end of the round.

So the central disagreement is when do actions "recharge". For you, and the end of the turn, for me, at the beginning of the next turn.


How many Standard actions are you allowed on your turn? One, right?

So why the huge argument over Readying a Swift (because that gives you 2 Swifts per turn), but no issue with Readying a Standard (which gives you 2 Standards per turn based on this same reasoning)?

The reply has been that Readying a Standard isn't really giving 2 Standards. But if we apply the same reasoning to both Readied actions, that is exactly what we are left with. You cannot say A=B and B=C, but A=/=C. Stop applying one interpretation to Readied Swifts and then using a different interpretation for Readied Standards.

We all know Action Types can change. Rapid Reload does it. A Bard gaining levels can do it with his Performance. Those actions aren't "Move Actions that I just happen to be able to do with my Swift or Free Action". They become Swift or Free actions. The Specific rule comes in and changes the General rule.

That is all Readying does. It takes your general action and makes it a specific Standard Action. Says so right in the rules regardless of how any of us "feel" it's unfair or overpowered.

CRB wrote:
Readying is a standard action.

If the DEV's agree that makes it overpowered, then they are free to change the rules.


Eldebor, if you have used your Standard already, I won't let you ready an action. We agree on that. No 2 Standards in a given turn or round or however you people want to call it.

If you haven't used your standard, then you can use it to ready an action. Actually I didn't say you can't ready a Swift, which I do not know, what I stated was that if you already performed a Swift, then you can't perform another one, so I suggest to not ready it, because you will waste your Standard action.

And guys, my last suggestion is make a simple question and FAQ it, it's clear we can't convince the 'others'.

Sample of question:

On a given regular combat round -no surprise-, can a creature use its swift action, and then use the "ready action" to ready another swift action to be performed before its next round? Can we supersede the rule of "only one swift action per turn" using the "ready action"? Never? Always? Sometimes?


Numarak wrote:

Eldebor, if you have used your Standard already, I won't let you ready an action. We agree on that. No 2 Standards in a given turn or round or however you people want to call it.

If you haven't used your standard, then you can use it to ready an action. Actually I didn't say you can't ready a Swift, which I do not know, what I stated was that if you already performed a Swift, then you can't perform another one, so I suggest to not ready it, because you will waste your Standard action.

What you are failing to grasp is that the Ready itself is a Standard action so every single time you Ready a standard action you are using up your Standard action. Which means when Ready triggers you have no Standard actions left to perform the readied action which you argue retains its type.

Suppose you use the Ready action with a trigger of "when an enemy enters my threatened area" and a readied action of "I make a melee attack against that enemy" then an enemy enters your threatened area.

Q1: Did using the Ready action use a standard action? (Rules say yes)
Q2: What action type is the attack? Standard? None?
Q3: If the answer to Q2 is Standard can the character make the attack when Ready triggers?
Q4: If the answer to Q3 is yes how is the character able to make the second Standard action?
Q5: If the answer to Q4 is "because Ready says you can" then why does that not apply to Swift actions as well?


Q5: A5: because of this:

"You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions."

and this:

"You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take."

There is no similar rule regarding move and standard actions, although, usually a regular turn is composed by a standard, a move, a swift, and several Free Actions.

There is an explicit written rule that impedes to take more than 1 swift action per turn, so in order to "because Ready says you can" to work, Ready an Action should include a clause that supersedes this general rule about Swift Actions. And there is none. So general rule about Swift actions remains. 1 per turn.

That being said, focus your question about performing 2 Swift Actions on a given turn using Ready an Action. Which is the point where people is arguing about.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Numarak wrote:

Q5: A5: because of this:

"You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions."

and this:

"You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take."

There is no similar rule regarding move and standard actions, although, usually a regular turn is composed by a standard, a move, a swift, and several Free Actions.

What? No similar rule regarding move and standard? You mean this little rule that people seem to keep forgetting about?

CRB wrote:
In a normal round, you can perform A standard action and A move action...

According to this you are limited to a single Standard and a single Move (unless you burn your Standard to make a 2nd Move). So if Readying your Swift counts as your Standard and your Swift, then why doesn't Readying your Standard count as your Standard and another Standard? Why are you switching how you interpret the rule of Ready?

There is one way to avoid this conflict. To recognize that the Ready action redefines the nature of the action, converting it from whatever Type it was to a Standard. Rapid Reload does it for reloading. Bard levels do it for Performance. Lots of other things do it for lots of other things. So why won't you let Ready do it as it was designed to do?

Here's an interesting exercise to illustrate the point:

Round 1
1a: A Paladin Readies an attack against an enemy and then moves partway toward that enemy. Which Action Types has the Paladin just made?
1b: The enemy then advances on the Paladin and triggers the Paladin's Readied Action. Which Action Type has the Paladin just made here when he attacks?

Round 2
2a: A Paladin Readies an action to self-heal with LoH once his Hpts drop below half and then moves partway toward his enemy. Which Action Types has the Paladin just made?
2b: The enemy beats the Paladin within an inch of his life, triggering the Paladin's Readied Action. Which Action Type has the Paladin just made here when he self-heals with LoH?


For clarity, I have posted the above 'exercise' in the new thread titled "Readying a Swift Action".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Elbedor is right, readying an action doesn't magically mean that the readied action now takes two actions. You're using your standard action to wait for the perfect moment and do something else.

The big argument from the other side seems to be that "you can also use one swift action..." is somehow different than "... you can perform a standard action..."
The only difference in the wording between these is "one" vs "a".

The relevant definition of "a" is "one single; any." Using your logic it is impossible to use a readied standard action because you've already used your standard action for the round and it very clearly says that you only get one.


Grey_Mage wrote:

... until after your next turn ...

Yes.

It is an inferred reading I'm doing that such indicates the swift resets at the end of the turn. Mechanically I see a readied swift the same as a immediate action outside of your turn.

From a philosophical game design perspective I view the swift/readied swift as an interesting trade off in possible opportunity. IF my trigger goes off I get two swifts before I get attacked/something bad happens/whatever I'm triggering off of. IF the trigger doesn't occur I lost my standard for no benefit.


OldSkoolRPG wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:

We are both just yelling at each other without changing what we are saying.

I don't agree with the idea that you can have more than one swift action per round.

People that feel otherwise are entitled to. Take it up with your GM, clearly it isn't that clear.

Trying to insult someones intelligence by comparing them to a ten year old only reveals weaknesses in your own character, not someone else's.

Did I ever compare your intelligence to a 10 year old? She is the youngest player that I GM. She does play the game. So I asked the youngest person I know who actually plays to explain the Martial Weapon Proficiency feat to me.

If the youngest player can clearly understand the feat then it is reasonable to think that others can as well. My point was not that you are not smarter than a 10 year old but that you are deliberately misreading the text to try and make a point. I'm also pretty sure you misinterpreted my post to mean I was saying you weren't as smart as a 10 year old deliberately as well.

Also all of that was said in relation to your arguments concerning the Weapon Proficiency feats NOT in regards to readying swift actions but now you are trying to conflate the two in order to portray yourself as victimized.

Your assumptions of my motivations are incorrect. I do find it odd that you bothered to mention her sex and age, why was that relevant?

Bringing attention to the existing issues with the Weapon Proficiency Feat, as well as the 'Dead' condition was my attempt to get people to realize that literal readings of the rules can lead to situations not intended by the designers.

My group doesn't allow for two swift actions per round, clearly yours would. All the more power to you.


Lilith Knight wrote:

Elbedor is right, readying an action doesn't magically mean that the readied action now takes two actions. You're using your standard action to wait for the perfect moment and do something else.

The big argument from the other side seems to be that "you can also use one swift action..." is somehow different than "... you can perform a standard action..."
The only difference in the wording between these is "one" vs "a".

The relevant definition of "a" is "one single; any." Using your logic it is impossible to use a readied standard action because you've already used your standard action for the round and it very clearly says that you only get one.

Has anyone considered the possibility that they are debating a section of writing that was written poorly?

If it needs this much clarification/discussion, obviously the original writing was flawed, and thus is a poor source to use to decide on rulings.

If we consider the intent of the game designers, it seems that swift actions are tightly controlled, so it seems very odd to me that something right in the core rulebook would allow what nothing else in the game has allowed since.


You only consider it flawed, because it doesn't agree with you. I happen to think it is very clearly written and Readying at my tables works just fine. No one is getting 2 Swift actions or 2 Standard actions. They are getting 1 of each as the rules allow.


Elbedor wrote:
You only consider it flawed, because it doesn't agree with you. I happen to think it is very clearly written and Readying at my tables works just fine. No one is getting 2 Swift actions or 2 Standard actions. They are getting 1 of each as the rules allow.

How can inanimate text written in a book not agree with me? It isn't capable of thought...

Also, if people are only allowed to use Swift actions once per round, as you said, then we don't see it differently at all.

Sounds to me like we are on the same page, so to speak.


If you find RAW not fitting very well with your interpretation, it probably isn't RAW that's flawed.

's all I'm saying. :)


Elbedor wrote:

If you find RAW not fitting very well with your interpretation, it probably isn't RAW that's flawed.

's all I'm saying. :)

RAW can be very restrictive. Or very broken.

Technically, there isn't errata for the Hunter animal companion/Skirmisher conundrum.

As currently written, my level two character has an animal companion that can take an extra five foot adjust every round, and every attack that lands dazes the target for the 1D4 rounds.

It also has fast heal 1.

Yup.

Looks totally balanced to me.


Heh. I didn't say RAW can never be broken or unbalanced. I'm sure it can be. I was just saying if Interpretation #1 works fine with RAW and Interpretation #2 doesn't, that most likely #2 is the problem.


FAQ'd the other thread.

Just wondering, I have a couple of questions for the group that believes that you can perform 2 Swift Actions per turn.

Let's say I'm a Sorcerer. I have 3 enemies in front of me in a raw. On my turn I cast a Cold Ice Strike, being it a spell of casting time a Swift Action, does not provoke.

Then I Ready "When any one of my enemies in front of me blink I cast another Cold Ice Strike".

How do you handle this situation? Do the second Cold Ice Strike provoke? What is its casting time?

P.S. by the way, I believe that, in some cases, turn and rounds are synonyms.


Elbedor wrote:
Heh. I didn't say RAW can never be broken or unbalanced. I'm sure it can be. I was just saying if Interpretation #1 works fine with RAW and Interpretation #2 doesn't, that most likely #2 is the problem.

I chose to use the example of my hunter character to illustrate that the rules are not perfect. In fact, errata is being written for it, and a 'preview' by SKR states that the abilities I listed only work 1/2 hitdie+wis bonus times per day.

But that isn't published errata yet.

So, in regards to Ready, I think I'm right, and they will fix it. As it is written, one could read it to allow action type switching (Standard=>Swift), but I don't think it's clear enough to avoid argument (hence this thread).

I predict a clarification/errata on it.

If players are going to abuse it until then, and PFS allows it, that's on the head of GM who allows it, no way we are gonna have that kinda stuff happening at our table.


Numarak wrote:

FAQ'd the other thread.

Just wondering, I have a couple of questions for the group that believes that you can perform 2 Swift Actions per turn.

Let's say I'm a Sorcerer. I have 3 enemies in front of me in a raw. On my turn I cast a Cold Ice Strike, being it a spell of casting time a Swift Action, does not provoke.

Then I Ready "When any one of my enemies in front of me blink I cast another Cold Ice Strike".

How do you handle this situation? Do the second Cold Ice Strike provoke? What is its casting time?

P.S. by the way, I believe that, in some cases, turn and rounds are synonyms.

That's easy.

Since your action takes place before the trigger, time implodes from lack of logic and the universe disappears. Done. ;) Ready is stupid, it really needs to be more clearly written.


It has nothing to do with action economy limitation.

You can't take a second swift in the same round.
You can take as many standard actions in a round as you are allowed by your abilities.

So ready is a standard action that allows you to perform a SWIFT, STANDARD OR MOVE action.

Does this lift the limitation of "only one swift/round" ?
No.

Thus if you ready an swift action and you already performed a swift action this round then the ready fails.

If you ready a standard action then you spend a standard action and you perform another action.

NOTHING prevents a character performing several standard actions/round if he has the action economy to do it. It is just that without a special ability/action you start each round with one.

P.e. sensei monk can take 4 standard actions/turn with ki abilities.


Numarak wrote:

FAQ'd the other thread.

Just wondering, I have a couple of questions for the group that believes that you can perform 2 Swift Actions per turn.

Let's say I'm a Sorcerer. I have 3 enemies in front of me in a raw. On my turn I cast a Cold Ice Strike, being it a spell of casting time a Swift Action, does not provoke.

Then I Ready "When any one of my enemies in front of me blink I cast another Cold Ice Strike".

How do you handle this situation? Do the second Cold Ice Strike provoke? What is its casting time?

P.S. by the way, I believe that, in some cases, turn and rounds are synonyms.

Normally you can cast the spell as a Swift and not provoke. But off the top of my head since you decided to cast it as a Readied spell and are using your Standard, it seems you will provoke now as does any standard casting. You have given up casting as a Swift (and your protection from AoOs) so that you can Ready it as your Standard. That is a price you pay for the benefits of Readying.


shroudb wrote:

NOTHING prevents a character performing several standard actions/round if he has the action economy to do it. It is just that without a special ability/action you start each round with one.

P.e. sensei monk can take 4 standard actions/turn with ki abilities.

Now see, why do you do that? You recognize specific rules that override the general when it comes to standard actions (generally you get 1 per turn but effects can allow for more), but you insistently refuse to recognize specific rules that override the general rule when it comes to Swift actions.

Why? You're not free to pick and choose which rules to pay attention to and which to ignore. Either specific rules override the general or they don't. Which is it?

Plus you keep missing the fact that when you Ready a Swift, you are NOT performing a swift anymore. If I Move and Ready an action, I am performing a Move and a Standard. I can Ready a standard, a move, a swift, or a free, but I am only ever performing a Standard as per the CRB. If you think otherwise, please cite the rule that supports your view.


shroudb wrote:


You can't take a second swift in the same round.

The issue here is a misunderstanding of what is meant by round.

The rules use round in different ways, but make no effort to distinguish which way is being used.

1) A round is the start of initiative order from the highest init roll to the lowest.
2) A round is unique to a individual character, and lasts from the start of one turn, to the start of their next turn, or from the end of one turn to the end of their next turn.

Version 1 is used only rarely in the rules though, version 2 is the far more common usage - that is a round is measured from a individual characters perspective.

For example, someone posted upthread that you could get two sets of AoO's, back to back without having taken a turn. This is a result of incorrectly applying version 1, when version 2 should be applied.

The same mistake is being made by some regarding swift actions. The round being talked about is not the top of init to bottom of init (version 1), it is the individual players round (version 2).

There is further disagreement (Gray_Mage and I) about whether the swift is start of turn to start of turn vs end of turn to end of turn. Different 'things' in the rules use different settings here, but are conflicted on swift reset - and silent on AoO reset.


Elbedor wrote:
shroudb wrote:

NOTHING prevents a character performing several standard actions/round if he has the action economy to do it. It is just that without a special ability/action you start each round with one.

P.e. sensei monk can take 4 standard actions/turn with ki abilities.

Now see, why do you do that? You recognize specific rules that override the general when it comes to standard actions (generally you get 1 per turn but effects can allow for more), but you insistently refuse to recognize specific rules that override the general rule when it comes to Swift actions.

Why? You're not free to pick and choose which rules to pay attention to and which to ignore. Either specific rules override the general or they don't. Which is it?

Plus you keep missing the fact that when you Ready a Swift, you are NOT performing a swift anymore. If I Move and Ready an action, I am performing a Move and a Standard. I can Ready a standard, a move, a swift, or a free, but I am only ever performing a Standard as per the CRB. If you think otherwise, please cite the rule that supports your view.

there is simply no rule saying you can only do a single standard each turn.

going over combat rules you get a turn and those actions:
1swift
1move
1standard

those 3 types of actions each have their specific use.

now, going into each action and reading you see that:
you can spend a standard action to get a second move action
you can only do 1 swift /turn
BUT
there is nothing in the standard action text forbidding you to take a second standard action if you happen to gain one somehow

edit:

to clarify even more:
there would be absolutly no reason to have the whole "you can only perform 1 swift/round" in the rules text if you could ready a second swift action.

that is because readying an action is something that everyone can do unlimited times per day.

so if everyone can do:
i use my swift action
i ready my second swift action to be used the next time i blink my eyes

is basically: you can substitute your standard action for a second swift action. which is text that only exists for move actions.

so.

if it was possible to do so, each and every turn, then i would assume that the people who wrote the rules would have simply written the same thing on swift actions as the thing they wrote on move actions, and not a completly other thing that contradicts that behaviour.


Again, you are recognizing how specific rules can alter general rules when it comes to Standard, but you refuse to let specific rules alter general rules when it comes to Swift. Why?

You are allowed a single Standard Action. If a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Standard Actions, then that's fine.

You are allowed a single Swift Action. But if a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Swift Actions, then that's fine too.

That is what Specific does to General. Nothing wrong with that. In fact that is exactly what a Corset of Delicate Moves is meant for.

But even that aside, no one on these threads has been arguing that you can take multiple Swift actions with Ready. Readying doesn't give you another Swift action. It converts the action you ready to a Standard. So you are only ever performing a Standard when you Ready something.


bbangerter wrote:
2) A round is unique to a individual character, and lasts from the start of one turn, to the start of their next turn, or from the end of one turn to the end of their next turn.

This is purely RAI. The rules talk about "round" and "full-round" distinctions, but the AoO and Combat reflexes subsection only mention "round" instead of "full-round" as you are suggesting it should be read.

RAW, AoO's absolutely reset when the initiative order does. When the rules care about the start or end of a creature's turn, they say so.


Elbedor wrote:

Again, you are recognizing how specific rules can alter general rules when it comes to Standard, but you refuse to let specific rules alter general rules when it comes to Swift. Why?

You are allowed a single Standard Action. If a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Standard Actions, then that's fine.

You are allowed a single Swift Action. But if a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Swift Actions, then that's fine too.

That is what Specific does to General. Nothing wrong with that. In fact that is exactly what a Corset of Delicate Moves is meant for.

But even that aside, no one on these threads has been arguing that you can take multiple Swift actions with Ready. Readying doesn't give you another Swift action. It converts the action you ready to a Standard. So you are only ever performing a Standard when you Ready something.

Let me put it simply

Three rules

1.You have 1 standard action per turn.

2.You have 1 swift action per turn

3.You cannot take more than 1 swift action per turn.

All three are separate, independent rules.

Ready action gets around the second one, since having 1 swift action for your turn does not prohibit getting another from another source. If you interpret Readying a standard as a standard action granting another standard action, it gets around the first one too. It does not get around the third one. The Corset of Delicate Moves explicitly states that it gives you an additional swift action per turn, which would be specific beating general. Ready action has no such language, and so the 1/turn limit is still in effect and you can't use a Ready Action to get a swift if doing so would break that limit.

Grand Lodge

Archaeik wrote:

I agree that RAW seems to open up the possibility of getting additional swift actions through ready, but I doubt this is RAI.

Also, I will take the opportunity to point out, that contrary to what was suggested before, AoO's do not reset on your turn, they reset per round. (Rounds are defined as a full set of the combatants turns.)
This means that, RAW, a creature can potentially take up to twice its "per round" value of AoO's between the end of its turn and the beginning of its next (provided it is not the last to act in a round).

The reason I bring this up is to demonstrate the overall fluidity of thought regarding "turn" vs "round".
RAW is very clear (in general) toward this point, but RAI very often equates the two terms which leads to certain confusions when the distinction actually matters.

Rounds are for an individual, not for a combat. Your round starts at the beginning of your turn and ends at the start of your next turn. There is no way to do what you're suggesting.


Archaeik wrote:
bbangerter wrote:
2) A round is unique to a individual character, and lasts from the start of one turn, to the start of their next turn, or from the end of one turn to the end of their next turn.

This is purely RAI. The rules talk about "round" and "full-round" distinctions, but the AoO and Combat reflexes subsection only mention "round" instead of "full-round" as you are suggesting it should be read.

RAW, AoO's absolutely reset when the initiative order does. When the rules care about the start or end of a creature's turn, they say so.

So you are using a pedantic argument, that you know doesn't match the intent of the rules, to support your position?

Under that reasoning, whether you can ready a second swift or not really depends on when your ready action trigger goes off. If the only time the trigger occurs is during the 'same' round, then under your interpretation, you can't do it. But if the trigger occurs near the top of the 'next' round, then you can.


No, ready actions happen before your next action.

RAW does not always match RAI, quit implying I advocate playing the way the rules read.

@claudekennilol

Combat wrote:
5. When everyone has had a turn, the next round begins with the combatant with the highest initiative, and steps 4 and 5 repeat until combat ends.
Combat wrote:
When the rules refer to a “full round”, they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

You only mark initiative count if those conditions are met.


Elbedor wrote:

Again, you are recognizing how specific rules can alter general rules when it comes to Standard, but you refuse to let specific rules alter general rules when it comes to Swift. Why?

You are allowed a single Standard Action. If a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Standard Actions, then that's fine.

You are allowed a single Swift Action. But if a specific rule changes that and allows you multiple Swift Actions, then that's fine too.

That is what Specific does to General. Nothing wrong with that. In fact that is exactly what a Corset of Delicate Moves is meant for.

But even that aside, no one on these threads has been arguing that you can take multiple Swift actions with Ready. Readying doesn't give you another Swift action. It converts the action you ready to a Standard. So you are only ever performing a Standard when you Ready something.

that is just playing with words.

some abilities are meant to be exlusive of each other. and for that reason they are both swift.

labeling one "standard" but providing it's benefits alongside another swift is the definition of exploiting the system.

the rules are clear:
you can only make ONE swift/turn.
Same wording doesn't exist for standard actions.

there is nothing concering specific/general here.
there is nothing forbidding you to make 2,3,10 standard actions /turn. if you have them, go ahead and do them.
there IS something forbiding you doing more than 1 swift/turn, so if it doesn't SPECIFICALLY say that you can do a SECOND swift/turn (you know, like the item you actually quated which has this intersting text on it " Once per day as a move action, the wearer can take an additional swift action.") then generic still stands and you cant.

so, simply put, you could get 10 swift actions/turn, without language permitting you to actually do them, then you cant.


Archaeik wrote:

No, ready actions happen before your next action.

I'm not seeing what this has to do with any of it. All that means is that if your ready trigger does not occur before your turn comes up again, then the action is lost.

Archaeik wrote:


RAW does not always match RAI, quit implying I advocate playing the way the rules read.

I'm not intending to imply that. What I'm showing is that a pedantic and strictly legalistic reading is a way of reading the rules... but it's not the right way in this scenario. And if it is not the right way, then we continue to search/explore to figure out what the right way is.


bbangerter wrote:
Archaeik wrote:

No, ready actions happen before your next action.

I'm not seeing what this has to do with any of it. All that means is that if your ready trigger does not occur before your turn comes up again, then the action is lost.

Archaeik wrote:


RAW does not always match RAI, quit implying I advocate playing the way the rules read.

I'm not intending to imply that. What I'm showing is that a pedantic and strictly legalistic reading is a way of reading the rules... but it's not the right way in this scenario. And if it is not the right way, then we continue to search/explore to figure out what the right way is.

Alright, I did misunderstand your point.

However, swift doesn't make mention of rounds unfortunately. But the game terms are clear in that if swift said "1 per full round", there wouldn't be much room suggest a conflict of terms.

I think we're on the same page regarding the search for RAI.

Silver Crusade

So if I have a 1/day ability that says I can fly for five rounds, and I have used it. I can ready an action to fly still? Since I am no longer using my ability but instead using my "readied action".


Snowblind wrote:
The Corset of Delicate Moves explicitly states that it gives you an additional swift action per turn, which would be specific beating general. Ready action has no such language, and so the 1/turn limit is still in effect and you can't use a Ready Action to get a swift if doing so would break that limit.

Readying doesn't need any such language because Readying a Swift action is not giving you an additional Swift. It is simply using your Standard as the rule states quite plainly.

shroudb wrote:

the rules are clear:

you can only make ONE swift/turn.

No one is arguing that you can make more than one (outside specific rules). See point above regarding Ready.

noretoc wrote:
So if I have a 1/day ability that says I can fly for five rounds, and I have used it. I can ready an action to fly still? Since I am no longer using my ability but instead using my "readied action".

I think you are confusing abilities with Action Economy. Your "readied action" allows you to perform an action as a Standard action. If you are unable to perform a specific action (such as flying when you have used up the ability), then Readying it will do nothing. But at least you get to look forward to "not flying" as your Standard action. :)

Silver Crusade

Elbedor wrote:


noretoc wrote:
So if I have a 1/day ability that says I can fly for five rounds, and I have used it. I can ready an action to fly still? Since I am no longer using my ability but instead using my "readied action".
I think you are confusing abilities with Action Economy. Your "readied action" allows you to perform an action as a Standard action. If you are unable to perform a specific action (such as flying when you have used up the ability), then Readying it will do nothing. But at least you get to look forward to "not flying" as your Standard action. :)

I'm sorry, can you point out where in the rules it say the "action economy" changes, but not the actual ability?


alexd1976 wrote:
OldSkoolRPG wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:

We are both just yelling at each other without changing what we are saying.

I don't agree with the idea that you can have more than one swift action per round.

People that feel otherwise are entitled to. Take it up with your GM, clearly it isn't that clear.

Trying to insult someones intelligence by comparing them to a ten year old only reveals weaknesses in your own character, not someone else's.

Did I ever compare your intelligence to a 10 year old? She is the youngest player that I GM. She does play the game. So I asked the youngest person I know who actually plays to explain the Martial Weapon Proficiency feat to me.

If the youngest player can clearly understand the feat then it is reasonable to think that others can as well. My point was not that you are not smarter than a 10 year old but that you are deliberately misreading the text to try and make a point. I'm also pretty sure you misinterpreted my post to mean I was saying you weren't as smart as a 10 year old deliberately as well.

Also all of that was said in relation to your arguments concerning the Weapon Proficiency feats NOT in regards to readying swift actions but now you are trying to conflate the two in order to portray yourself as victimized.

Your assumptions of my motivations are incorrect. I do find it odd that you bothered to mention her sex and age, why was that relevant?

Bringing attention to the existing issues with the Weapon Proficiency Feat, as well as the 'Dead' condition was my attempt to get people to realize that literal readings of the rules can lead to situations not intended by the designers.

My group doesn't allow for two swift actions per round, clearly yours would. All the more power to you.

I didn't go out of my way to mention her gender. I said who I asked. If I said I asked my wife and she so forth and so on would you have accused me of somehow playing off her gender?!? Yet another instance that cannot honestly have been interpreted the way you interpreted it. The more you respond the more I am convinced you are just trolling.

Her age is clearly relevant, because as I said if a 10 year old has no problem interpreting the Martial Weapon Proficiency feat then a literate adult can't possibly be honestly misunderstanding the feat to the extent you are pretending.

Thus your argument that having weapon proficiency is not the same as having weapon proficiency cannot be your honest position but is just trolling.


Sure.

CRB wrote:

Ready

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

For something like loading a light crossbow there is the general rule and a specific rule:

CRB wrote:

Crossbow, Light

Load: Loading a light crossbow is a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity.

CRB wrote:

Rapid Reload

Benefit: The time required for you to reload your chosen type of weapon is reduced to a free action (for a hand or light crossbow)...

For Readying you can take any action that normally takes a Standard, Move, Swift, or Free action to perform and ready (and execute it) as a Standard action. This shows that the action in question (whether attacking, moving, self-healing, talking, etc) is having its Action Economy changed. Moving is normally a Move action, but if you Ready to Move, it is now a Standard.

Similarly loading a light crossbow is a Move action normally. But with the right Feat you can change the Action Economy for the action of loading to a Free action.

Just a few examples of how specific rules change the general rules.

Note that there are no rules that suggest you can accomplish something that is otherwise impossible. Although you can ready any action (such as moving), it doesn't guarantee you can perform it (such as if you're immobilized).

Silver Crusade

Elbedor wrote:

Sure.

CRB wrote:

Ready

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

For something like loading a light crossbow there is the general rule and a specific rule:

CRB wrote:

Crossbow, Light

Load: Loading a light crossbow is a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity.

CRB wrote:

Rapid Reload

Benefit: The time required for you to reload your chosen type of weapon is reduced to a free action (for a hand or light crossbow)...

For Readying you can take any action that normally takes a Standard, Move, Swift, or Free action to perform and ready (and execute it) as a Standard action. This shows that the action in question (whether attacking, moving, self-healing, talking, etc) is having its Action Economy changed. Moving is normally a Move action, but if you Ready to Move, it is now a Standard.

Similarly loading a light crossbow is a Move action normally. But with the right Feat you can change the Action Economy for the action of loading to a Free action.

Just a few examples of how specific rules change the general rules.

Note that there are no rules that suggest you can accomplish something that is otherwise impossible. Although you can ready any action (such as moving), it doesn't guarantee you can perform it (such as if you're immobilized).

The feat specifically states that that reloading is now a free action. You pointing to another feat for justification that doesn't say the same thing. Sorry, no go there.

What you are saying by the ready action, is that because the "ready an action" action is itself a standard action, it now replaces the action economy of the spell, to equal the "ready an action" action, even though it does not specifically say that. Well actions have three attributes. The action, the type (standard, swift,etc), and whether it provokes. There is a nice chart.
If you are saying the ready action replaces one of those attributes, unless the action specifically states that it is replacing that one attribute only, then the same rule would apply for all the attributes. The type changes to standard, the provoke changes to no, and the action changes from what ever you are readying to the "ready an action" action. The "ready an action" action doesn't have a daily limit. Why should the action conform to the rules of the action that you are "readying" when the type doesn't have to conform to those same rules. Since we are going by the attributes of the "ready an action" action, then we don't enforce the "1 swift action a round" rule, and shouldn't enforce the "1/day" rule, as the "ready an action" action has no restrictions on the number of times it can be used a day.


Elbedor wrote:

Sure.

CRB wrote:

Ready

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

For something like loading a light crossbow there is the general rule and a specific rule:

CRB wrote:

Crossbow, Light

Load: Loading a light crossbow is a move action that provokes attacks of opportunity.

CRB wrote:

Rapid Reload

Benefit: The time required for you to reload your chosen type of weapon is reduced to a free action (for a hand or light crossbow)...

For Readying you can take any action that normally takes a Standard, Move, Swift, or Free action to perform and ready (and execute it) as a Standard action. This shows that the action in question (whether attacking, moving, self-healing, talking, etc) is having its Action Economy changed. Moving is normally a Move action, but if you Ready to Move, it is now a Standard.

Similarly loading a light crossbow is a Move action normally. But with the right Feat you can change the Action Economy for the action of loading to a Free action.

Just a few examples of how specific rules change the general rules.

Note that there are no rules that suggest you can accomplish something that is otherwise impossible. Although you can ready any action (such as moving), it doesn't guarantee you can perform it (such as if you're immobilized).

still nope.

you ready a move action, a swift action or a standard action.
that costs you your standard action.
there is simply no text at all implying that the action somehow magically changes type

then, when and if the trigger happens, you take that standard, move or swift action you readied.

and yes, that means that readying costs 1 standard, and it gives 1 standrad or 1 move or 1 swift or 1 free action, assuming you can perform said action.

now, let's head over to actions:
standard action:

Quote:

Standard Action

A standard action allows you to do something, most commonly to make an attack or cast a spell. See Table: Actions in Combat for other standard actions.

move action:

Quote:

A move action allows you to move up to your speed or perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. See Table: Actions in Combat for other move actions.

You can take a move action in place of a standard action. If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action.

swift action:

Quote:
A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform only a single swift action per turn.

do you notice that the swift action is the ONLY action type that actually has restrictive language in the rules?

so yeah, if you have an ability to gain 10 standard, 10 move and 10 swift actions, you can take 10 standard, 10 move and 1swift only. Unless it specifically says that it allows more than 1 swift/round, which ready does not.

once again:

if raw OR rai permited you to ready a second swift action/turn then there would be absolutly no reason to have specific rules text saying that you can only take 1 swift/turn. Instead, it would have the exact same wording as move action that does in fact allows one to trade a standard action for a move action.

really, arguing that you can somehow gain 2 swift actions/turn is exploiting at his worst or rules-lawyering to circumvent obvious rai at it's best.


shroudb wrote:
really, arguing that you can somehow gain 2 swift actions/turn is exploiting at his worst or rules-lawyering to circumvent obvious rai at it's best.

You still don't understand what a turn is.

shroudb wrote:
if raw OR rai permited you to ready a second swift action/turn then there would be absolutly no reason to have specific rules text saying that you can only take 1 swift/turn. Instead, it would have the exact same wording as move action that does in fact allows one to trade a standard action for a move action.

You mean other than where the rules tell you you can take a swift action any time you can take a free action - but since free actions have no specific limit the rules need to make that distinction for swift actions?

The rules also tell us that you get one move and one standard per turn. That doesn't prevent other rules from superseding that at times - though that's really a moot point because you aren't getting two on one turn. You are taking one on your turn, then borrowing ahead (from your future turn) outside of your turn.


It does not change the type of action that you can take. It takes a standard to take a "ready" action. However if you have used the swift action already it will not trigger. It will activate and then nothing will happen, because you cannot exceed the 1 swift action per turn.


bbangerter wrote:
shroudb wrote:
really, arguing that you can somehow gain 2 swift actions/turn is exploiting at his worst or rules-lawyering to circumvent obvious rai at it's best.

You still don't understand what a turn is.

shroudb wrote:
if raw OR rai permited you to ready a second swift action/turn then there would be absolutly no reason to have specific rules text saying that you can only take 1 swift/turn. Instead, it would have the exact same wording as move action that does in fact allows one to trade a standard action for a move action.

You mean other than where the rules tell you you can take a swift action any time you can take a free action - but since free actions have no specific limit the rules need to make that distinction for swift actions?

The rules also tell us that you get one move and one standard per turn. That doesn't prevent other rules from superseding that at times - though that's really a moot point because you aren't getting two on one turn. You are taking one on your turn, then borrowing ahead (from your future turn) outside of your turn.

first of all, the one missinterpreting what a turn is is you.

secondly:
the rules also say you have 1 swift/turn.
if it was simply for the free action thingy, then that should be enough, but instead they ALSO tell you that you can ONLY take ONE swift/turn, which is something that simply isn't there for either the standard OR the move action descriptions.
something that is missing from both move and standard action rules text.

so both of you keep confusing action economy with rules text:
to break it down:
there are two seperate things:
a) action economy:
you START your round with:
1 standard
1 move
1 swift
free actions up to gm discretion.

b)rules text:
you can change a standard into a move action
you can only take 1 swift/turn.

there are several ways to mess up with your action economy (that is with part (a). from swapping standard to move which is the simplest, to gain extra standard actions which requires class abilities, to have taken an immediate action which would have deprived you of the swift of this round and etc. To, no big surprise, to readying an action.

all the above have NOTHING to do with the rules text (which is (b)) that says : 1 swift/round. they are just ways to mess up with the action economy.


noretoc wrote:

Well actions have three attributes. The action, the type (standard, swift,etc), and whether it provokes. There is a nice chart.

If you are saying the ready action replaces one of those attributes, unless the action specifically states that it is replacing that one attribute only, then the same rule would apply for all the attributes. The type changes to standard, the provoke changes to no, and the action changes from what ever you are readying to the "ready an action" action.

The Ready action DOES point out that it doesn't change the Provoke rule. If reloading a crossbow as a Move provokes, then Ready reloading as a Standard still provokes. If attacking doesn't provoke, then Ready attacking doesn't either.

shroudb wrote:

you ready a move action, a swift action or a standard action.

that costs you your standard action.
there is simply no text at all implying that the action somehow magically changes type

You are still confusing "Actions" with "Action Types". An Action Type is what you need to spend in order to perform an Action. Reloading a Crossbow is an Action. What Action Type do you need to do it? That all depends on what abilities you have. To some, reloading is a Move Action. To others it's a Free Action.

What about maintaining a grapple? For most people it's a Standard action. But if you have Greater Grapple, now it's a Move action.

In both examples the Action hasn't changed. The Action Type has. And we know this because the rules tell us. Greater Grapple doesn't say "maintaining the grapple changes from a Standard to a Move". It just says "maintaining the grapple is a Move action."

And this happens all the time. The General rule gives us the baseline and then a Specific rule changes it to something else. A Swift action is an Action that requires a Swift to activate. But what if a Specific rule says you can activate that same Action by using a Move? Then suddenly it's a Move action now. It's no longer a Swift action.

Do you see the difference?

Readying is a Specific rule. It changes the General. A Paladin self-healing with LoH must use a Swift action to activate his ability. But if he Readies that ability, now he must use his Standard action. It has gone from being a Swift action ability to a Standard action ability. He gains an advantage at the cost of initiative and risking that his action might not happen. And if you think that someone might abuse this, that's fine. Players try to abuse the rules all the time. That's what the GM is for. He's there to stop the cheese.

However, insisting this is not how Ready works leaves you with having to spend a Full-Round action just to Ready a Move. And you can never Ready a Standard. Why you want to go there, I have no idea.

But a parallel example of how your interpretation plays out:

#1 Paladin self-heals with LoH and Readies to self-heal again if he's damaged before his next turn. When he is damaged, his action triggers, but he can't self-heal because it counts as another Swift and he's already done that. So his Readied action fails.

#2 Rogue moves into a room and Readies to move again if anything jumps out at him. When something jumps out, his action triggers, but he can't move because it counts as another Move. He's already moved and he doesn't have a Standard available to exchange for a 2nd Move because he spent his Standard readying. So his Readied action fails.

You and I both know #2 is wrong. But it is applying the exact same interpretation that you're giving to #1.


Elbedor wrote:
noretoc wrote:

Well actions have three attributes. The action, the type (standard, swift,etc), and whether it provokes. There is a nice chart.

If you are saying the ready action replaces one of those attributes, unless the action specifically states that it is replacing that one attribute only, then the same rule would apply for all the attributes. The type changes to standard, the provoke changes to no, and the action changes from what ever you are readying to the "ready an action" action.

The Ready action DOES point out that it doesn't change the Provoke rule. If reloading a crossbow as a Move provokes, then Ready reloading as a Standard still provokes. If attacking doesn't provoke, then Ready attacking doesn't either.

shroudb wrote:

you ready a move action, a swift action or a standard action.

that costs you your standard action.
there is simply no text at all implying that the action somehow magically changes type

You are still confusing "Actions" with "Action Types". An Action Type is what you need to spend in order to perform an Action. Reloading a Crossbow is an Action. What Action Type do you need to do it? That all depends on what abilities you have. To some, reloading is a Move Action. To others it's a Free Action.

What about maintaining a grapple? For most people it's a Standard action. But if you have Greater Grapple, now it's a Move action.

In both examples the Action hasn't changed. The Action Type has. And we know this because the rules tell us. Greater Grapple doesn't say "maintaining the grapple changes from a Standard to a Move". It just says "maintaining the grapple is a Move action."

And this happens all the time. The General rule gives us the baseline and then a Specific rule changes it to something else. A Swift action is an Action that requires a Swift to activate. But what if a Specific rule says you can activate that same Action by using a Move? Then suddenly it's a Move action now. It's no longer a Swift action.

Do...

you keep missing ym point:

ready action is a standard action that GIVES you either a move or a swift or a standard or a free provided you can perform it

so yes, readying a standard, means expending a standard action and gaining a sandard action
readying a move, means expending a standard action and gaining a move action
readying a swift, means expending a standard action and gaining a swift action,

but it says nothing about lifting the limitation of only 1 swift/turn which exists SOLELY on the swift action rules text and in no other action type


I understand what you're saying. And I agree with parts of it. But how you treat Readied actions is different than me. So let's play a little game to point out what I mean.

Let's assume I have a 1st level Bard with basic equipment at your table. I happen to have an item, though, that grants a special ability. As a swift action, he can activate the item to heal himself for 1d8 Hpts.

So you've called for Initiative and the Round has begun. I go first.

R1: Not knowing what awaits me other than hearing noise approaching from outside the room, I don't want to delay in case something jumps out at me, so I draw my rapier and ready an action to move away from the door if anything coming through it tries to attack me.

Assume I'm a brand new player and have no understanding of turn sequences. Explain to me what the Action Economy is looking like here.


That is really simple example:

Move action to draw weapon
Standard action to ready a move (you need to also have specified where you move) wen someone attacks you.

If someone does come from the door and tries to attack you, your initiative drops to just before his attack, you move away (likely provoking).

If you were just being paranoid and no one comes out, then when your initiative count comes again you get a fresh rounds worth of actions.

Since you took a ready and not a wait you get to act before the attact, but on the same hand, you wouldn't be able to activate your magic item as a swift if the aoo hit and you wanted because your turn ends immediately after the specified ready move.


Ok. So just to be clear (trying to do some "active listening" here), what I heard you say is that I've performed a Move action (to draw a weapon) and a Standard action (to ready to move away from the door when someone attacks me). This means I'd still have a Swift and a bunch of Free actions left, but I haven't bothered to use those and ended my turn.

Assuming this is correct, we'll go on to the other half of the round.

R1.5 A heavily armed and armored orc appears in the doorway. He sees me and decides to attack. My readied action triggers and I move away from the orc. Fortunately he didn't move all the way into the door and I have cover from the hard corner, so my movement doesn't provoke (stupid orc).

What action am I performing to move away from the door? This is still the same round and I've already performed my Move action to draw a weapon and my Standard action to Ready. So what am I performing to move away? My swift? A free? Another move?


Elbedor wrote:

Ok. So just to be clear (trying to do some "active listening" here), what I heard you say is that I've performed a Move action (to draw a weapon) and a Standard action (to ready to move away from the door when someone attacks me). This means I'd still have a Swift and a bunch of Free actions left, but I haven't bothered to use those and ended my turn.

Assuming this is correct, we'll go on to the other half of the round.

R1.5 A heavily armed and armored orc appears in the doorway. He sees me and decides to attack. My readied action triggers and I move away from the orc. Fortunately he didn't move all the way into the door and I have cover from the hard corner, so my movement doesn't provoke (stupid orc).

What action am I performing to move away from the door? This is still the same round and I've already performed my Move action to draw a weapon and my Standard action to Ready. So what am I performing to move away? My swift? A free? Another move?

You use a move action.

As I said before, readying COST a standard and GIVES a standard, move, swift or free.

Think of it as similar to how you can use your standard to gain a move, only that you can gain more action types with several restrictions.*

The problem though isn't that you can't "gain" a swift action. The problem is that this does nothing to alleviate the hard restriction of only 1 swift/turn which exist SOLELY on the swift actions and in none of the other action types.

*similarly, if you spend your standard to get a second move, lets say to draw your weapon and move into position, the second action is a "move" action type and not a "standard" despite the fact that you used your standard to get it.


shroudb wrote:

You use a move action.

As I said before, readying COST a standard and GIVES a standard, move, swift or free.

Wait, I'm a little confused here. I've performed a Move action to draw my weapon and I've performed a Standard action to Ready an action. Where is this other Move coming from? The rules clearly say "Readying is a Standard action." So I'm definitely performing a Standard action here.

Are you saying I'm performing a Standard action to Ready AND move (assuming the condition is met)? If so, then I get what you're saying and I agree so far.

1 to 50 of 165 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions #3646 and #3647 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.