| ojamojallo |
I'm making a hunter with a longbow, and one of the spells he can take is shock arrow:
"You create an arrow made of crackling electricity, which you may use for one of two effects.
Attack: You may throw the arrow up to Medium range or fire it from a bow up to the bow's maximum range. Either use is a ranged touch attack. The arrow deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point per level (maximum +5).
Beacon: You throw or fire the arrow straight up. When it reaches maximum range or a solid surface (such as the roof of a cave) it explodes in a peal of thunder and forms a forked bolt of electricity resembling a holy symbol, which lingers for 1 round. The thunder and lightning are as loud and bright as natural thunder and lightning, but they do not harm any nearby creatures."
under duration it says instantaneous or 1 round, which refers to the two possible effects of the spell.
so my question is: is there an expiration date on unused arrows infused with the spell? or can I use a week's travel time ingame to stock up on more powerful shock arrows which also go vs touch ac?
also, I don't know how to quote, any help?
| Just a Guess |
To see how you quote click the button after: "How to format your text" below the window in which you type your text.
@Topic: The arrow has no duration. While casting the spell you either pull the string on your bow or make ready to hurl the arrow and as soon as you do the arrow appears and is thrown/shot.
| ojamojallo |
@Topic: The arrow has no duration. While casting the spell you either pull the string on your bow or make ready to hurl the arrow and as soon as you do the arrow appears and is thrown/shot.
so it basically has the duration of a free action (though it isn't a free action)?
You can experiment by hitting the "Reply" button over on your right side of the screen, and you'll see the HTML tags appear in your editing window. You just have to manually copy and paste whatever it is you want from outside the forums.
Thanks! I get it now
| ojamojallo |
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (one arrow)
Maybe I should have mentioned that before. So does the casting time refer to the spell itself and the firing of the arrow in one? If you're supposed to cast the spell and shoot the arrow in one round, wouldn't that make the casting time a fee action?
| Just a Guess |
Quote:Maybe I should have mentioned that before. So does the casting time refer to the spell itself and the firing of the arrow in one? If you're supposed to cast the spell and shoot the arrow in one round, wouldn't that make the casting time a fee action?Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (one arrow)
No, it makes firing the arrow a free action done as part of casting the spell.
Same as with spells like shocking grasp. Casting it is a standard action and it gives you a free action touch attack as part of the casting.
| ojamojallo |
ojamojallo wrote:Quote:Maybe I should have mentioned that before. So does the casting time refer to the spell itself and the firing of the arrow in one? If you're supposed to cast the spell and shoot the arrow in one round, wouldn't that make the casting time a fee action?Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (one arrow)No, it makes firing the arrow a free action done as part of casting the spell.
Same as with spells like shocking grasp. Casting it is a standard action and it gives you a free action touch attack as part of the casting.
But can shock arrow and shocking grasp be used as a full attack action? Becasue on one hand, you are using a spell. But on the other hand, the spell translates into an attack and nowhere is it stated that it can't be used in a full attack action.
| Torbyne |
Only a Magus gets to use something like Shocking Grasp as part of a full attack due to unique class features to mimic TWF rules with a spell and a weapon.
EDIT: To everyone else casting a spell is a stand alone and standard action on its own. Meaning you dont have enough actions in a turn to use a standard and then combine a standard and a move into a full attack action.
Brevick Axeflail
|
Just a Guess wrote:But can shock arrow and shocking grasp be used as a full attack action? Becasue on one hand, you are using a spell. But on the other hand, the spell translates into an attack and nowhere is it stated that it can't be used in a full attack action.ojamojallo wrote:Quote:Maybe I should have mentioned that before. So does the casting time refer to the spell itself and the firing of the arrow in one? If you're supposed to cast the spell and shoot the arrow in one round, wouldn't that make the casting time a fee action?Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (one arrow)No, it makes firing the arrow a free action done as part of casting the spell.
Same as with spells like shocking grasp. Casting it is a standard action and it gives you a free action touch attack as part of the casting.
Shocking Grasp dissipates after you successfully hit (unlike other multi-touch spells like Frostbite), so sure, you can declare a Full Attack action, but you won't get multiple Shocking Grasps. You'd have to resort to something else after your first hit.
| Torbyne |
Oh, i was thinking just in terms of a single round. Yes, you can actually use Shocking Grasp as part of a full attack but you must wait until you have both cast the spell (and held the charge) and are properly positioned to deliver the shocking grasp. Even then, without the Magus class features your spell must be delivered through an unarmed strike or a natural weapon. i am not certain but believe you are unable to substitute a touch attack with a held charge in lieu of a regular BAB attack as part of a full attack action.
Brevick Axeflail
|
Sure you can.
Round 1: cast Shocking Grasp, hold charge.
Round 2: declare a Full Attack action, possibly using two-weapon fighting, a high BAB, Haste, whatever. Try to touch your target as many times as your character can muster.
It's not a very viable strategy, though. You're better off just trying to touch in the round you cast the spell.
| ojamojallo |
Sure you can.
Round 1: cast Shocking Grasp, hold charge.
Round 2: declare a Full Attack action, possibly using two-weapon fighting, a high BAB, Haste, whatever. Try to touch your target as many times as your character can muster.It's not a very viable strategy, though. You're better off just trying to touch in the round you cast the spell.
Oh, i was thinking just in terms of a single round. Yes, you can actually use Shocking Grasp as part of a full attack but you must wait until you have both cast the spell (and held the charge) and are properly positioned to deliver the shocking grasp. Even then, without the Magus class features your spell must be delivered through an unarmed strike or a natural weapon. i am not certain but believe you are unable to substitute a touch attack with a held charge in lieu of a regular BAB attack as part of a full attack action.
So a magus who can cast the shocking grasp through his sword can charge is sword beforehand, so the spell is released upon hit. But now back to my original question: if indeed the magus shocking grasp has the same mechanic as te shock arrow, can I charge multiple arrows beforehand?