AoA, Reach and cover


Rules Questions


So here's the situation. The enemy is a giant which is a 10'x10' with a reach of 10'. During the combat the barbarian was right up against the giant and was injured so the cleric stepped up behind him and cast Cure Serious Wounds.

Does the Giant get an AoA since the Cleric is within his reach and casts a spell?
Everyone was telling me no because the Barbarian provided cover to the cleric and based on the following;
When making a melee attack against an adjacent target,
your target has cover if any line from any corner of your
square to the target’s square goes through a wall (including
a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target
that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use
the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.
But I found the following;
Big Creatures and Cover: Any creature with a space
larger than 5 feet (1 square) determines cover against
melee attacks slightly differently than smaller creatures
do. Such a creature can choose any square that it occupies
to determine if an opponent has cover against its melee
attacks. Similarly, when making a melee attack against
such a creature, you can pick any of the squares it occupies
to determine if it has cover against you.

So who's correct?

Thanks,
Joe


First of all it is an AoO not an AoA.

To address your question, well yes if any square he occupied had a clear shot at the cleric, no doubt he would have had an AoO.

However assuming he had cover from all of his squares, (not hard to do) some people I know rule that soft cover does not prevent AoO, however I cannot find that rule, and what I do find suggests that soft cover does prevent AoO.

However keep in mind that the cleric could have probably had cover from every angle, and soft cover probably prevents AoO.


Cover prevents AoOs. Even soft cover.

Just to be safe, the Cleric probably should have cast before moving, but that's just SOP.


The term is AoO: Attack of *O*pportunity

Cleric was stupid. Should have cast them moved up to touch ally and avoided the potential AoO.

SRD

Cover wrote:

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.

SRD

Cover and Attacks of Opportunity wrote:
You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you.

Space Reach Threatened Area Templates

Layout:
Gg__
GGBC
___c

Gg__
GG__
__Bc
___C

G, g: Giant
B: Barbarian
C, c: Cleric's possible location

All locations [C,c] of the cleric shown are within the reach of the giant.
Casting a spell at that point triggers an AoO unless you have cover.

The giant wants to attack. His most advantageous choice is the upper right corner of its spaces, and the upper right corner of that space. The worst point to use is the cleric's lower left corner. The line between these two corners does pass through the barbarian. Since any line that goes through another creature provides cover, the cleric has cover.

Summary: Cleric has cover, so no AoO

/cevah


Sorry, my mistake, AoO
So your saying no AoO, but then how does the following;
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Cover

See the image for cover example, #2. It says the Rogue does not have cover.
Based on this, how would the cleric have cover?


joep wrote:

Sorry, my mistake, AoO

So your saying no AoO, but then how does the following;
Cover

See the image for cover example, #2. It says the Rogue does not have cover.
Based on this, how would the cleric have cover?

Ogre has reach, so uses ranged rules: "To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC)."

Pick a top corner of either top square of the ogre. Lines from that corner can be drawn to all four corners of the rogue's square without passing thru a blocked square or border. It does go adjacent to one, but that does not give cover.

This would apply to the cleric also, except for the fact that no corner of any ogre's squares has all four lines that are unobstructed. Seems the pesky hurt barbarian is in the way.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoA, Reach and cover All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.