Using Spider Climb to Annihilate Giant Spiders?


Rules Questions


Hello. I've been unable to find anything definite on this question, and will be the first to admit that it is somewhat silly, but anything I seem to be able to find on the topic seems to be allowing it. These seem to be the relevant passages:

Spider Climb:
Spider Climb

School transmutation; Level alchemist 2, bloodrager 2, druid 2, magus 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, summoner 2
CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a live spider)
EFFECT

Range touch
Target creature touched
Duration 10 min./level
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)

Spider Climb Text

Material Components:
Material (M)

A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Magic Section Text

Giant Spider:
Spider, Giant (Medium)

A spider the size of a man crawls silently from the depths of its funnel-shaped web.

Giant Spider Text

Can someone please point out to me what I'm missing?


I would totally allow that, even though it's a bit silly, and I think it is technically RAW. Technically.

Grand Lodge

You can't sacrifice something you don't have possession of. Otherwise you can use it to kill the enemy or allied spellcasters spider familiar/animal companion.

You could also cast spells using another mages spell components while still in their possession.

I know as vermin, spiders are mindless, but if you could summon them or dominate them I would allow it.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The material component is a hold-over from 1st edition D&D, where you ate the spider as part of casting the spell. If you are able to swallow whole a medium sized giant spider, sure, spider climb will kill it.

Otherwise, no.


I could see one argue that you need to possess the material component.
"A spell's components explain what you must do or possess to cast the spell."

These Giant Spiders, do you possess them? Do you own or have them?


This would be hilarious to do while being devooured by one Ala Mighty Max's Norman

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using Spider Climb to Annihilate Giant Spiders? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions