AoO and crawling


Rules Questions


So I know that the square you leave provokes when you crawl. But what about the square you move into? Under crawling is says, "Crawling incurs attacks of opportunity from any attackers who threaten you at any point of your crawl." And Crawling is only 5ft. So The only thing I can think of when it says provoking at any point would be provoking for entering a square. Still only 1 attack per person, but it means that someone you crawl from and the person you crawl to could each make an attack against you in different squares.

Liberty's Edge

You could double move and crawl 10 ft. The wording for the AOO rule on crawling is most likely addressing that circumstance.


Crawling is not moving, unless you have a crawl speed. Crawling is using a move action. If you do it twice, the same threatening character would be able to hit you twice, with Combat Reflexes, of course.

I do not believe the rules for crawling are any different than any other move action. I can't imagine that a single 5' crawl would provoke twice from the same person.


No I wasn't saying that it provokes twice for one action but that both enemy A and B could hit player P if P crawled

AP_B

A_PB

When both A and B have normal 5ft reach.

But Komoda are you saying the Crawling is a separate move action than the moving your speed action? That's what originally I thought but then I couldn't decide if it was or not.


CRB p186 wrote:
Crawling: You can crawl 5 feet as a move action.

Yes.

Edit: Crap. That line is under the "move" entry. Now I am confused too.

Edit: Edit: Does that mean you can draw a weapon as part of the move action?


No, you can't draw a weapon while crawling. You can only draw a weapon in conjunction with a 'regular move' not any move equivalent action.

And technically you would appear to draw 2 attacks of opportunity from 'A', one for crawling and one for leaving a threatened square. B would only get 1 AoO in the scenario, but could also get 2 if he threatened you when you start crawling.

In the same way that falling down to someone with vicious stomp and greater trip provokes twice, and casting a ranged touch spell can provoke twice, one for the spell and one for the free ranged attack. Whilst crawling is a single action it triggers two separate AoO clauses.


Crawling is listed under the regular move action. It is movement, not a move equivalent action.

Liberty's Edge

_Ozy_ wrote:
Crawling is listed under the regular move action. It is movement, not a move equivalent action.

This is correct. Crawling is listed under Move in the Combat section. Because of this, a crawling creature with +1 BAB or more may indeed draw a weapon while moving.

Crawling provokes an AOO in the same way that moving 5 feet as a normal move action would provoke (ie NOT a 5-foot step).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, and I can't believe I have to make this go here, if one was to start a move action and get tripped by an AoO, then they could actually craw 5' to finish their started move action without provoking another AoO since the original AoO was by moving, correct?

Grand Lodge

RedDogMT wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
Crawling is listed under the regular move action. It is movement, not a move equivalent action.

This is correct. Crawling is listed under Move in the Combat section. Because of this, a crawling creature with +1 BAB or more may indeed draw a weapon while moving.

Crawling provokes an AOO in the same way that moving 5 feet as a normal move action would provoke (ie NOT a 5-foot step).

It would probably help matters if we started referring to what we think as a "5 foot step" by it's proper tactical name. "5 foot adjustment".


The proper "rule" name is "5' step" or "5-foot step" or other variations of the same. I don't know what you mean by "5 foot adjustment" or "proper tactical name".


He probably means that since you can do it with any form of movement that you have a base speed, calling it a 'step' might be confusing.


Benefit: While prone, a rogue with this ability can move at half speed. This movement provokes attacks of opportunity as normal. A rogue with this talent can take a 5-foot step while crawling.

rogue crawl without taking rogue talent?


No one is saying you can move half your speed, do it as a 5'-step, or do it without provoking. How is that having Rogue Crawl?


_Ozy_ wrote:
He probably means that since you can do it with any form of movement that you have a base speed, calling it a 'step' might be confusing.

I get where you are going, but no one called it a 5'-step, except to absolutely point out it was not a 5'-step.

Liberty's Edge

You cannot take a 5 foot step when in darkness or when your movement is only 5 feet (A halfling in plate mail who is slowed, for example). It is not common, but it can happen.

Also, a player may choose to simply move 5 feet as a move action (perhaps he WANTS to provoke an AOO). He is not required to take a 5 foot step when he moves 5 feet.

Grand Lodge

Or if you're an aquatic creature on land.

I can think of very few times I'd want to draw an attack of opportunity. Perhaps to let the caster run through, if I had been counting op-attacks and knew the bad guy had been passing them up (and therefore likely didn't have combat reflexes).

They also don't have to take an attack of opportunity, though unless it's particularly intelligent, I'm not sure the creature's tactics would allow you to do otherwise.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / AoO and crawling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions