Santified Slayer and Spell DCs


Rules Questions


7 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Sanctified Slayer archetype grants an Inquisitor the Slayer's Studied Target class feature, using Inquisitor level as effective Slayer level.

Studied Target grants its bonus to, among other things, "the DCs of Slayer class abilities".

Does this mean that the Studied Target bonus applies to the DCs of the Inquisitor's spells?

EDIT: Read typo in thread title. Colour me embarrassed.


As far as i know there is no FAQ on this one yet.
The reading can go both ways, i think that it does increase the DCs.


As written it does, though I'm not sure that was the intention. It could really use clarification on the topic, because while as written that seem to be the case it also seems like someone may not have considered the full ramifications of such a combination of abilities.


I agree that as written it does, while it was probably unintended.

Although, the inquisitor spell list doesn't make it really broken.


Going to necro this because I kinda want this answered. For reference, some former threads by Deadkitten.


Are Inquisitor Spells Slayer Class Abilities?

No it should be fairly obvious they arent.


Scavion wrote:

Are Inquisitor Spells Slayer Class Abilities?

No it should be fairly obvious they arent.

I was thinking the spells were being given to the slayer, but I remembered the inquisitor was getting slayer abilities. In this case the spells should definitely not be getting a DC increase.


Where an ability lets you use another class(B) ability as if your class(A) were that class(B) you replace all instances of 'class(B)' with 'class(A)' - it's a nonsense otherwise. No replacement abilities work at all.

IF you disagree with me on that, then fine, it doesn't work, nothing more needs to be said on that specific point.

If you agree with me however:

The ability becomes "the DC of inquisitor class abilities".

The real question then is whether there is a distinction between class abilities, class features and class spells.


It doesn't say that though, and the distinction matters because it determines what benefits and what doesn't. Now if someone is saying Paizo intended to say "inquisitor" instead of "slayer" that is another argument, and that is what the FAQ should be asking, but as it is currently asked the answer is no.

Scarab Sages

It's also relevant to the Nature Fang druid, and the druid list has some very nasty spells that allow a save.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Santified Slayer and Spell DCs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions