
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Has there been any thought/discussion of how the boon cards coming out with the Iconic Heroes minis with organized play? Previous promotional cards have come with the Skull & Shackles decks and say Skull & Shackles, so it's assumed they go into that box. The Iconic Heroes cards are not part of a box deck. Will they be able to be added to class decks, or just boxes as standard P cards? Am I correct in assuming the owner mechanic won't go into play until Wrath of the Righteous?

Hawkmoon269 |

One of the nice things about these cards from an organized play design perspective is that they're easy to integrate. If you're playing an iconic character and you have a promotional card from this line that's owned by that character, you can start with it. If you're not playing an iconic, don't despair—you might get an opportunity to unlock access to these cards through a scenario or some other special reward. Those of you playing Valeros might wish to pre-order Iconic Heroes Set #1 now.

![]() |

I think the only question is when can they be added (upgraded) to your deck. Can they become 0-level cards you can upgrade with (according to upgrade rules)?
Example: Just played a scenario and got an Ally 1 and Ally 2 in the card booty. (And for some reason Lini is a legal character for this example!) And you, Lini, decide you want to upgrade an Ally and grab Droogami (Ally P) as your upgrade now that you have the appropriate Iconic Heroes set.
That's how I'm seeing it. Or you can start with an appropriate card type in your initial deck for your iconic character.

Shade325 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I believe the intent is that owners can start with them in their starting deck... but I may be wrong. If this is the intent then the Starting Character rules will have to change because as per the rules all cards in your starting deck must have the Basic Trait and the B Set Indicator.
If I understand it correctly, owners treat the card as if it had the Basic trait but technically these cards have the P Set Indicator.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I believe the intent is that owners can start with them in their starting deck... but I may be wrong. If this is the intent then the Starting Character rules will have to change because as per the rules all cards in your starting deck must have the Basic Trait and the B Set Indicator.
If I understand it correctly, owners treat the card as if it had the Basic trait but technically these cards have the P Set Indicator.
Yeah, but that only covers starting decks. At this point in the season, there aren't a lot of people starting now. I think most of us would be more interested in if they can be added to current decks through the normal upgrade process.
Also, B, C and P indicators are all the same level and treated as zero level. (pg 7 of the guide)

Shade325 |

Yeah but the Starting Character rules on p.5 say "If the scenario you’re playing has an adventure deck number of 1 or 2, when you build your starting deck, begin by using only cards that have the Basic trait and also have the set indicator B on the upper-right corner."
For upgrades I agree and understand that B, C and P = 0 but for starting characters unless they say it specially there will be uncertainty... if character's are supposed to be able to start with these cards.
Based on the wording of pg 7 I'd say you can spend an upgrade of level 0 or higher to add a P card to your deck?

![]() |

Yeah but the Starting Character rules on p.5 say "If the scenario you’re playing has an adventure deck number of 1 or 2, when you build your starting deck, begin by using only cards that have the Basic trait and also have the set indicator B on the upper-right corner."
That's because there aren't any other set indicators except B in class decks. And you weren't allowed to add (P)romo cards directly to your deck.
For upgrades I agree and understand that B, C and P = 0 but for starting characters unless they say it specially there will be uncertainty... if character's are supposed to be able to start with these cards.
Based on the wording of pg 7 I'd say you can spend an upgrade of level 0 or higher to add a P card to your deck?
Well, according to the Tanis quote above, if you are playing one of the iconic characters, you can start with their cards.
And I'm making the assumption that the rules for upgrades includes these cards as well (since normally you can't add Promo cards directly to your class deck).

Tanis O'Connor Pathfinder ACG Designer |
6 people marked this as a favorite. |

In a world without Iconic Heroes promo cards, you can only add cards to your deck from your Class Deck box unless instructed otherwise. Your Class Deck box contains no cards with the P set indicator. Therefore, you cannot upgrade to a P card.
The Iconic Heroes promo cards, as I mentioned in that blog post, will be allowed. The "instructed otherwise" for those cards will be added to the Guide in the near future. We haven't written official language yet, but if your character shares a class with the listed Owner of a card, you may add 1 copy of it to your Class Deck box. If your character is the listed Owner of a card, you can not only add it to your Class Deck box, but you can treat the card as if it has the Basic trait.
So if I'm playing, say, Flenta, I can use an item B or higher deck upgrade to put the Tankard in my character deck. If I'm playing Valeros, I can start with the Tankard in my character deck.
Is that clear to everyone?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Unless I am wrong and if a ruling on the boards by Tanis or Vic is treated for ACG as a ruling by John Compton and Mike Brock for PFS, what Tanis posted above is an official ruling until the guide is updated. Waiting for official language is not needed as the post is official and can be cited if any question arises.