Energy Channel Feat from ACG


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi all,
Looking for some clarification on this feat, as one of my players is interpreting it in a different way to me.
If your normal channel is 3d6 for example, does it add +6 point of energy damage, or +6d6?

I've scoured the Internet and can't seem to find certainty one way or the other, and knowing the player they are likely to be argumentative

Thankyou


It helps to provide a link or the text of the feat.

Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature; Air, Earth, Fire, or Water domain or blessing.

Benefit: A swift action, you can expend one use of channel energy to grant your weapon attacks a bonus on damage rolls equal to twice the number of dice rolled for your channel energy. This additional damage is of an energy type determined by your domain or blessing: acid (Earth), cold (Water), electricity (Air), or fire (Fire). If you have more than one of those domains or blessings, you must choose one of those damage types when you use this ability. This effect lasts for your next three weapon attacks or until the end of combat, whichever comes first.

It's not exactly clear, but I'd read that to mean channeling 3d6 leads to bonus damage of +6 on your next three attack rolls, not +6d6. My assumption is that if they wanted you to roll your channel energy as extra damage dice, they likely would have said something about the dice.

I feel like there's another feat that's somewhat similarly worded where you add a static number equal to the number of dice normally rolled, but I can't remember what it is or if it actually exists (maybe I'm thinking of Devastating Strike, which isn't exactly on point).

I'm sure someone else will pop in to save my sorry backside.


That's how I read it too, but it's very unclear.

Sczarni

Energy Channel wrote:

You distill your channeled energy into your weapon to empower it.

Prerequisites: Channel energy class feature; Air, Earth, Fire, or Water domain or blessing.
Benefit: As a swift action, you can expend one use of channel energy to grant your weapon attacks a bonus on damage rolls equal to twice the number of dice rolled for your channel energy. This additional damage is of an energy type determined by your domain or blessing: acid (Earth), cold (Water), electricity (Air), or fire (Fire). If you have more than one of those domains or blessings, you must choose one of those damage types when you use this ability. This effect lasts for your next three weapon attacks or until the end of combat, whichever comes first.

If you normally Channel for 3d6, your extra damage using this feat would be +6.

It's equal to "twice the *number* of dice rolled".

Adding extra actual dice would be worded differently.

Edit: darn, Ninja'd by 2 minutes =(

Sczarni

fretgod99 wrote:
I feel like there's another feat that's somewhat similarly worded where you add a static number equal to the number of dice normally rolled, but I can't remember what it is or if it actually exists (maybe I'm thinking of Devastating Strike, which isn't exactly on point).

You're probably thinking of the wording of the original Whimsy Subdomain (pre-nerf), which had you rolling extra actual dice.


Does the wording on the feat which says you roll dice equal to the twice the number channeled not mean that you roll twice the number of dice that you channel, which would be d6 not a flat number?

Sczarni

How many dice are you rolling?

3.

What's double that number?

6.


Thanks guys, that was my interpretation as well, but just wanted to check I wasn't in the minority


If you want to add your channel energy dice to an attack, you want Channel Smite instead. Mostly useful if you channel negative.


Nefreet et al. are right


Can you read channelling force then re-read energy channel and tell me if they are the same feat please?

Sovereign Court

Betray bill wrote:
Can you read channelling force then re-read energy channel and tell me if they are the same feat please?

They're not the same feat but they do have the same mechanic. Energy Channel gives you 2x the amount of channel dice added (only the number) whilst Channeling Force gives you 1x the amount of dice added for a channel (again only the number and not d6s).

The caveat to Energy Channel is the prerequisites. You need a specific domain in order to take it.

Scarab Sages

Elf Life Oracle with a Phylactery of Positive Channeling?
At level 11, it would be +20 to the next three attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Energy Channel Feat from ACG All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions