| NewXToa |
So, in the rules on the Grappling combat maneuver, it says:
If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds.
When do I start applying the bonus? Do I apply it the round after I succeed the grapple check to begin grappling?
Secane
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Breakdown of grappling a Target -
Round 1)
You: You grapple Target successfully
Target: Tries to break free and fails or does not try to break free and decides to hit you instead OR enjoys being grappled by you and ask you to continue doing so.
Round 2)
You: Maintain your grapple with a +5 circumstance bonus on the grapple check. If you succeed you can perform one of the actions listed under the grapple rules.
Target: 1.- Tries to break free again and fails or does not try to break free at all = you continue to enjoy the +5 circumstance bonus on following checks
2.- If Targets break free, you don't get the +5 circumstance bonus anymore.
----------
Alternative flow of events:
Round 1)
Target: Goes first
You: You grapple Target successfully
Round 2)
Target: Tries to break free and fails or does not try to break free and decides to hit you instead OR enjoys being grappled by you and ask you to continue doing so.
You: Maintain your grapple with a +5 circumstance bonus on the grapple check. If you succeed you can perform one of the actions listed under the grapple rules.
-------
Hope this clears it up!
Secane
|
@The Fox,
Do you mean "What happens when my character can make more then 1 grapple check in 1 round?", which is possible not just with a maneuver master monk.
(Maneuver master monks can make a full round attack + 1 grapple attempt and a 2nd grapple check at lv 8.)
A straight up fighter with the right feats, Greater Grapple, swift grapple, could also make multiple grapple checks in 1 turn.
Standard - Grapple
Move - Maintain Grapple - Greater Grapple
Swift - Maintain Grapple - swift grapple
*So to your question* -
If a maneuver master monk make a full round attack + 2 extra grapples, they don't get the +5 to the 2nd grapple check, assuming the 1st attempt succeeded.
Why? - Cos the rule said "subsequent rounds". Not the next attempt to grapple. Unlike some disambiguate rules, there is no misunderstanding of the rules here. The +5 only kicks in on subsequent rounds.
*Disclaimer: There have been recent posts, suggesting the intent of Greater Grapple, swift grapple, etc is not to grapple a target multiple times in the FIRST round, but to MAINTAIN grapple in the subsequent rounds (And apply pin, damage,etc)
Just be ready for a possible FAQ on grapple.