Can 4th lvl pally cast 3rd lvl spells?


Rules Questions


So i have a Cha score of 16 which allots me 1 first lvl, 1 2nd lvl, and 1 3rd lvl BONUS spells. In addition, it says I can prepare and cast ANY spell if my cha score if >= 10+spell lvl.

Our group (me included) thinks its a LITTLE ridiculous that I could cast 3rd lvl spell at Character level 4, simply b/c of my bonus allotments. On the regular spell table it says im allotted 0 first lvl spells; does this mean I can only cast my bonus spells or does this mean I havent even learned higher spells yet and cant take advantage of my bonus allotments yet?

Thanks!


If the table has a "0", you can cast that level of spell only if you have a bonus spell available from a high ability score.

If the table has a "-", you cannot cast a spell of that level, even if you have a bonus spell potentially available from a high ability score.

A Paladin cannot cast 3rd level spells until 10th level, and then only if a bonus spell is available due to high Charisma (which is virtually guaranteed).

Sczarni

Relevant FAQ

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can 4th lvl pally cast 3rd lvl spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions