Wildshape and Dispelling Items


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can you dispel a magical item that's melded into the form of a wildshaped druid?

I assume yes, but I was curious about it from other's point of view, googling provided nothing, same with form search.

Thank you in advance.


Nope in my understanding, as you can't target it (no line of sight).

Prototype00


Though an anti-magic field would suppress them right?


Wouldn't an anti-magic field also shut off wildshape, making the point moot?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

A melded item while in Wild Shape can't be targeted (no line of sight) and can't be effected (no line of effect.)

Anti-Magic Field would shut down the Wild Shape, the item would be non-magical, and the dispel spell wouldn't work in the area.


While I agree with James Risner, this does make me wonder about Mage's Disjunction.
Would a sheathed sword worn under a cloak be unaffected as the mage has no line of sight to it?
Debate over which items are or are not affected could occur.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Mage's Disjunction says:
Area all magical effects and magic items within a 40-ft.-radius burst, or one magic item

Mage's Disjunction doesn't target, so I'd say it works on everything in the area if it is in the area.


Yes, but it's a burst.

"A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin"

Granted, it says creatures, but I'd think it'd apply to objects too.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Interesting

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wildshape and Dispelling Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.