Buckler Duelist 2 + Swashbuckler = Sword and Board with Precise Strike?


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 78 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

lets avoid the RAW vs RAI arguement, this clearly not a RAI situation, but I'm curious if this would be an option;

Precise Stike wrote:
To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand or use a shield other than a buckler.
Buckler Duelist wrote:

Buckler Bash (Ex)

At 2nd level, a buckler duelist can perform a shield bash with a buckler (use the same damage and critical modifier as for a light shield).

So I am not attacking with any weapon in my hand (as my Buckler is strapped to my arm) and I am not using a shield other than my Buckler.

Sound legit to you guys for TWF with Precise Stirke?

Shadow Lodge

yeah it works, remember there are even other ways to twf with precise strike, like with unarmed strike, spiked armor, wrist razors or boot blades

Sczarni

*headscratch*

How does "To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand" not apply here?

It seems to me that any form of TWF would eliminate Precise Strike.


If that were the case wouldn't Paizo just write "you may not Two-Weapon Fight while using Precise Strike?"

Sczarni

They did.

"cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand"


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm sorry, "cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand" and "cannot use two weapon fighting" sound different to me.

Sczarni

How so?

Scarab Sages

Monks, brawlers, and anyone else using unarmed strikes. Blade boots, Boulder helmets, armor spikes, and any other weapon that doesn't use hands.

Sczarni

If you're using two unarmed strikes, you are two-weapon fighting.

There's even an FAQ confirming that.

If you're using Armor Spikes in conjunction with another weapon, you are two-weapon fighting.

There is also an FAQ confirming that.

The Boulder Helmet is a light weapon, treated no differently from Armor Spikes.

The Beard and the Boot *are* different, but that's a different story reserved for a dozen more threads, and they are the exception, not the rule.

Scarab Sages

You are two weapon fighting, but you are not using a weapon in your other hand. And as for unarmed strikes, they do not have a limb associated with them. The deed states you cannot use a weapon in your other hand. It doesn't ban two weapon fighting.

Sczarni

Also, if you're newer here to the forums, I will inform you that there exists an unwritten assumption in Pathfinder (which the Designers used and still use when writing material) that a normal, bipedal, humanoid character has two "hands" worth of utility.

(notice the quotation marks)

This utility is used by designating your "primary" hand and your "off" hand to particular tasks.

If you're wielding a two-handed weapon, both your primary and your off hand are "used up".

If you're wielding two one-handed weapons, both your primary and your off hand are "used up".

"Hand" needn't be an actual, physical, hand. Wielding a Boulder Helmet requires a "hand" as well. Same for Armor Spikes and unarmed strikes with other parts of your body.

If you feel some unholy need to debate that, there are other threads that have gone on ad nauseum about it, and I won't continue that debate here. I'm just telling you how it is.

But however you parse it, Precise Strike will not work if you attack with another weapon.


The problem that was noted in another thread was what exactly "other hand" means.

Is it the literal hand, making TWF with rapier + Armor Spikes Precise Strikeable? After all, your "other hand" is empty.

Or is it the generic off-hand, making all TWF illegal but perfectly legal to attack with a rapier and then a claw in your other hand, as that's not TWF?

Or is it both?

Sczarni

THIS thread is also a good read regarding this topic. It garnered responses from two of Paizo's designers.

It's in reference to an older, but very similarly designed ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:

So I am not attacking with any weapon in my hand (as my Buckler is strapped to my arm) and I am not using a shield other than my Buckler.

Sound legit to you guys for TWF with Precise Strike?

No. The buckler can't normally be used to make shield bash attacks, but a buckler duelist can (at 2nd level), and does so as if using a light shield. Light shields:

CRB wrote:
Shield Bash Attacks: You can shield bash an opponent with a light shield, using it as an off-hand weapon.

They are dead-on accurate here, as, I hate to break it to you, shields used in both offensive and defensive applications rely most greatly upon the shield strap held in your hand. When use offensively, you literally do have a portion of your now weaponized buckler/shield in your hand. So, no, you can't do it, as you actually have a weapon in your off-hand, the rules (very properly) stating as much.


Diminuendo wrote:
I'm sorry, "cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand" and "cannot use two weapon fighting" sound different to me.
Nefreet wrote:
How so?

well different combinations of letters make different sounds, for example "hand" and "fighting" sound compleatly different.

"cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand" means that if I have a rapier in my left hand, I can't attack with a dagger in my right, but I can still kick people.

"cannot use two weapon fighting" means I can not use two weapon fighting.

Nefreet wrote:

If you're using two unarmed strikes, you are two-weapon fighting.

There's even an FAQ confirming that.

This says you can two-weapon fight with Unarmed Strikes, it doesn't say that my +6 BAB character can't puch someone for his first attack and kick him for the second. "Unarmed Strike" is the weapon, not "fist" and "foot." This isn't relevent to Precise Strike

Nefreet wrote:

If you're using Armor Spikes in conjunction with another weapon, you are two-weapon fighting.

There is also an FAQ confirming that.

This isn't relevent, I'm holding my piercing weapon in one hand, this FAQ was to prevent characters from 1.5x STR to damage AND and TWF at the same time.

Cebrion wrote:
No. The buckler can't normally be used to make shield bash attacks, but a buckler duelist can (at 2nd level), and does so as if using a light shield.

This is wrong; my Buckler does the same damage as a Light Shield, that is not the same thing as using my buckler as a Light Shield. Read the wording

My point was moreso that Precise Strike specifically makes and exception for Bucklers cancelling out Precise Strikes effects, so lets focus our arguements on how those interact insead of bringing in all this unrelated stuff.


It seems not too far fetched to assume that "attacking with a weapon in his other hand" implies an off-hand attack and one only every has an off-hand when one is using two weapon fighting.


It's a premise based on somantics; had they said Arm instead of hand, the situation would be reversed. Since your asking a RAW request instead of RAI, I'd say; run it by your GM. Some will say yes, some will say no.

Scarab Sages

And back to flurry of blows, you can make a full flurry attack with the same weapon. A Monk 1 / Swashbuckler 3 could make a flurry of blows with a siangham or unarmed strike doing piercing and be using two weapon fighting, but apply precise strike on all attacks, because flurry allows you to make all attack with the same weapon.

Regardless of any unwritten rules of virtual hands, Flurry allows two weapon fighting with one weapon, and thus bypasses the hand requirement.


Nefreet wrote:

Also, if you're newer here to the forums, I will inform you that there exists an unwritten assumption in Pathfinder (which the Designers used and still use when writing material) that a normal, bipedal, humanoid character has two "hands" worth of utility.

(notice the quotation marks)

This utility is used by designating your "primary" hand and your "off" hand to particular tasks.

If you're wielding a two-handed weapon, both your primary and your off hand are "used up".

If you're wielding two one-handed weapons, both your primary and your off hand are "used up".

"Hand" needn't be an actual, physical, hand. Wielding a Boulder Helmet requires a "hand" as well. Same for Armor Spikes and unarmed strikes with other parts of your body.

If you feel some unholy need to debate that, there are other threads that have gone on ad nauseum about it, and I won't continue that debate here. I'm just telling you how it is.

But however you parse it, Precise Strike will not work if you attack with another weapon.

THe fact that the "rule" is unwritten make imposilbe to prove your assertion.

Does precise strike requires a free hadn or a free methaphorical hand?, nobody knows. What was the DEV intentions? nobody knows.

Whoever that say otherwise and it is not a dev is just being dishonest.


So can I use Precise Strike and use my first attack to use a Rapier in my Right hand then use my iterative attack to use a dagger in my left?

In that case you are not using TWF, but are literally attacking with a weapon in your other hand.

Sczarni

I know it's difficult to understand.

It shouldn't be, but it is.

Iterative attacks are fine.

You are not using your other "hand".

In a real world situation, yes, you would be.

But not in the Pathfinder world simulation.

Shadow Lodge

Are we talking about a literal hand or the metaphorical construct of "offhand"?. Wouldnt it have been easier to say "you cannot make off hand attacks while ..(etc)". Now it depends on wether we are talking about one or two. RAW they are talking about "HAND", literal, and not "OFF HAND", so by RAW this works, of course that may not have been not RAI but thats what it is.

This is of course under the assumption pcs always have 1 offhand, something I agree with but some dont.


ElementalXX wrote:

Are we talking about a literal hand or the metaphorical construct of "offhand"?. Wouldnt it have been easier to say "you cannot make off hand attacks while ..(etc)". Now it depends on wether we are talking about one or two. RAW they are talking about "HAND", literal, and not "OFF HAND", so by RAW this works, of course that may not have been not RAI but thats what it is.

This is of course under the assumption pcs always have 1 offhand, something I agree with but some dont.

I would point out that Pazio only defines hand one way. Take that as you will.


kestral287 wrote:


I would point out that Pazio only defines hand one way. Take that as you will.

And what way would that be? I am not aware of anywhere in the rule books that explicitly defines what a Hand is, or for that matter what it means to wield a weapon.


NikolaiJuno wrote:
kestral287 wrote:


I would point out that Pazio only defines hand one way. Take that as you will.
And what way would that be? I am not aware of anywhere in the rule books that explicitly defines what a Hand is, or for that matter what it means to wield a weapon.

Main hand/Off hand.

Shadow Lodge

You are talking about "off hand", there is not a game term named "hand" as far as I know

Sczarni

2015 resolution:

Come up with an FAQ that states how we know the unwritten rules work.

So these sorts of headache threads stop happening.

Scarab Sages

I think a better resolution would be to write the unwritten rules as an official errata. That way, they are actual rules.


The sad part is I don't intend to ever use this build, my next panashe user is a Phalanx Soldier3/Daring Champion


It's almost like the hand vs. "hand" FAQ was incredibly stupid.

Or something.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
DominusMegadeus wrote:

It's almost like the hand vs. "hand" FAQ was incredibly stupid.

Or something.

Or reflects the difference between game design and balance versus simulationism.


ElementalXX wrote:
You are talking about "off hand", there is not a game term named "hand" as far as I know

That's exactly my point, actually.

Such as I am aware, in all of Pazio's rules, "hand" is only ever defined as main and off hands, or the two hands needed to use a greatsword et al. Thus it seems logical that "other hand" is referring to either main or off hand, as the "other" dictates.


You just said:
"Such as I am aware, in all of Pazio's rules, "hand" is only ever defined as main and off hands, or the two hands needed to use a greatsword et al"

You may want to consider revising that statement:

"The arm can manipulate or hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms (for example, allowing the alchemist to use one hand to wield a weapon, another hand to hold a potion, and the third hand to throw a bomb)."

I think it's pretty clear that sometimes a hand is just a hand.


Vestigial Arms are defined so insanely oddly under the rules that I really don't think you can consider them as a serious argument to make any sort of general case. That said, that is not any sort of rules text in the general sense, just explaining that yes, the arm can hold things-- and you'll note that it goes on to explicitly denote where it falls in relation to the defined main and off hands.

So yeah. I'm standing by what I said. Pazio's only ever defined "hand" in one general way.


diminuendo wrote:

No. The buckler can't normally be used to make shield bash attacks, but a buckler duelist can (at 2nd level), and does so as if using a light shield.

This is wrong; my Buckler does the same damage as a Light Shield, that is not the same thing as using my buckler as a Light Shield. Read the wording.

diminuendo wrote:

Buckler Bash (Ex)

At 2nd level, a buckler duelist can perform a shield bash with a buckler (use the same damage and critical modifier as for a light shield).

Ah, so the buckler just does damage and has the critical modifier of a light shield, and you're doing a shield bash attack, as the buckler bash rule states...but not really doing a shield bash attack because it is being done with a buckler, so you obviously can't use the light shield shield bash rules, because those rules only apply literally to light shields. And we can't use the shield bash rules for heavy shields, as that would be insane because they are huge! Doesn't matter that the rules for shield bashing for light and heavy shields are identical, with the exception of the words "light" and "heavy" in the descriptions, and there are no other rules anywhere else for employing a "shield bash" in the CRB. I guess they left them out.

But, yes, that is totally not the same thing. How silly of me, and how silly of the writers for referring to the buckler bash as a "shield bash" in the first place; something that is all too easily confused with the immediately recognizable term, "shield bash", the rules for which are clearly defined in the CRB in multiple places (but not for when you actually can use a buckler to do one, which you usually cannot). And then they equate the buckler with a light shield with regards to damage and crit modifier, as if that is some sort of point. What were they thinking? Their reasoning is unfathomable.

Might as well close the thread, as there is no answer to be had for a shield bash that does not follow shield bash rules because it is being made with buckler, which you can't use to shield bash normally, but in this case you can using the statistics of a light shield, but it doesn't use the shield bash rules for a light shield (and not any other shield bash rules in the CRB, because the only other rules there are is for heavy shields, and using those rules would obviously be insane, even though they are identical except for the word "heavy"), but some other utterly generic shield bash rules that they forgot to include in the CRB.

Yep, I am totally with you now. :P


Cebrion, you've marked my quotes as yours and yours as mine. Your whole post is a mess.

On point though, I never suggested a Buckler Shield Bash is any different from the rules for a Light or Heavy Shield Bash, what I said is that I was not using my Buckler as a Light Shield.

If I was using my Buckler as a Light Shield I could use Ray Shield with my Buckler, and that is not the case. If I was using my Buckler as a Light Shield I would gain my shield bonus to my CMD when I use Shield Specialization (Light Shield,) and that is not the case.

My ONLY point is that Buckler Bash (Ex) creates a new weapon called Buckler that does 1d3 damage, rather than changing my buckler to a shield.


*Light Shield


Which is fine, but the buckler still counts as an off-hand weapon, as all shield bash attacks do, meaning you can't make a Precise Strike and a shield bash in the same attack routine, as the former precludes the latter.

As to your ONLY point, the ability doesn't change your buckler into "buckler: the new weapon whose stats we purposely didn't put anywhere", but into "buckler: the tiniest of shields which normally can't shield bash, but which now can do so using the damage and crit profile of a light shield. It is however not new weapon with its own special rules of whatever you want them to be, but a weapon with stats just as you state them to be, and which can make a shield bash attack, the rules for which are clearly known regardless of whether you want to call a shield a heavy shield, light shield, or new weapon "buckler", the latter of which does not need to be changed into a shield because it is the smallest form of a shield (you may have noticed bucklers give a*shield* bonus to AC, as they are *shields*). You don't find rules in the book containing buckler bash for a new weapon "buckler", as there is no need to do so when they state to just use the damage profile for a light shield. The method of conducting a shield bash does not need to be mentioned at all either, as it works the same for all shield bash attacks. ALL shield bash attacks are considered attacks with an off-hand weapon. That's the way they work, and you wanting to ignore it by inventing the mythical "buckler" weapon and saying it is not a shield (which it is), and that obviously can't use the actual shield bash rules, but must use other rules that don't exist anywhere, won't change the fact that it is so. I get what you mean, but you are really reaching.

Paizo did screw up by copy/pasting the 3.5E buckler usage, which came from 3.0E, which is based on the fallacious descriptions of use in 2E and even in Unearthed Arcana 1E. When in use, bucklers are held in the hand, not let to flop about on the forearm in such a way that one would not have much hope of blocking much of anything. Strapped to the forearm, a buckler might deflect an arrow enough, but most attacks, even an arrow, will just spin the buckler around your arm when hit, as there is nothing...like a hand...holding it and keeping it from doing so; either the attack deflects up into your face, or down into your abdomen/leg- not exactly excellent locations to be hit/wounded! Bucklers can be slid up the arm (if they have straps and not metal or wooden handles), such that they are out of the way enough for a bow or crossbow to be easily used, but are still conveniently there to slide down to your hand in the event you need to drop your bow/crossbow and draw a weapon to defend yourself against enemies that have gotten too close to shoot at. The forearm position is not the position of use though. For those who don't know any better, as seems to be the case with pretty much everyone who ever wrote D&D rules for the buckler, here is an informative link:
13th century German Sword & Buckler Manual
A medieval training manual is a pretty legit source, no? Anyone could find this (among other things) if they bothered to look. The buckler really should be able to shield bash as a standard feature, but it can't. This is all just for information though, and has nothing to do with my point about the rules (the only point I am making here is that the buckler rules in (A)D&D in general have been horrible for literally decades).

Also, for some reason the quote within a quote didn't take, thus the quote foul-up.


Cebrion, short and concise areguements are great, you should try them.

The thing, about the Buckler using the Light Shields damage profile, but not being used as a Light Shield was not made to stregthen or weaken my position, (I honestly believes it does niether) I was just pointing out there is a difference.

The ThunderStriker Archetype actually uses a Buckler as a Light Shield when attacking, which would be a situation where a Buckler is treated as one.

The Katana and Urumi also have an identicle damage profile but they are still different weapons.

That whole second paragraph is all covering real world physics, which dont apply in Pathfinder. I would also say if we followed the rules of this paragraph then the ThunderStriker Archetype would be invadiated. we follow the rules written, not what sounds realistic.

Buckler wrote:
This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.

In retort, where does Precise Strike state that I can not make off-hand (which can be a bootblade, bolder helmet, ect) attacks while using it; by my reading it only disallows the use of another hand, with an exception for bucklers. (which is strapped to my arm anyway)


It's pretty clear that a shield bash is an off-hand weapon. That seems pretty RAW to me.

Scarab Sages

Jodokai wrote:
It's pretty clear that a shield bash is an off-hand weapon. That seems pretty RAW to me.

This: when making a shield bash, you are using your shield as a weapon. It uses the stats of a light shield, a light martial weapon.


again, where does precise strike say I can't use off hand weapons?

Scarab Sages

Diminuendo wrote:
again, where does precise stike say I can't use off hand weapons?
Precise Strike wrote:
To use this deed, a swashbuckler cannot attack with a weapon in her other hand


my off-hand attack and my other hand are two differnt things. I could use a bootblade for an off-hand attack for example, whilest having nothing in my other hand.

Scarab Sages

Diminuendo wrote:
my off-hand attack and my other hand are two differnt things. I could use a bootblade for an off-hand attack for example, whilest having nothing in my other hand.

The shield is specifically on your off hand, not strapped to your foot.


it's actually strapped to my arm. Not in my hand.


DominusMegadeus wrote:

It's almost like the hand vs. "hand" FAQ was incredibly stupid.

Most FAQs for complex problems have been stupid so far.

Don't know is it is because they make FAQ decisions too quick because they don't net them money or if they are just not as good at correcting mistakes as they are at making new stuff.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Diminuendo wrote:
it's actually strapped to my arm. Not in my hand.

You came to the forums and asked, we answered. You don't like our answer then do what you really wanted to do anyway. I think you being pedantic, and you know what the rules really mean but they go against what you want to do and aren't really asking if it's legal, you're asking us to find a loop hole.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

kestral 287 and others: It doesn't matter if they're the ones who originally defined it; they clearly use the "ordinary" definition of hand on many occasions:

Forty-Seven Examples:

"This means that a monk may make unarmed strikes with his hands full."

"Despite the name of this ability, a paladin only needs one free hand to use this ability."

"If a wizard attempts to cast a spell without his bonded object worn or in hand, he must make a concentration check or lose the spell."

"Such spells can also be cast even if the caster’s hands are bound or he is grappling (although concentration checks still apply normally)."

"Any surface with adequate handholds and footholds (natural or artificial), such as a very rough natural rock surface or a tree, or an unknotted rope, or pulling yourself up when dangling by your hands."

"You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand."

"Guide with Knees: You can guide your mount with your knees so you can use both hands in combat."

"You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat."

"you must use two hands to load a new case of bolts."

"Loading a sling is a move action that requires two hands and provokes attacks of opportunity."

"Loading a half ling sling staff is a move action that requires two hands and provokes attacks of opportunity."

"Hand not free to cast spells."

"(You can still cast spells with somatic components, provided that
your other hand is free.)"

"Shield, Heavy; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A heavy shield is so heavy that you can’t use your shield hand for anything else."

"Shield, Light; Wooden or Steel: You strap a shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it."

"You cannot bash with a tower shield, nor can you use your shield hand for anything else."

"You can carry a lamp in one hand."

"You can carry a lantern in one hand."

"For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword."

"To cast a spell with a somatic (S) component, you must gesture freely with at least one hand. You can’t cast a spell of this type while bound, grappling, or with both your hands full or occupied."

"Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action."

"Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action."

"If your attack exceeds the CMD of the target by 10 or more, the target drops the items it is carrying in both hands (maximum two items if the target has more than two hands)."

"Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll."

"Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself."

"Grappling or Pinned: The only spells you can cast while grappling or pinned are those without somatic components and whose material components (if any) you have in hand."

"Somatic (S): A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component."

"Item in hand (including weapon, wand, or the like)"

"Deal 1d8 points of damage + Str modifier to self with item in hand"

"This spell functions like ethereal jaunt, except that you and other willing creatures joined by linked hands (along with their equipment) become ethereal."

"The spell is automatically canceled 1 round after the weapon leaves your hand."

"The item appears instantly in your hand."

"If several willing persons link hands in a circle, as many as eight can be affected by the plane shift at the same time."

"No sooner do you hurl the flames than a new set appears in your hand."

"In order to report their findings, the eyes must return to your hand."

"The subject’s severed body members (fingers, toes, hands, feet, arms, legs, tails, or even heads of multiheaded creatures), broken bones, and ruined organs grow back."

"The affected creature must have its hands free to climb in this manner."

"This instrument appears in your hands or at your feet (your choice)."

"The duelist does not need a free hand to use this feat."

" If the wielder who loosed it has an unoccupied hand, she can grasp it to end its animation as a free action."

"If the wielder who loosed it has an unoccupied hand, she can grasp it while it is attacking on its own as a free action;"

"Absorption requires no action on the part of the user if the rod is in hand at the time."

"To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the
general direction of the target or area."

"On command, one item held in the hand wearing the glove disappears. The item can weigh no more than 20 pounds and must be able to be held in one hand."

"The wearer becomes fumble-fingered, with a 50% chance each round of
dropping anything held in either hand."

"It suddenly appears out of nowhere in the character’s hand."

"A creature can grope about to find an invisible creature. A character can make a touch attack with his hands or a weapon into two adjacent 5-foot squares using a standard action. "


There were more, but I tried to pick the ones that I thought would be most clear. Oh, and that's just from the core rulebook. There are undoubtedly more examples from other books.

As you can clearly see, saying that "hand" always means "off-hand" is just nonsense.

The rules have two definitions. It's debatable which definition is being used in this instance, but there are definitely two definitions, and it is certainly plausible that, in this situation, a hand is just a hand.

Grand Lodge

NikolaiJuno wrote:

So can I use Precise Strike and use my first attack to use a Rapier in my Right hand then use my iterative attack to use a dagger in my left?

In that case you are not using TWF, but are literally attacking with a weapon in your other hand.

Precise Strike requires leaving your other hand EMPTY of weapons the entire combat turn, it doesn't matter if you're doing TWF or iterative, it's one hand, one weapon, if you want Precise Strike.

1 to 50 of 78 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Buckler Duelist 2 + Swashbuckler = Sword and Board with Precise Strike? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.