Warpriest sacred weapon


Rules Questions


Quote:

At 1st level, weapons wielded by a warpriest are charged with the power of his faith. In addition to the favored weapon of his deity, the warpriest can designate a weapon as a sacred weapon by selecting that weapon with the Weapon Focus feat; if he has multiple Weapon Focus feats, this ability applies to all of them. Whenever the warpriest hits with his sacred weapon, the weapon damage is based on his level and not the weapon type. The damage for Medium warpriests is listed on Table 1–14; see the table below for Small and Large warpriests. The warpriest can decide to use the weapon's base damage instead of the sacred weapon damage—this must be declared before the attack roll is made. (If the weapon's base damage exceeds the sacred weapon damage, its damage is unchanged.) This increase in damage does not affect any other aspect of the weapon, and doesn't apply to alchemical items, bombs, or other weapons that only deal energy damage.

At 4th level, the warpriest gains the ability to enhance one of his sacred weapons with divine power as a swift action. This power grants the weapon a +1 enhancement bonus. For every 4 levels beyond 4th, this bonus increases by 1 (to a maximum of +5 at 20th level). If the warpriest has more than one sacred weapon, he can enhance another on the following round by using another swift action. The warpriest can use this ability a number of rounds per day equal to his warpriest level, but these rounds need not be consecutive.

These bonuses stack with any existing bonuses the weapon might have, to a maximum of +5. The warpriest can enhance a weapon with any of the following weapon special abilities: brilliant energy, defending, disruption, flaming, frost, keen, and shock. In addition, if the warpriest is chaotic, he can add anarchic and vicious. If he is evil, he can add mighty cleaving and unholy. If he is good, he can add ghost touch and holy. If he is lawful, he can add axiomatic and merciful. If he is neutral (with no other alignment components), he can add spell storing and thundering. Adding any of these special abilities replaces an amount of bonus equal to the special ability's base cost. Duplicate abilities do not stack. The weapon must have at least a +1 enhancement bonus before any other special abilities can be added.

If multiple weapons are enhanced, each one consumes rounds of use individually. The enhancement bonus and special abilities are determined the first time the ability is used each day, and cannot be changed until the next day. These bonuses do not apply if another creature is wielding the weapon, but they continue to be in effect if the weapon otherwise leaves the warpriest's possession (such as if the weapon is thrown). This ability can be ended as a free action at the start of the warpriest's turn (that round does not count against the total duration, unless the ability is resumed during the same round). If the warpriest uses this ability on a double weapon, the effects apply to only one end of the weapon.

Does this line mean you can maintain the buff for free after using a swift action to start it?

The line implies you can enhance both weapons at the same time with two swifts.

Can you maintain sacred weapon as a free action?

Any clarity on this?

Sczarni

Round 1: use a swift action to activate 1st weapon, consume one round of the ability.
Round 2: use a swift action to activate 2nd weapon, maintain previous weapon, consume 2 more rounds of the ability.
Round 3: maintain both weapons, consume 2 more rounds of the ability.

I can't read it any other way.


Nefreet wrote:

Round 1: use a swift action to activate 1st weapon, consume one round of the ability.

Round 2: use a swift action to activate 2nd weapon, maintain previous weapon, consume 2 more rounds of the ability.
Round 3: maintain both weapons, consume 2 more rounds of the ability.

I can't read it any other way.

Right. I completely agree.

The only question is how is round 2 or 3 possible if you cannot maintain it as a free?

Grand Lodge

I read it like the Bane ability of the inquisitor, they activate as a swift first round and maintain as a free or end as a free.


It doesn't list an action to maintain, so doesn't it just last until you end it (as a free action) or you run out of rounds? It seems that way to me as the duration keeps running if it leaves your hand until you actively end it.


But will it stack with the magic weapon spell for the purpose of accessing their ability pool??


Jforst90 wrote:
But will it stack with the magic weapon spell for the purpose of accessing their ability pool??
Quote:
These bonuses stack with any existing bonuses the weapon might have, to a maximum of +5.

Yes.


Yeah... Activating is a swift action. Maintaining is a non-action. Ending is a free action. Straightforward enough.

The Exchange

Quick question... Does a lvl 1 warpriest sacred weapon count as magical? The discription sounds like it, but it doesn't say it... I know no bonuses till 4th level but is it magic, can it hit an allip for half damage?


Draknafiend wrote:

Quick question... Does a lvl 1 warpriest sacred weapon count as magical? The discription sounds like it, but it doesn't say it... I know no bonuses till 4th level but is it magic, can it hit an allip for half damage?

That's quite a thread-necro... no at level 1 it wouldn't count as magical for the purposes of hitting an incorporeal creature like an allip unless the weapon is already magically enhanced.

The Exchange

Will post on a new thread so can be found thanks

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Double post

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Warpriest sacred weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions