Crimson Jester
|
Um permanency means it is um permanent. It is also ways on. Duration become permanent as per the spell description. You can't turn it off and on with out say a wand of dispel magic or some such outside force.
Shrink Item:
Objects changed by a shrink item spell can be returned to normal composition and size merely by tossing them onto any solid surface or by a word of command from the original caster.
| KaeYoss |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Broen wrote:If you use Permanency on Enlarge person and Shrink item, does it allow you to use the effect whenever you desire?
Enlarge person, no. Shrink item, yes
What about enlarge shrink? You know, the spell developed for gnome and halfling psychiatrists to use when they have to treat humans who are afraid of little people.
| Bobson |
Shrink item would just suddenly make your gear too small for you to use. I think the question you want to be asking is whether you can have a permanent enlarge person, then use reduce person to return to normal size temporarily.
The answer to that question is that if reduce person is cast on someone under the effects of enlarge person, the caster has to make a caster level check - if they succeed, then the enlarge is dispelled, if they fail, the reduce has no effect. Permanency has no effect on this (a permanent spell is just as easy to dispel as a regular one).
ryric
RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32
|
The answer to that question is that if reduce person is cast on someone under the effects of enlarge person, the caster has to make a caster level check - if they succeed, then the enlarge is dispelled, if they fail, the reduce has no effect. Permanency has no effect on this (a permanent spell is just as easy to dispel as a regular one).
I'm fairly certain that no roll is required to use "opposite" spells to dispel...if one spell "counters and dispels" another it just works. Yes, that means your permanent enlarge person can be permanently smushed by a 1st level wizard with reduce person. Unless I've missed something I see no indication that the specific rules for dispel magic should be used.
| Omelite |
Bobson wrote:The answer to that question is that if reduce person is cast on someone under the effects of enlarge person, the caster has to make a caster level check - if they succeed, then the enlarge is dispelled, if they fail, the reduce has no effect. Permanency has no effect on this (a permanent spell is just as easy to dispel as a regular one).I'm fairly certain that no roll is required to use "opposite" spells to dispel...if one spell "counters and dispels" another it just works. Yes, that means your permanent enlarge person can be permanently smushed by a 1st level wizard with reduce person. Unless I've missed something I see no indication that the specific rules for dispel magic should be used.
Nah, dispelling another spell always requires a dispel check. Counterspelling (which is done during casting) does not ordinarily require a roll, but dispelling an active effect requires a dispel check AFAIK. I'll check up on that though. [Rules for dispel magic seem to be the only rules for dispelling at all that I can find, but I'll look on the forums for a bit].
| Grick |
I'm fairly certain that no roll is required to use "opposite" spells to dispel...if one spell "counters and dispels" another it just works. Yes, that means your permanent enlarge person can be permanently smushed by a 1st level wizard with reduce person. Unless I've missed something I see no indication that the specific rules for dispel magic should be used.
If he was just casting Enlarge Person, and someone had a readied action to counterspell him, then yes, they could use Reduce Person to counterspell it.
Assuming he's already cast Enlarge Person, then made it permanent, if someone cast Reduce Person on him it would be like normal, Fort negates. If he failed his save, both spells would be active, effectively canceling each other out for the duration of the Reduce Person spell.
| Bobson |
ryric wrote:I'm fairly certain that no roll is required to use "opposite" spells to dispel...if one spell "counters and dispels" another it just works. Yes, that means your permanent enlarge person can be permanently smushed by a 1st level wizard with reduce person. Unless I've missed something I see no indication that the specific rules for dispel magic should be used.If he was just casting Enlarge Person, and someone had a readied action to counterspell him, then yes, they could use Reduce Person to counterspell it.
Assuming he's already cast Enlarge Person, then made it permanent, if someone cast Reduce Person on him it would be like normal, Fort negates. If he failed his save, both spells would be active, effectively canceling each other out for the duration of the Reduce Person spell.
Normally, yes.
Stacking Effects (Spells with Opposite Effects)[/url]]
Spells with opposite effects apply normally, with all bonuses, penalties, or changes accruing in the order that they apply. Some spells negate or counter each other. This is a special effect that is noted in a spell's description.
Reduce person specifically says:
Reduce person counters and dispels enlarge person.
The first part of that isn't really relevant here - it can be used to counter an enlarge person as the enlarge is being cast. This is an exception to the usual "must use the same spell" rules. But since enlarge was cast a while ago, it doesn't help.
The second part is that it dispels enlarge person. If it suppressed it, then you would resume being large after it ended, but because it dispels it, you follow the normal rules for dispelling (i.e. the dispel magic spell).
| Bobson |
The reasoning is for a longspear for an elven bard. While I am in combat I wield the spear. Since he is not always fighting I wanted to shrink it when not in use to store on my belt.
Can you permanency shrink item on a magic weapon in pathfinder? <--real question I guess..
You might want to look at a glove of storing instead. The shrink item spell specifically says it doesn't work on magical items. You could permanency it on a non-magical item, but it'd still only last until restored to normal size the first time.
| thepuregamer |
this may not be exactly what you are looking for but since enlarge person is dismissible, if you count as the caster, you can dismiss a permanent enlarge person.
(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
I would say that although permanency changes the duration of enlarge person, enlarge person would still be dismissible. Though even if my interpretation is right, it would be a hefty waste of money to be dismissing permanent spells.
ryric
RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32
|
Nah, dispelling another spell always requires a dispel check. Counterspelling (which is done during casting) does not ordinarily require a roll, but dispelling an active effect requires a dispel check AFAIK. I'll check up on that though. [Rules for dispel magic seem to be the only rules for dispelling at all that I can find, but I'll look on the forums for a bit].
Maybe we just disagree on that point then. No group in my area has ever played that way (does not mean that we're right, necessarily). I see no justification to apply the specific rules from dispel magic to all spells that dispel a specific other spell. In other words, I've always interpreted that the dispel check is part of the rules for dispel magic, not for dispelling in general. Dispel magic is less reliable because it is so versatile. If you can find a rule that says dispel checks apply to all dispelling, please let me know. I'm always willing to improve my knowledge.
| Asphesteros |
Yea, I'm not able to find any rule saying that all dispells require a dispell check. Just the spell dispel magic references needing a check as far as I can find, but spell descriptions are the rules of the spell, not general rules. All spells that have the formula "this spell counters and dispels that spell" do not also state they require a check.
Only able to find in the general rules just the line: "Some spells negate or counter each other." (again no mention of a check)