Retrieve Item's Trigger - Standard or Free?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I have a question about the spell Retrieve Item.

http://www.archivesofnethys.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Retrieve%20Item

In the description, it says to summon the item that it was cast on, the spellcaster must say a word and snap his fingers. I assume this is a free action. I have a GM that argues that it is a Standard Action because it is similar to a Command Word. As far as I know, a Command Word is a very specific mechanic that is related to activating magic items that is considered a Standard Action. If there any official resource that clarifies what kind of action this is?

Somewhat similar to this discussion, is there any way I can cast Retrieve Item on a regular basis as an Investigator? Retrieve Item has a duration of permanent, but it does not persist between scenarios like Continual Flame. For this reason I need to be able to cast it without spending money or materials to keep it up on a number of items between scenarios.


unless specified otherwise, it reverts to standart action.

also:
apeaking a specific word and doing a specific gesture sounds awefully similar to command word activation either way


1. It doesn't specify the action type, nor can any be inferred with any real certainty; therefore, it's a standard action.

2. Wand + Use Magic Device.


shroudb wrote:

unless specified otherwise, it reverts to standart action.

also:
apeaking a specific word and doing a specific gesture sounds awefully similar to command word activation either way

Is there a specific resource that says this is the default?


somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.


Chess Pwn wrote:
somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.

The only reference to Standard Actions is for casting spells or command words for activating magic items. I am doing neither of those things. As far as I can tell, Retrieve Item sets conditions that are triggered by speaking a word and snapping your fingers (both free actions). Similar to how Explosive Rune can be triggered by reading it (also a free action).


Also if you're GM says it's that way then it is. If you don't like it talk and see if you can trade out the spell or something. It doesn't say it's any faster. And the closest thing to it takes a standard action, so I think your GM is fine to say that's how they'll run it.

Dark Archive

The action has already been spent by casting the spell, he's not breaking any action economy by triggering it as a free action. "Triggered" effects, like Contingency, Readied actions, Programmed Image, etc are are always triggered by whatever action the trigger-ee sets in place so long as he follows the parameters of the effects requirement. This spell makes no mention of an action-type requirement beyond the spells casting itself and therefore may be triggered in whatever manner the caster wishes so long as it involves a word and a snapping finger, as the OP says, free actions. So yes, however...

Your GM is still in the right here because it is his game. Don't argue with the GM, it's poor sportsmanship. State your case and if he still doesn't agree, then sportingly concede and offer to GM next time, you'll all have more fun that way.


SiliconDon wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.
The only reference to Standard Actions is for casting spells or command words for activating magic items. I am doing neither of those things. As far as I can tell, Retrieve Item sets conditions that are triggered by speaking a word and snapping your fingers (both free actions). Similar to how Explosive Rune can be triggered by reading it (also a free action).

To turn that around: Where is snapping your fingers stated to be a free action?

Dark Archive

blahpers wrote:
SiliconDon wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.
The only reference to Standard Actions is for casting spells or command words for activating magic items. I am doing neither of those things. As far as I can tell, Retrieve Item sets conditions that are triggered by speaking a word and snapping your fingers (both free actions). Similar to how Explosive Rune can be triggered by reading it (also a free action).
To turn that around: Where is snapping your fingers stated to be a free action?

Where is it stated to be a Standard action? It's a quick action with no function or consequence, no reason for it not to be a free action.

Shadow Lodge

I'm not sure where or if it's in the rules, but the terminology of it being called a "Standard" action isn't a coincidence.

Having said that, that's not a very well-worded spell. It says there's a 1 round casting time, but surely that's not how long it takes to do the "second part" of it. Speaking and clicking your fingers does sound like it's intended to be a quick action - probably a free action.


blahpers wrote:
SiliconDon wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
somewhere in the magic or magic item rules.
The only reference to Standard Actions is for casting spells or command words for activating magic items. I am doing neither of those things. As far as I can tell, Retrieve Item sets conditions that are triggered by speaking a word and snapping your fingers (both free actions). Similar to how Explosive Rune can be triggered by reading it (also a free action).
To turn that around: Where is snapping your fingers stated to be a free action?

Here

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Retrieve Item's Trigger - Standard or Free? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions