Ready an action to cast a spell, how much do you need to commit to?


Rules Questions

51 to 82 of 82 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Counterspelling has nothing to do with this discussion.

Readying to counterspell is governed by different rules, in a different rules section, than readying other actions.

Here is the entire section of the rules:

Ready wrote:

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

Initiative Consequences of Readying: Your initiative result becomes the count on which you took the readied action. If you come to your next action and have not yet performed your readied action, you don't get to take the readied action (though you can ready the same action again). If you take your readied action in the next round, before your regular turn comes up, your initiative count rises to that new point in the order of battle, and you do not get your regular action that round.

Distracting Spellcasters: You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell.” If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).

Readying to Counterspell: You may ready a counterspell against a spellcaster (often with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell”). In this case, when the spellcaster starts a spell, you get a chance to identify it with a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell level). If you do, and if you can cast that same spell (and are able to cast it and have it prepared, if you prepare spells), you can cast the spell as a counterspell and automatically ruin the other spellcaster's spell. Counterspelling works even if one spell is divine and the other arcane.

A spellcaster can use dispel magic to counterspell another spellcaster, but it doesn't always work.

Counterspelling is just not relevant to the discussion, as it has its own unique rules that do not apply to readying other actions, so let's stop mentioning it please!


Honestly there doesn't seem to be a non-contradictory answer to this question. I think it should be flagged for FAQ. Also, dot.


RumpinRufus wrote:

Counterspelling has nothing to do with this discussion.

Readying to counterspell is governed by different rules, in a different rules section, than readying other actions.

You're 100% wrong. Simply asserting the same thing over and over doesn't make it true. You must READY AN ACTION to counterspell. It's exactly the same action economy. The only thing that you get when you declare a counterspell is that you can "ruin" the enemy spell. Otherwise you're simply just using Ready to cast a spell --any spell you want when you "cast a spell".


KuntaSS wrote:
Honestly there doesn't seem to be a non-contradictory answer to this question. I think it should be flagged for FAQ. Also, dot.

There's absolutely no need for a FAQ. The rules are 100% clear and unambigious. What you have is a bunch of players/GMS who refuse to read the rules as written and want to insert restrictions where none exist.

I'll spell it out.

1. If I have a Standard Action, I can cast any spell that takes a Standard action to cast.

2. It is RAW that I choose the spell as part of the Standard action to cast a spell.

3. The Ready Action allows me to declare an action. NOWHERE does it say I must declare the spell. "Casting a spell" is an action and 100% satisfies the requirements for Readying an Action. Just as saying "I attack."

4. I can Ready a Standard action. That is a full Standard Action, not a foreshortened, truncated, 1/2, 1/3, 11/16 of a Standard Action.

5. If I can Ready a Standard Action, then I can "cast a spell" which means I choose the spell when I start the Standard Action. NOTHING in the rules contradicts this except people claiming otherwise.


I'm curious, do you also think "ready to use a feat" is a valid option as well, and then you could decide to Arcane Blast or Cleave when your conditions are met?

If "cast a spell" is a specific action, then "use feat" is a specific action as well.


RumpinRufus wrote:

I'm curious, do you also think "ready to use a feat" is a valid option as well, and then you could decide to Arcane Blast or Cleave when your conditions are met?

If "cast a spell" is a specific action, then "use feat" is a specific action as well.

Can you provide an example of a feat which uses a standard action and is not part of an attack action? Which is all I could find in a quick search.


Just a few examples of feats that are standard actions:

Arcane Blast

Cleave

Gorgon's Fist

Antagonize

If "cast a spell" is a specific action then "I ready to use a feat" would allow you to use any of those.


RumpinRufus wrote:

I'm curious, do you also think "ready to use a feat" is a valid option as well, and then you could decide to Arcane Blast or Cleave when your conditions are met?

If "cast a spell" is a specific action, then "use feat" is a specific action as well.

A "feat" is a meta-game term. The Characters have no concept of "feats." That characters have abilities and some of those abilities require a Standard Action to use. Any feat or class of feats or class of actions which require a Standard Action or less can be Readied.

Ready an Action wrote:
To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it.

"Casting a spell", 100% qualifies as specifying an action I will take. Show me one single place anywhere in the rules where it requires that you name the spell you will cast when Readying an action.

Counter-spelling 100% proves that I do not need to name the spell in advance to cast it as part of a Readied Action. Nor should, I because I get to take a Standard Action when I Ready and that is enough time to cast a spell from scratch.


RumpinRufus wrote:

Just a few examples of feats that are standard actions:

Arcane Blast

Cleave

Gorgon's Fist

Antagonize

If "cast a spell" is a specific action then "I ready to use a feat" would allow you to use any of those.

Interestingly enough, "use a feat" doesn't appear on the list of standard actions in the table. Having the feat allows you to choose that as an additional standard action, so yes, you would have to ready, "If he casts a spell, I will arcane blast him." or "If he moves within my reach, I will cleave him."

They are their own individual standard actions. "Cast a spell" is its own individual standard action.

I would allow you to say, "If he casts a spell, I will use a spell like ability" as that appears in the list. You could choose from your selection of spell like abilities after seeing what spell he casts.


"Use feat" is on the table under "Action Type Varies"


I'd say yes you can "ready to use a feat", but, it is under action varies. You would have to specify whether you are readying a standard, move, swift, or free action feat.

"If he comes in my reach, I will use a standard action feat on him!"


Tarantula wrote:

I'd say yes you can "ready to use a feat", but, it is under action varies. You would have to specify whether you are readying a standard, move, swift, or free action feat.

"If he comes in my reach, I will use a standard action feat on him!"

That doesn't work because the character has no concept of a Standard Action. The character has concepts of actions: Casting a spell, attacking, Intimidating, Disarming...

Player's can't specify/identify actions based on meta-game categories that their characters have no concept of.


Lacking any guidance on the matter from the rules or other sources (of which I have seen none), the description of counterspelling suggests you have the ability to choose the spell when your trigger occurs. The rules are meant to model the reality of the game world, which doesn't change just because you're using a different part of an abstracted ruleset. It fits the flavor of the abilities and the 'physics' of the game world. Consistency in flavor is important. Don't be the lawyer of the group.


N N 959 wrote:

That doesn't work because the character has no concept of a Standard Action. The character has concepts of actions: Casting a spell, attacking, Intimidating, Disarming...

Player's can't specify/identify actions based on meta-game categories that their characters have no concept of.

Players can absolutely specify/identify actions based on meta-game concepts. That's the point of the player doing it. The Character has no idea what a standard action is, but the player states what the character is readying an action for, and what action he is readying.


Not in this context. The Ready Action is the character deciding to wait for an event and then choosing a course of action. That requires the character conceptualize both the trigger and the resulting action. Neither the trigger event nor the action can be contingent on meta-game events/categories unknown to the character. You can't say,

"At 5 PM, my character attacks."

"When the GM rolls the die, I attack."

"When someone uses a swift action, I cast."

"When someone rolls higher than a 10, I drop pone"

The Ready Action requires that the character be able to understand/perceive the trigger event and then elect to do something that the character can conceive of doing. The character cannot conceive of taking a Standard Action, any more then you and I can in Real Life. What the character does is "identify an action". As the player you can choose an action that can be completed in that Standard Action time frame or less. Theoretically, you can even start a Full Round Action as, per the rules, it would just complete in the following round.

It's important to recognize that the Ready an Action requires you to "identify" the action. Saying I'm going to do "something", which is what you're doing when you say you are going "ready a Standard Action", when the trigger happens is not identifying the action. The player must identify the act the character is take.

Now, there is a lot of GM discretion in both the specificity of the trigger. There's even some in identifying the act. I can certainly see a GM requiring that you identify who you are going to attack or maybe even where you will 5' step as part of your attack. But I can also seeing a lot of leeway that the player can make those decisions after the triggering event. The trade-off is that you're getting to interrupt someone's actions...so that should come with some degree of restriction on what the action can be and how contingent your actions can be.


"It's important to recognize that the Ready an Action requires you to "identify" the action. Saying I'm going to do "something", which is what you're doing when you say you are going "ready a Standard Action", when the trigger happens is not identifying the action. The player must identify the act the character is take. "

I didn't say, "ready a standard action", I said, "ready to use a feat which uses a standard action". You have to specify the action you're taking, and "use a feat" is a valid action, which can be a number of different actions.

RAI: You should say, "i ready to cleave the guy when he is in my range" but RAW is, "I ready to use a standard action feat on him when he is my range".


Tarantula wrote:
RAI: You should say, "i ready to cleave the guy when he is in my range" but RAW is, "I ready to use a standard action feat on him when he is my range".

I'm not going to argue that either way. But I have no qualms about a GM nixing that and requiring the action be stated from the point of view of the character.


N N 959 wrote:
I'm not going to argue that either way. But I have no qualms about a GM nixing that and requiring the action be stated from the point of view of the character.

Would you require that a spellcaster "ready to cast a spell" or "ready to cast magic missile"?


Tarantula wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
I'm not going to argue that either way. But I have no qualms about a GM nixing that and requiring the action be stated from the point of view of the character.
Would you require that a spellcaster "ready to cast a spell" or "ready to cast magic missile"?

"casting a spell" is not a meta-game concept. Using a "Feat that requires a Standard Action" most certainly is.

King Arthur: Merlin, when they come through the door, cast some spell on them.
Merlin: Yes, your Highness. What are you going to do?
King Arthur: I'm going to use a feat that requires a standard action.
Merlin: ....


Merlin: "What are you going to do?"
King Arthur: "I haven't decided yet, but it'll take about three seconds!"


If I'm holding two weapons and I ready to attack someone who enters my threatened space, do I have to specify which weapon I'm using? That seems preposterous.

Do I have to specifically ready to trip? Or can I make that determination when I make the more general readied attack, just like I ordinarily can?

So why would I have to specify which spell I'm using? Seems silly.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have found that the GM's who want the most detail about your readied action are the most likely to metagame your action into nothing.


Why is it preposterous that you would have to specify which weapon you're using? Remember, you're readying to strike so quickly that you finish your attack before theirs can resolve. There is no time left for "decide what to do", which is why you have to specify the action ahead of time, instead of "I will attack or cast a spell or move".

You are physically balancing, or mentally preparing, such that you can act on a hair-trigger. If this wasn't the case, there would be no need to specify what type of action you are taking at all.


RumpinRufus wrote:

Why is it preposterous that you would have to specify which weapon you're using? Remember, you're readying to strike so quickly that you finish your attack before theirs can resolve. There is no time left for "decide what to do", which is why you have to specify the action ahead of time, instead of "I will attack or cast a spell or move".

You are physically balancing, or mentally preparing, such that you can act on a hair-trigger. If this wasn't the case, there would be no need to specify what type of action you are taking at all.

It happens in live sparring all the time. I'm waiting for my opponent to to an action. I don't predetermine what kind of kick I'm going to throw, or even whether I'm throwing a kick at all. I react to the opportunity that has presented itself.

Analogize it to an AoO. You do not have to pick which weapon you're using to make an AoO, so why would you have to pick which weapon you're using to make a readied attack?


RumpinRufus wrote:
Why is it preposterous that you would have to specify which weapon you're using?

It isn't "preposterous" it's just not written in the rules. So the rules say specify the "act." In other words, are you going to Attack or Withdraw? Are you going to shoot your bow or cast as spell?

Quote:
There is no time left for "decide what to do",

Where does it say that? It doesn't. Where does it say how much time I need to "decide" anything as a character? It doesn't.

Quote:
which is why you have to specify the action ahead of time, instead of "I will attack or cast a spell or move".

That's your opinion on why the rule has a specificity requirement, that's not a part of the rules.

Quote:
You are physically balancing, or mentally preparing, such that you can act on a hair-trigger. If this wasn't the case, there would be no need to specify what type of action you are taking at all.

Once again, you're making inferences without anything to support it. The worst thing you can do in Pathfinder is try to argue about what they rule has to be like X....because of reality. This game took a left turn from reality back when it decided Armor Class only makes you harder to hit. The first and primary function of the rules is to create a sense of fairness. A lot of people call it "balance" but that's a misnomer. Sure, the developers will throw out reality based rationales when it supports their artistic decisions and then they'll completely ignore all semblance of reality when it doesn't support their artistic decisions.

If I have time to not only recognize a spell and then cast that spell in Standard Action. Then I can clearly choose my spell as part of the Standard Action I readied when I stated I was going to "cast a spell". Perhaps a house-rule compromise for you is to require that they name the contingencies under which they'd cast each spell.


Quote:

It happens in live sparring all the time. I'm waiting for my opponent to to an action. I don't predetermine what kind of kick I'm going to throw, or even whether I'm throwing a kick at all. I react to the opportunity that has presented itself.

Analogize it to an AoO. You do not have to pick which weapon you're using to make an AoO, so why would you have to pick which weapon you're using to make a readied attack?

That works in-game as well. Ready to attack with an unarmed strike. It could be a kick, or a punch. But if you are holding a warhammer, you will balance yourself differently to prepare to smack them than you will balance yourself to kick them.

An AoO is when the opponent leaves themselves vulnerable, and you have time to react. As opposed to a readied action, when there is no "opening" and you can only perform your action by virtue of being exactly poised to perform that action.

It doesn't make sense that you could ready "I am going to kick or swing a sword or bite", or that you could ready "I am going to cast Magic Missile or Shield or Fireball or Haste" but you could not ready "I am going to swing a sword or cast Haste". IMO none of those are legal, it would be "I ready to swing a sword" or "I ready to cast Magic Missile", etc. Because that is the only action you are preparing to do, you can't have a hair-trigger reaction time doing multiple different actions.


RumpinRufus wrote:
Because that is the only action you are preparing to do, you can't have a hair-trigger reaction time doing multiple different actions.

How much time do I get to complete my Readied Action? - up to a 100% bonfied Standard Action.

How much time does it take for a character to decide which spell to cast?

You're whole argument is based on what you believe to be possible in real life. More often than not, that has nothing to do with why the rules work they way they do. The rules are not about reality, they are about fairness and the type of experience they want the players to have. It's not believable that Rogue would ALWAYS get sneak attack damage just because they are behind someone. But that's how it works in a game.

Quote:
It could be a kick, or a punch. But if you are holding a warhammer, you will balance yourself differently to prepare to smack them than you will balance yourself to kick them.

And who's to say that I can't balance myself to do both?


Here's a conundrum for you Rumpus:

What if I Ready an Action to counter-spell and I make the Spellcraft check and:

1. I don't have the same spell, but I do have Dispel Magic, can I chose to use Dispel Magic at that point?

2 I don't have the counter spell and I don't have Dispel Magic...do I not get to cast any spell at all?

3. I have the spell to counter, do I automatically have to cast it?


N N 959 wrote:

Here's a conundrum for you Rumpus:

What if I Ready an Action to counter-spell and I make the Spellcraft check and:

1. I don't have the same spell, but I do have Dispel Magic, can I chose to use Dispel Magic at that point?

2 I don't have the counter spell and I don't have Dispel Magic...do I not get to cast any spell at all?

3. I have the spell to counter, do I automatically have to cast it?

1) "Readying to Counterspell" has unique rules that don't apply to other readied actions, which you can read where I've posted them earlier in the thread. Short answer, due to the unique rules for the "Ready to counterspell" action, you can choose to use either.

2) Correct, you do not get to cast any spell if you ready to counterspell and can't counterspell.

3) No, the rules say "you can cast that same spell", they don't say "you must cast that same spell".

Once again, let me reiterate that "Readying to Counterspell" is its own unique rules section, and trying to apply counterspell-specific rules to readied actions in general makes no more sense than applying bull rush-specific rules to combat maneuvers in general.


Once again, the rules for counterspelling use the Ready an Action. Counterspelling does not change the action economy in any way, shape, or form. It simply allows you to ruin a spell with the same spell, which would not otherwise be possible.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This thread is special.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It was more special when it died 4 years ago. Less special now that's alive again.

51 to 82 of 82 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ready an action to cast a spell, how much do you need to commit to? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions