BAB vs weapon + ? Combat question.


Rules Questions


Looking at several monster cards, some have BAB+1 or +2 but also have a weapon that may say: "Mastercraft Horsechopper +5 (1d8)" for example.

Does that mean they get +5 (weapon) and +1 (BAB) to their attack roll against player AC?


ALSO - druid question. Im playing a game right now with a Druid with a Wolf companion. Do they both roll initiative? Do they both get to attack? Does the Druid need to roll to command the wolf?

Sczarni

Are both of these questions about the Adventure Card Game?


Sorry I didnt mean Monster Card - I meant monster table. The stats on a monster.

We are playing and adventure path and creatures have short swords +2 (1d4) with BAB +1 etc...

Radiant Oath

In general the numbers are the pre-calculated total- no extra math required.


Evilgm wrote:
In general the numbers are the pre-calculated total- no extra math required.

So the short sword +2 (1d4) isnt added to the goblins +1 BAB ?


Ceremony wrote:
Evilgm wrote:
In general the numbers are the pre-calculated total- no extra math required.

So the short sword +2 (1d4) isnt added to the goblins +1 BAB ?

Nope. All applicable modifiers are already included in the monsters attack line. You don't have to do any additional math. The same also applies to a monsters skills and saving throw modifiers as well.


The +5 is everything added together(Strength, Enhancement, BAB, etc) for a Druid it's up to you(if your the GM) for how initiative is handled(If the Animal Companion were to go first it'd have to delay until the Druid since it needs to be ordered by the Druid on what to do) the Druid for the most part doesn't need to roll to command the Wolf unless ordering it to attacked something like the Unnatural Aura Special Ability

Grand Lodge

Ceremony wrote:
ALSO - druid question. Im playing a game right now with a Druid with a Wolf companion. Do they both roll initiative? Do they both get to attack? Does the Druid need to roll to command the wolf?

Different GMs treat initiative of companions in different ways. I've given the player the option of either rolling once with the lowest initiative modifier between them, or rolling separately. Either way, if the companion is an animal and has no orders that seem to apply, it will delay for orders.

Both the druid and the companion get full rounds of actions.

You use the Handle Animal skill to control an animal companion. To summarise, the player needs to know what tricks the animal has been taught from the skill description. Commanding an animal companion to perform a trick that it knows is a free action, Handle Animal DC 10 with a +4 bonus for the Link ability. If it's not his animal companion, isn't trained for what he wants it to do, or is injured, it becomes more difficult.


The AC is part of the Druid and thus acts on the Druid's initiative.


The rules say "each combatant" makes an initiative check. That would include the animal companion.

However, its usually just easier to allow the animal companion to go at the same time as the druid, if the GM is allowing the player to control the animal companion.

The druid does need to roll to get the animal companion to do what he wants. That is the entire point of the Link ability - it makes it easier for the druid to command his animal companion. It even applies to wild empathy checks, which is basically the diplomacy skill for animals. The animal companion is basically just another NPC. The GM should be controlling it.

Ultimate Campaign agrees.

Quote:
Nonsentient Companions: A nonsentient companion (one with animal-level intelligence) is loyal to you in the way a well-trained dog is—the creature is conditioned to obey your commands, but its behavior is limited by its intelligence and it can't make altruistic moral decisions—such as nobly sacrificing itself to save another. Animal companions, cavalier mounts, and purchased creatures (such as common horses and guard dogs) fall into this category. In general they're GM-controlled companions. You can direct them using the Handle Animal skill, but their specific behavior is up to the GM.

However, in my experience, most GMs just ignore this, and allow the druid to control the animal companion however he wants.


Thank you !!!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / BAB vs weapon + ? Combat question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions