
rexx2264 |
1. If I encounter a monster say with Lini, can I cast cure on myself prior to rolling the combat check. Asking cause the rule say only cards that effect the check may be played but not sure if you start the combat check the instance the monster is encountered or when you start gathering the dice you will be using to make the check with.
2. Can I cure someone at my starting location, move than explore. I see nothing where playing a spell falls into the turn order.

Hawkmoon269 |

1. No. The card is encountered the second you see what it is, and from then on you can't do anything but what applies to the encountering a card sequence.
And here is that sequence (the Skull and Shackles version of it):
Encountering a Card
Apply any effects that happen when you encounter a card.
Apply any evasion effects.
Apply any effects that happen before you act.
Attempt the check.
Attempt the next check, if needed.
Apply any effects that happen after you act.
Resolve the encounter.
And playing Cure doesn't apply to any of those steps.
2. Yup. No limit on that. You can play cure as many times as you manage to have the card in your hand and during any part of your turn after you flip the blessing deck until you reset your hand (with the aforementioned exception of during an encounter).

jones314 |

1. If I encounter a monster say with Lini, can I cast cure on myself prior to rolling the combat check. Asking cause the rule say only cards that effect the check may be played but not sure if you start the combat check the instance the monster is encountered or when you start gathering the dice you will be using to make the check with.
2. Can I cure someone at my starting location, move than explore. I see nothing where playing a spell falls into the turn order.
Generally you can play a spell at any time, except during an encounter. So your first example is a no-go but your second sounds good.
edit: ninja'ed!

nondeskript |

2. Yup. No limit on that. You can play cure as many times as you manage to have the card in your hand and during any part of your turn after you flip the blessing deck until you reset your hand (with the aforementioned exception of during an encounter).
Not quite accurate.
You can play cure as many times as you manage to have the card in your hand and during any part of anyone's turn after they flip the blessing deck until they reset their hand (with the aforementioned exception of during an encounter).
The rules specifically call out cure as an example of a card that you can play on another player's turn.

DangerFord |
I know I'm about a year late to the thread, but I just wanted to clarify some things. I was not aware that cure could be played at any time, even on another players turn, unless you are in the middle of an encounter.
Does this rule apply even after the reset step? So could I reset, draw a cure, and then use it immediately?
If so then that changes a lot of things drastically for me. It means that characters will stay fresh more often, I can use cure before I move, and I can cure during someone else's turn, healing any cards that may have been discarded to a recent encounter.
Am I correct in my understanding?

nondeskript |

I know I'm about a year late to the thread, but I just wanted to clarify some things. I was not aware that cure could be played at any time, even on another players turn, unless you are in the middle of an encounter.
Does this rule apply even after the reset step? So could I reset, draw a cure, and then use it immediately?
If so then that changes a lot of things drastically for me. It means that characters will stay fresh more often, I can use cure before I move, and I can cure during someone else's turn, healing any cards that may have been discarded to a recent encounter.
Am I correct in my understanding?
Not exactly. While resetting your hand, you can ONLY use powers/cards that say they may be used when you are reset your hand. You can, instead, use the cure once the next character has advanced the blessing deck and handled any start of turn effects/powers (effectively between the Advance the Blessings Deck and Give a Card steps).
So yes, you can use it before the next character moves or explores, just not while resetting your hand :)

![]() |

I know I'm about a year late to the thread, but I just wanted to clarify some things. I was not aware that cure could be played at any time, even on another players turn, unless you are in the middle of an encounter.
Does this rule apply even after the reset step? So could I reset, draw a cure, and then use it immediately?
No. You can, however, use the Cure on the next players turn. But not immediately after you reset your hand. That's considered after your turn but prior to the next player's turn. And you can only perform things that are specifically stating "After you reset your hand" actions.
If so then that changes a lot of things drastically for me. It means that characters will stay fresh more often, I can use cure before I move, and I can cure during someone else's turn, healing any cards that may have been discarded to a recent encounter.
Am I correct in my understanding?
Yes, you can cast it during other people's turns, not just yours. You cannot cast it during a combat nor before someone takes damage. However, after the encounter is done, you can cast it.