Shaman Battle Spirit


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Glancing over the Shaman and I noticed that Shaman's with the Battle Spirit ability grants a morale bonus to all of their allies and themselves. However, it does not say what kind of action is required to use it.

d20pfsrd wrote:
Battle Spirit (Su): A shaman surrounds herself with the spirit of battle. Allies within 30 feet of the shaman (including the shaman) receive a +1 morale bonus on attack rolls and weapon damage rolls. At 8th level and 16th level, these bonuses increase by 1. The shaman can use this ability for a number of rounds per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.

Every other Shaman Spirit Ability requires a standard action to use. Should Battle Spirit be a Standard Action as well? Or does it just kind of... happen whenever the Shaman chooses to?

Dark Archive

Was... was that a dumb question? I checked a few times, both in book and on PFSRD... o.o


If it doesnt say otherwise, always assume its standard. also, you're posting late at night on a long weekend. it will be slow

Dark Archive

I feel the ability is annoyingly vague. If it is a Standard action, why does it specifically state the the Shaman is included? I guess for AoOs? And does the Shaman have to spend a Standard action every round? How do you maintain it? ETC.

...also, the original post was at 4 PM on a Saturday. That isn't late at all! :P

Shadow Lodge

Koujow wrote:

I feel the ability is annoyingly vague. If it is a Standard action, why does it specifically state the the Shaman is included? I guess for AoOs? And does the Shaman have to spend a Standard action every round? How do you maintain it? ETC.

...also, the original post was at 4 PM on a Saturday. That isn't late at all! :P

My guess is it's probably a copy paste error or something missed in editing. The shaman has a few places that seem suspect like that (check out lifelink for the life shaman). Hopefully a dev or someone will hop on with an answer and a source soon though man.


The shaman is included because it doesn't take a standard action to sustain the power and so the shaman can use it after the first round. If it takes a standard action to start it and free/no action to keep it going, then Battle Spirit is very close in power to the Prayer spell.

Dark Archive

That was my thought as well. It is kind of like a lesser Bardic Performance (since it doesn't increase in duration as you level). I assume until their is some kind of Errata, this is how I should play it in PFS?


That's how I've done my wizard's Foretell power in PFS and no-one has objected. Foretell has the exact same wording: "These rounds do not need to be consecutive."


I know that this post is 5 years old but... I have the same issue. Is there an official answer anywhere for this?

Lantern Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nucempow wrote:
I know that this post is 5 years old but... I have the same issue. Is there an official answer anywhere for this?

The only official answer I know is the Action Table which lists the following as "Standard Action":

Use extraordinary ability
Use spell-like ability
Use supernatural ability

So unless the ability states an exception, the default rule is "Standard Action".


Nucempow wrote:
I know that this post is 5 years old but... I have the same issue. Is there an official answer anywhere for this?

Yeah there's probably not going go be any word on it.

General rule is Standard Action unless otherwise stated.

I'd say activating it is a standard, maintain as a free action on consecutive rounds.


CRB Combat Chapter wrote:
Supernatural Abilities (Su): Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

As for maintaining the ability, it should probably say it's a free action, but the intent seems pretty clear based on similar abilities and the wording used.

I'm not sure why someone thinks the text regarding the shaman being included has something to do with the activation time, but text inside parentheses is almost always just reminder text. Even if that text weren't there, the ability would still effect the shaman, as you are always your own ally.


Since it doesn't state that maintaining the ability is an action, it is not an action. It just happens or doesn't, as the shaman desires.

Like Melkiador, I'm also confused about what the activation time has to do with the shaman being included. Unless that poster thought you had to spent a standard action every turn to maintain it...? We'll probably never know.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shaman Battle Spirit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions