Does the Dire Collar work on any creature?


Rules Questions


Simple question: Does the Dire Collar from the Advanced Class Guide work on any creature, or only creatures of the Animal type?

Grand Lodge

do you mean can a PC wear it?


PC, Improved Familiar, Cohort, what-have-you. Can anything that is not an animal benefit from it?

Grand Lodge

For reference:

Advanced Class Guide wrote:

DIRE COLLAR

PRICE 1,000 GP
SLOT neck CL 3rd WEIGHT 2 lbs.
AURA faint transmutation
This leather collar resizes to fit almost any size of creature. Once per day on command, the creature that fastened the dire collar to the animal can cause that animal to grow larger and more bestial. The collar’s
fastener must be within 30 feet of the animal to do so. The animal gains the benefits of an enlarge person spell (despite the normal targeting restrictions of that spell) for 1 minute.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS COST 500 GP
Craft Wondrous Item, animal growth


it says animal in the item so it has to be an animal.


I'd say only works on animals, by RAI and RAW. They'd have written "creature [or target] gains the benefits" instead of "animal gains the benefits" if the item was meant to work on anything.


It's badly worded, but animal only appears to be RAW and RAI.


What about a PC druid with Animal Soul?

Grand Lodge

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
What about a PC druid with Animal Soul?

I'd say it's up to the GM as the collar specifically says it can be "attached to an animal" and Animal Soul says "spells or effects". I'd allow it though. I mean, it would be pretty absurd to argue that RAW means you can't attach a collar to your neck. But once the collar is on the druid it definitely would work.


Thanks BBT, I wasn't sure whether I was allowed to paste it from the book or not.

Dire Collar wrote:
This leather collar resizes to fit almost any size of creature.

It's clear that almost any creature can wear it, at the very least. The rest specifies animal for activation. I imagined it was probably animals only, but it was worth a check to see if there was a precedent for such things. I would imagine it does work with Animal Soul, so that's probably one way to get it on a PC. Even better, you could use the Greater version, which gives Animal Growth instead.


Yeah, if you have something that lets you count as an animal for whatever reason, then the collar would combo with that.

A L20 nature oracle probably has a better use for her neck slot item, though =P

I haven't a clue what Animal Soul is or does; didn't find it when I looked.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

A druid can't use activated equipment once they wildshape, as far as I know. I think you'd have to put it on after you changed.


It's a feat that lets you count as an animal for "spells and effects" with the prerequisite of having an animal companion or mount. Especially nifty for Cavaliers, if you have a collar for the Cavalier and the Mount, to increase both your sizes for a minute without even needing an action.

Grand Lodge

Pahlok wrote:
It's a feat that lets you count as an animal for "spells and effects" with the prerequisite of having an animal companion or mount. Especially nifty for Cavaliers, if you have a collar for the Cavalier and the Mount, to increase both your sizes for a minute without even needing an action.
PRD wrote:
Activating a command word magic item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

The part in the book about "accidentally activating command word magic items" is nonsensical fluff that doesn't work RAW. You can't "accidentally on purpose" activate something to turn a standard action into a free action.


Ah whoops, didn't catch that, thanks for the clarification.


So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.


Mythic Super Jager Overlord wrote:

So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.

Correct. But if you put the collar on a dire rat and activate it, it becomes even direr.

Grand Lodge

Mythic Super Jager Overlord wrote:

So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.

Right, because it's a monstrous humanoid and not an animal. Just like you can put the collar on your party wizard and it won't have any use on them.


Subparhiggins wrote:
A druid can't use activated equipment once they wildshape, as far as I know. I think you'd have to put it on after you changed.

If you have an ally fasten the collar on the druid, the druid can wildshape and then the ally can activate it - the collar responds to whoever fastened it on.


But would it work on the kuthite cleric?


blahpers wrote:
Mythic Super Jager Overlord wrote:

So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.

Correct. But if you put the collar on a dire rat and activate it, it becomes even direr.

Can we put two collars on it? I want a direst rat.

Silver Crusade

lemeres wrote:
blahpers wrote:
Mythic Super Jager Overlord wrote:

So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.

Correct. But if you put the collar on a dire rat and activate it, it becomes even direr.
Can we put two collars on it? I want a direst rat.

Direst rats? I don't think they exist.


Like a few items in the book, it looks like it was edited to start the explanation halfway through. It assumes an animal wearing it, so just go with that.

Some collars say "any creature" and I'll slap those on party members that don't have a neck slot available.


claudekennilol wrote:
Mythic Super Jager Overlord wrote:

So if I am reading this right,

I can physically put the dire collar on a dire corby, but the magic of the dire collar won't affect the dire corby, so I won't be able to use it to make a dire dire corby.

Darn.

Right, because it's a monstrous humanoid and not an animal. Just like you can put the collar on your party wizard and it won't have any use on them.

I disagree, it would make her look goth and fashion is everything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does the Dire Collar work on any creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.