SLA for dragon disciple?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

So could a wizard aasimar with the daylight SLA eventually qualify for dragon disciple ( using his SLA to qualify as spontaneous casting)?

Silver Crusade

No. Daylight is not a 1st-level spell.

If the wizard had a 1st-level spell as an SLA, then yes, as early as level 6.

This belongs in the Rules forum.

Grand Lodge

I believe you need the exact spell level in order to do things of this nature. I believe the elemental SLAs those Planetouched have are first level and would qualify you. This also belongs in the rules forums.

Scarab Sages

Flagged to be moved to the rules forum.

Scarab Sages

I figured I would ask here as it is a society character. Is there a feat that would do it?

Grand Lodge

Minor Spell Expertise gets you it at 7th level. I'll look for earlier entries.

Grand Lodge

If you can get a boon for one, Ifrits, Undines, and Sylphs all have first level arcane SLAs.

Scarab Sages

Jeff Merola wrote:
If you can get a boon for one, Ifrits, Undines, and Sylphs all have first level arcane SLAs.

Or, you know, gnomes.

EDIT: Or if the STR penalty bothers you, Wayangs get Ventriloquism, which is a level 1 SLA and don't have a STR penalty. If being small bothers you, that could be an issue, but on claws I think it's only a point of damage on average it'll cost you, plus you'll get a bonus to hit and AC.

Grand Lodge

Ferious Thune wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
If you can get a boon for one, Ifrits, Undines, and Sylphs all have first level arcane SLAs.

Or, you know, gnomes.

EDIT: Or if the STR penalty bothers you, Wayangs get Ventriloquism, which is a level 1 SLA and don't have a STR penalty. If being small bothers you, that could be an issue, but on claws I think it's only a point of damage on average it'll cost you, plus you'll get a bonus to hit and AC.

You'd have to be a variant gnome using the ARG, since by default their SLAs are cantrip, cantrip, cantrip, and level 1 divine. Both the Fell Magic and the Magical Linguist alternate racial traits work, though.

Sczarni

Liaria Saldiron wrote:
I figured I would ask here as it is a society character.

But this is not a PFS-specific question.

Many people confuse the two. Sometimes you'll find people asking about Prestige and Additional Resources questions over in the Rules Questions forum, and sometimes you'll have people asking general rules questions here, in the Pathfinder Society General Discussion forum.

If you could ask general rules questions here, there would be no need for the Rules Questions forum.

Scarab Sages

Jeff Merola wrote:
Ferious Thune wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
If you can get a boon for one, Ifrits, Undines, and Sylphs all have first level arcane SLAs.

Or, you know, gnomes.

EDIT: Or if the STR penalty bothers you, Wayangs get Ventriloquism, which is a level 1 SLA and don't have a STR penalty. If being small bothers you, that could be an issue, but on claws I think it's only a point of damage on average it'll cost you, plus you'll get a bonus to hit and AC.

You'd have to be a variant gnome using the ARG, since by default their SLAs are cantrip, cantrip, cantrip, and level 1 divine. Both the Fell Magic and the Magical Linguist alternate racial traits work, though.

You'd need the ARG or some additional resource for any of those other races. I'm just saying it's possible without a boon.

Scarab Sages

Ferious Thune wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
Ferious Thune wrote:
Jeff Merola wrote:
If you can get a boon for one, Ifrits, Undines, and Sylphs all have first level arcane SLAs.

Or, you know, gnomes.

EDIT: Or if the STR penalty bothers you, Wayangs get Ventriloquism, which is a level 1 SLA and don't have a STR penalty. If being small bothers you, that could be an issue, but on claws I think it's only a point of damage on average it'll cost you, plus you'll get a bonus to hit and AC.

You'd have to be a variant gnome using the ARG, since by default their SLAs are cantrip, cantrip, cantrip, and level 1 divine. Both the Fell Magic and the Magical Linguist alternate racial traits work, though.
You'd need the ARG or some additional resource for any of those other races. I'm just saying it's possible without a boon.

Sorry, that tone came across wrong, and too late to edit. You are, of course, correct. Fell Magic or Magical Linguist would be needed. I guess it depends on why the OP is going Dragon Disciple. Basing it off Wizard only, it may not be to go melee, in which case being small or having a penalty to strength wouldn't matter.

Wayang may still make more sense for the Int bonus.

Lantern Lodge

Don't Elves have an alternate class feature that gives them a bunch of SLA? I remember one of these SLA is comprehend languages, which is an arcane lv 1 (It also appears on divine spell lists, but the wizard/sorcerer spell list have priority for SLA.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / SLA for dragon disciple? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions