
bitter lily |

Great question! My temptation is to presume "Touch," but I sure hope there's an official ruling.
The hunter can also apply one of these aspects to her animal companion. Unlike with the hunter herself, there is no duration on the animal aspect applied to her animal companion. An aspect applied in this way does not count against the hunter's minutes of duration per day—it remains in effect until the hunter changes it. The companion's aspect can be the same aspect the ranger has taken on, or a different one. The hunter can select or change the animal aspects on both herself and her animal companion as part of the same swift action.
(My bolding.) Mind you, it might really be "Touch," but it does seem like some sort of range would be nice...

Lintecarka |

There is nothing in the rules I would know of. Logic dictates the companion needs to be able to perceive you in some way, as you don't share a supernatural bond in the way wizards do with their familiars. But I think when you are in a position to use handle animal, switching the focus should be fine as well.

PiccoloBard |

You do from level 4 on: Improved Empathic Link
…Though animal companions aren't as intelligent as familiars, which probably has some effect on the link.

Nox Aeterna |

Nox Aeterna wrote:I dont remember readin any range in it at all, thus there isnt a limit, be it 5 fts away or in another plane, you can change your AC focus.I couldn't find a range either when I looked. So that's the default, then? Any range. As a new PF GM, I appreciate the Q & the A.
If there is no listed range then there is no range limit.
Then again, i dont see why they would add one, melee hunter builds are already have access to much better stuff in the teamwork feats, no reason to create a possible issue for a ranged build.

GreenMandar |

bitter lily wrote:Nox Aeterna wrote:I dont remember readin any range in it at all, thus there isnt a limit, be it 5 fts away or in another plane, you can change your AC focus.I couldn't find a range either when I looked. So that's the default, then? Any range. As a new PF GM, I appreciate the Q & the A.If there is no listed range then there is no range limit.
Then again, i dont see why they would add one, melee hunter builds are already have access to much better stuff in the teamwork feats, no reason to create a possible issue for a ranged build.
No range listed doesn't necessarily mean no range limit, it could mean you can't use it at any range at all and must be able to in contact - "touch".
As always, there is one crowd that takes the "if the rules don't say you can't do it, you can" approach and another that goes with "if the rules don't say you can do it, you can't".While there is nothing explicit, The Range and Aiming a Spell sections under magic would indicate touch and possibly line of sight, but definitely not on another plane of existence.
I was hoping someone could point to something from another rule, such as another similar supernatural ability that would point in the right direction. Right now this is speculation.

Nox Aeterna |

Nox Aeterna wrote:bitter lily wrote:Nox Aeterna wrote:I dont remember readin any range in it at all, thus there isnt a limit, be it 5 fts away or in another plane, you can change your AC focus.I couldn't find a range either when I looked. So that's the default, then? Any range. As a new PF GM, I appreciate the Q & the A.If there is no listed range then there is no range limit.
Then again, i dont see why they would add one, melee hunter builds are already have access to much better stuff in the teamwork feats, no reason to create a possible issue for a ranged build.
No range listed doesn't necessarily mean no range limit, it could mean you can't use it at any range at all and must be able to in contact - "touch".
As always, there is one crowd that takes the "if the rules don't say you can't do it, you can" approach and another that goes with "if the rules don't say you can do it, you can't".
While there is nothing explicit, The Range and Aiming a Spell sections under magic would indicate touch and possibly line of sight, but definitely not on another plane of existence.
I was hoping someone could point to something from another rule, such as another similar supernatural ability that would point in the right direction. Right now this is speculation.
There isnt a listed standard range to (Su) abilities as far as im aware, which would make even comparing to any other such ability not RAW at all and neither is this a spell, thus it wont fit under those rules either.
Facts are:
1) You can use/change this ability under the rules listed in the book.
2) Under said rules that say how you can change it, no such range is ever listed.
Conclusion:
By RAW you can always change this like a swift action as long as you AC is alive. Seems simple enough to me, unless ofc someone can actually bring up a range for (Su).

GreenMandar |

Nox Aeterna, your conclusion doesn't follow from the prior statements.
No where in the rules as written does it say you can always change your animal companion's Animal Focus as long as your animal companion is alive.
It simply says they can be changed as part of the same swift action. It unfortunately doesn't list if this ability can be used at a range. We know what your interpretation is. Continuing to repeat it at this point isn't constructive.
Also I'm fully aware that Supernatural Abilities are not spells, however almost the entire chapter in the core rules on how magic works is subsections about "spells". Very little is said about Spell-like and Supernatural Abilities in the Special Abilities section at the end of the Magic chapter, as rather than rewriting the magic rules for each of these, they basically defer back the previous rules and then state how they are different.
"A number of classes and creatures gain the use of special abilities, many of which function like spells."
So generally, except for the given exceptions and when specifically stated otherwise in an ability's description, one should look to the magic chapter to see how they work.

Sundakan |

It doesn't say it can be used at range.
It also doesn't say it can be used by touch.
Clearly, the intent is that the ability can't be used at all, right?
Somehow I doubt that.
Su abilities are not spells. They do not follow spell rules. If they did, a range would be listed (Personal, touch, close, medium, or long).
It has no range listed because it isn't a ranged effect. It is simply something you do. It does not have a range any more than Wild Shape has a range.
IIRC there IS a general rule somewhere that abilities don't work across Planes unless they're explicitly stated to, but other than that there is no limitation listed or implied.

GreenMandar |

Su abilities are not spells. They do not follow spell rules. If they did, a range would be listed (Personal, touch, close, medium, or long).
It has no range listed because it isn't a ranged effect. It is simply something you do. It does not have a range any more than Wild Shape has a range.
No Supernatural abilities are not spells. But other than where stated otherwise or contradicted by the rules, special abilities and magic follow the rules in the magic chapter, see my previous post.
Wild Shape is used by characters on themselves, bad example. Almost every ability that affects another creature has some range listed, even regarding ACs and familiars.IIRC there IS a general rule somewhere that abilities don't work across Planes unless they're explicitly stated to, but other than that there is no limitation listed or implied.You may thinking this:
Unlimited: The spell reaches anywhere on the same plane of existence.This is relevant too.
Target or Targets: Some spells have a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined by the spell itself. You must be able to see or touch the target, and you must specifically choose that target.
Either just touch or unlimited, but with line of sight, seem the most logical interpretations.

Nox Aeterna |

We are not discussing RAI in the rules forum mate, you and me are talking RAW.
What is written is:
At 1st level, a hunter can take on the aspect of an animal as a swift action. She must select one type of animal to emulate, gaining a bonus or special ability based on the type of animal emulated and her hunter level. The hunter can use this ability for a number of minutes per day equal to her level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but must be spent in 1-minute increments. The hunter can emulate only one animal at a time.
The hunter can also apply one of these aspects to her animal companion. Unlike with the hunter herself, there is no duration on the animal aspect applied to her animal companion. An aspect applied in this way does not count against the hunter's minutes of duration per day—it remains in effect until the hunter changes it. The companion's aspect can be the same aspect the ranger has taken on or a different one. The hunter can select or change the animal foci on both herself and her animal companion as part of the same swift action.
If the hunter's animal companion is dead, the hunter can apply her companion's animal focus to herself instead of her animal companion. This is in addition to the normal one she can choose, and (as with a companion's focus) remains in effect until the hunter changes it instead of counting against her minutes per day.
Per RAW what is written is, you can change it as a swift action, it isnt listed a range at all, so per RAW it has none, you just need to spend a swift action to change it.
Mind you, the book clearly says you can do this, this isnt the case of it isnt said you cant do it, because again, you can read it per RAW and it says you can change it as a swift action.
What im going for here isnt RAI at all mate, it is RAW, so if you disagree im perfectly fine with it, all i ask is that you provide anything actually written to go against what is written in the books, like i did.
@Sundakan i will look into it, honestly i never needed such a thing for anything, like in this case i doubt this would ever be used too :P, but i will look into it anyway, thanks.

![]() |

Nox, again you are stating your interpretation and saying it's RAW when it's not.
RAW are silent on whether you can change Animal Aspect at a distance which is the problem here.
If "the book clearly says you can do this" then quote me that exact part. It's not in what you posted above.
RAW there is no range defined. Since there is no range defined, then the range is limitless per RAW. The problem with these types of cases, is that it leaves it to GM discretion to make a ruling, as it is not clearly defined.
But Nox is correct in the assertion that RAW has no range limit. RAW includes the omitting of information, like range in this case.

GreenMandar |

GreenMandar wrote:RAW there is no range defined.Nox, again you are stating your interpretation and saying it's RAW when it's not.
RAW are silent on whether you can change Animal Aspect at a distance which is the problem here.
If "the book clearly says you can do this" then quote me that exact part. It's not in what you posted above.
Exactly, that is the source of this dilemma.
Since there is no range defined, then the range is limitless per RAW.
Where in the rules does it say that when a special ability has an undefined range, you default it to limitless? Please provide that bit of text, it would be useful to the discussion and would clear things up.
The problem with these types of cases, is that it leaves it to GM discretion to make a ruling, as it is not clearly defined.
No disagreement from me there.
But Nox is correct in the assertion that RAW has no range limit.Just above it was established that RAW is undefined in regards to range
RAW includes the omitting of information, like range in this case.
What do you mean by this?

Sundakan |

He means that unless a range is listed, there is no range. Every ability with a range restriction has it listed in the ability. Usually this is 30 or 60 feet for Su abilities.
For some abilities, it's vaguer (anything that the user can see is a popular one).
For some, one is not listed at all. If it were Touch range it would have a limitation that says something along the lines of "The Hunter must be in contact with his Companion to change its Focus".