Summoners and Increasing CL


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

If an even-leveled Summoner is able to increase their effective caster level (say through the effects of an Orange Prism Ioun stone), are they able to use the next level of their Summon Monster SLA?

i.e. a 2nd level summoner can cast summon monster 1, would the increase in CL allow them to cast summon monster 2?


I don't think it'd necessarily allow him access to class features any earlier, but the ones he does have that are dependent on caster level will become more powerful. In the case of summon monster, the creature will stick around for an extra round.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, their Summon Monster SLA is based on their class level, not caster level.


No. It dosent work like that.

Sczarni

Just Caster Level, not Class Level or Character Level.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Nefreet wrote:
Just Caster Level, not Class Level or Character Level.

+1

So adding +100 CL doesn't open up any new class abilities or otherwise anything based off Character Level.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
GrayJester23 wrote:
I don't think it'd necessarily allow him access to class features any earlier, but the ones he does have that are dependent on caster level will become more powerful. In the case of summon monster, the creature will stick around for an extra round.

Actually, the creature would stick around for an extra minute, so it really won't make a difference in a typical combat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoners and Increasing CL All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.