When can you cast Cure on yourself?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


First off thanks to everyone that has answered all my questions and I really appreciate no one making me feel dumb. I really love this game and I currently have 3 games running.

My question is almost like beating a dead horse.

For this question I am referring to Lem.

there have been many times (because I can recharge my cures) that I get down to no cards.

so here is my question. The scenario is pointing at me

I have to draw 6 cards. I do so to get my two cures at the bottom of my deck. I now have no cards. When can I use those cure on myself or do I have to wait for my turn to come around?

I have been playing that if I have a cure in my hand and someone is at my location I can cast it but what if I just picked them up and ended my turn? can I cast it immediately on myself?

Cure should be pretty straight forward but for whatever reason I keep messing it up and at times I am wanting to cure myself but wait until it comes back around to my turn.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Barmace wrote:


Cure should be pretty straight forward but for whatever reason I keep messing it up and at times I am wanting to cure myself but wait until it comes back around to my turn.

You can cast it anytime except during an encounter. So this means that yes, you can cure yourself during not your turn. Technically you should wait for the next player to advance the blessings deck and do anything that happens at the start of turn, but in most cases it just makes more sense for you to be curing yourself (and doing the associated shuffling) while the next player is going on with his or her turn.

Edit: To be more accurate: You can't do it during the "Reset your Hand and End Your Turn" step either, but you had that figured out. The spells that you *can't* cast on another player's turn are ones that let you encounter cards, such as Detect Magic.


That does make sense but seem like cheating if I pull out 2 cures and then on the next persons turn I say "Hey I am gonna cure myself now" I do understand that I can cure anyone at my location, before the exploration and after the encounter once all the damage is dealt.

In essence to help those confused. If someone loses their hand and have no cards to draw up to their hand after the encounter. I can cure them and they will not die. If they are at my location that is.

Sovereign Court

Barmace wrote:
In essence to help those confused. If someone loses their hand and have no cards to draw up to their hand after the encounter. I can cure them and they will not die. If they are at my location that is.

Yes. You can cure someone at your location after they have taken damage from an encounter, but before they reset their hand.

In fact it is an excellent idea since they may just get back some of the cards they had in their hand that they want.


Barmace wrote:

That does make sense but seem like cheating if I pull out 2 cures and then on the next persons turn I say "Hey I am gonna cure myself now" I do understand that I can cure anyone at my location, before the exploration and after the encounter once all the damage is dealt.

In essence to help those confused. If someone loses their hand and have no cards to draw up to their hand after the encounter. I can cure them and they will not die. If they are at my location that is.

Yup. You can play Cure when it isn't your turn. But remember, you don't get to draw back to your hand until the end of your turn, so that will mean you hand will be short a few cards until that happens.

Going back to your first example:

Barmace wrote:
I have to draw 6 cards. I do so to get my two cures at the bottom of my deck. I now have no cards. When can I use those cure on myself or do I have to wait for my turn to come around?

Lets look at the Reset Your Hand part of your turn.

Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:

Reset Your Hand: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn; if a power allows or directs you to not reset your hand, you must still apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. You may play cards and use powers unless a power directed you to reset your hand and end your turn. After resolving these effects, you may no longer play cards or use powers for the rest of the turn.

Next, you may discard any number of cards. Then, if you have more cards in your hand than your hand size specifies, you must discard until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size. Finally, if you have fewer cards than your hand size, you must draw cards until the number of cards in your hand matches your hand size.

So, once you start this part of your turn, you can't play a card like Cure, because it doesn't relate to any "end of the turn" effect. That means you will need to draw 6 cards from your character deck (in your example you had no hand and a hand size of 6). If you can't draw 6, you character dies.

If you happen to draw a couple of Cure spells, you can play them as soon as the next turn starts. Right after the top card of the blessing deck is discarded.

So drawing cure while resetting your hand won't stop your death on that turn. But it can' revive your deck enough to save you on your next turn.


This is why there are cards in the game that state "If X happens (like failing a combat check), immediately reset your hand and end your turn". That prevents you from Curing someone who is going to die. That said, yeah you can only Cure someone at your location, and if you only have 2 cards in your deck and need to draw 3+, it doesn't matter what those 2 cards are because you're dead.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / When can you cast Cure on yourself? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion