Vic Wertz wrote:
this may be a dumb question but are we always on the ship...unless it is anchored?
I am doing my first scenario tomorrow I am a bit nervous about only the ship rules. The rest are pretty straight forward from playing ROTRL.
#1 what happens to the other Henchman that was in that location? He doesn't have to be faced?
#2 I thought so but for the flow of the game we took a vote. but reading the Scenario is confusing because we did face a Zombie Henchman at an open location which fulfill the requirement of them staying but I agree with you. ***Edit*** Doh misread the Scenario you are correct
Clarification of #1
another problem is the fact that you have to face a Zombie Minion before you can face the Villain so that also goes back to my question if the answer is NO? I.e. defeat the zombie he moves you defeat the villain he escapes to another location.
2 part question
Playing Scenario 1 of Skin Saw Murders.
the Scenario states When you defeat a Zombie Minion Henchman from a location desk, randomly select an open location and shuffle the Zombie Minion into that deck.
If I encounter the Zombie Minion a second time can I close the location. I.e. I have defeated him at 1 location and he has moved to a 2nd location can I close the location once defeated a 2nd time and move him to a different location?
IMHO, I have played Lini and my brother Valeros.
We are currently on Adventure Path 6 scenario 1
(we play on Skype) I set up the game and he pulls cards as I turn them over so that we can play together.
So he covers the top part of the character the Melee stuff and I cover the magic stuff. we pretty much get through it with very few issues but well balanced.
Lini goes with 4 heals and 2 melee spells
Valeros goes with weapons and armor
Mike Selinker wrote:
This interview went up a *lot* faster than I thought it would. We'll do a pre-launch preview, probably in a few weeks after we deconstruct Runelords set 6 later this week.
Mike have not seen you in person. You are so obviously in love with this game and are excited with the release of the game. I am very excited to play it.
It is very sad to announce that on Adv #6 Scenario #1 My brother Valeros will not be recharging his armor to take all damage. He is very frustrated but it is what it is. We will be playing again. I have to say Lini is an incredible character but I think that Lem is a better fit for me, because he can cast any spell (and keep it) and I believe I will like him more but I am only on A2S2. The part on the card that says you can recharge your cards when you reset your hand caught him. He is very sad about this mistake but I call our first game a Beta test to get all the kinks out.
That does make sense but seem like cheating if I pull out 2 cures and then on the next persons turn I say "Hey I am gonna cure myself now" I do understand that I can cure anyone at my location, before the exploration and after the encounter once all the damage is dealt.
In essence to help those confused. If someone loses their hand and have no cards to draw up to their hand after the encounter. I can cure them and they will not die. If they are at my location that is.
just to be funny.
My brother plays Valeros (Weapons Master)and it seems that he can take any amount of damage and not be harmed by simply recharging his armor.
Can anyone think of a time this is not true.
Disregarding the fact that the card says can not be reduced.
My brother gets cards like
before the encounter .... deal 1d4-1... damage
In all those instance he says "no big deal I will recharge my armor and take no damage"
it is in all cases fire, poison, mental, cold...he just takes no damage. again not if it states on the card that it can not be reduced.
First off thanks to everyone that has answered all my questions and I really appreciate no one making me feel dumb. I really love this game and I currently have 3 games running.
My question is almost like beating a dead horse.
For this question I am referring to Lem.
there have been many times (because I can recharge my cures) that I get down to no cards.
so here is my question. The scenario is pointing at me
I have to draw 6 cards. I do so to get my two cures at the bottom of my deck. I now have no cards. When can I use those cure on myself or do I have to wait for my turn to come around?
I have been playing that if I have a cure in my hand and someone is at my location I can cast it but what if I just picked them up and ended my turn? can I cast it immediately on myself?
Cure should be pretty straight forward but for whatever reason I keep messing it up and at times I am wanting to cure myself but wait until it comes back around to my turn.
The Item Summon Monster states for my combat check I discard the card to draw a random monster from the box and use the cards highest difficulty of the card as the result of my check no other cards can be used (shortening the exact wording). I use Holy Light as an example here are my comparison
as Lini (wild warden)
lets say i go all out and I get Succubus if I am lucky that would = 17 max or min would be Tickwood Boar = 8. Average monsters are 9 - 13. No other cards can be used.
Holy Light using any of my pets. is divine D10+2 (I am wis +1 divine +1)
so Damage is D10+2 + 2d6 + d4+4 = 32 max or = 10 min if I rolled all 1's
average would be around 20 ish
add just any blessing low Blessing of the Gods (I don't have it but trying to be fair with lowest I can) changes to 42 max or = 11 min If I rolled all 1's
average 20 - 30 ish
I don't see the point replacing Holy Light for this loot. I have other times where there would be even more damage inflicted by Lini if given a different magic card but thinking of replacing a spell for this seems foolish?
Am I reading the card wrong?
spell I have are 2 holy lights, 2 major cures, 1 mass cure, 1 scrye, 1 aid, and 1 swipe (took max spells when levelled) I don't want to get rid of this spell to replace it with Summon Monster
DOH! well to be honest I think I can prune out the ones we have encountered and my second group (which is much bigger 4 people) we will know better. My second group we have just started. The one I play regularly is just 2 people and we are on the second scenario of Sins of Savior.
Ok let me get this straight. You start "pruning out" basic's as you encounter them you don't remove them all at the start of Hook Mountain Massacre? I have 2 different people tell me different
1. Start of Hook Mountain you don't play with any basics remove them
which is correct.
We played Scenario 1 of Sins of Savior with no Basics and now I am thinking that was wrong :( throughout this on going adventure we have made a lot of mistakes but on our second try we will know better ;)
ok there is a debate about page 13 of the PDF from this website.
1. Henchman is defeated
bottom of page 13 says you can explore closed location
so we say that if no villain the stuff stays and it can be explored if 1-4 is correct.
some people say no defeat henchman, Perm. close the location, everything goes. I read it that everything goes but the villain if he is in that location and location stays open but everything stays if there is no villian and can be explored?
I hope this makes sense
short question what happens to the card on a perm closed location and there is no villain found?
Mike Selinker wrote:
Thank you wise YODA! :)
I am at lunch and here is the official answer you are correct
You may earn the opportunity to close a location in a number of ways.
I just wanted to explain why I think #1 seems unfair.
you just killed the henchman which completes 1 part of the permanent closing but you are not skilled enough to permanently close the location. I think the only piece missing is the location requirement. There are scenarios that add cards to your location thus makes it harder to close it if you have to completely empty the location before you permanently close the location.
again just looking for what the rules say about it. I have not found it but if someone points it out that would be easier for me to understand.
umm yea he didn't ask so when he said my turn is done and looked down he didn't have the cards and he was in a different location :)
Hawkmoon. you have no idea how true that statement is. I finished the last of the #1 adventure path solo because my buddy's monk didn't watch his draw pile and needed to draw 5 cards and only had 4 and he had, had his hand wiped out by thus died by the villain. I played and won but (not knowing the rule) I took up to 2 turns to cure because I would have 2 cure in my hand. This would had made the game easier for me because when I got down to 4 cards I could had taken 1 turn to cure twice :)
Again all I did was flip the timer twice and cure twice. again this makes things easier :)
Brainwave thanks for your input. on my first question can you tell me where it says that. I have been looking for a clear answer and I may have missed it. on #2 As Lini (and this could be wrong) I chose 6 spells 4 cures and 2 inflicts. So when I cure which it is usually 2 or 3 turns and I can cure. That example did happen that I had been curing and recharging the card at the bottom of my deck because with my pet I can add a d4 to any check with my wisdom as a d10 I can pretty much recharge every cure I cast. When I shuffled the last time it just so happened that I drew 3 cures. :)
To everyone reading this thanks for your kindness. I love this game so much but I want to make sure I play it right.
Hey first please remember this comes from someone who PASSIONATELY loves this game. Love is not strong enough.
here are my thoughts
The rules that you can use any boon are not clear. It bothers me that I didn't know that as a Divine user that I could cast Arcane spells. I know you can, and you have to banish it after, but I wish it were spelled out more clearly. (maybe it is) I am on my 4rth round of reading the rules and at times it is like digging for gold I find thing I miss :)
My thought process is that if you can only use light armor and you find heavy armour you shouldn't be able to use it. and that followed that if I were not arcane I should not be able to cast any arcane spells. Thanks Mike Selinker for the clarfication. Again I wish it were in the book clearer.
permanently closing a location is not clear also. (I have submitted a question on that already)
I wish I had sat down and really thought of all the issues I had with this game. There are not alot and they crop up durning gameplay and I forget them :) If I think of them I will add them. The game mechanic is great I just thing the rules can be a bit clearer.
I am playing the 2nd sceanario of Skin Saw Murders with a buddy and we are having a blast. I would say for those reading this there are times where for the sake of the game you have to create a rule that fits and lookup the rule later and if there is not a clear rule then use the one you created. I call that a house rule.
Hello I put this on Boardgamegeek but I wanted your opinion.
1. In permanently closing a location if I am in the same room and I have (for this example) a much better Wisdom can I close the location for someone else or does it have to come from the person’s turn. We have been playing that if you can not close the location then the turn moves to the next person they explore the location and then he can close it if he fails then the next person must explore and then attempts to close the location. I am talking about that we have already defeated the Henchman.
2. I have 3 cures in my hand. Tell me if this is correct. I cast 1 cure then if I don’t explore then my turn is done. Usually if I want to cast 3 cures I have to explore in between each casting? I am not sure If I can just cast all 3 or I have to explore between casting. I think for fairness you have to cast then do something then you can cast again. I also play that if I cast cure on an ally that I can only do that 1 on his turn and 1 on my turn i.e. 1 cast of cure per turn.
this is what you get for doing this at work. Is display like casting inflict you display the card then you can discard or try to recharge? I am sorry I am confused :) I didn't mean to put display and reveal together. again confused the 2 :)
Ok I would like to address a few of these questions.
1. display means to show the card and place it back into your hand. think of it this way display a sword to show you are going to use it then it goes back into the sheath. you don't use a sword once and "throw it way" same goes for a crossbow. I am just showing my logic. I use Lini and I use a pet and that pet doesn't leave me it stays until I discard/recharge it. ***edit see #2***
2. Yes because it goes back into your hand it does count towards your hand count. **edit page 22 on Cards Don’t Have Memories section it say it just stays on the table..so you don't put it back into your hand** but I would still say yes it does count....
3. you have to use a card to recharge it. I.e. you can't use the spell Inflict if there is nothing to attack it has to be discarded and can not be recharge. you have to either do what the card says, then you can recharge it as an option or you have to discard it. but you can discard as many cards as you want to draw up to you hand. if you can hold 5 cards you can discard your whole hand to get 5 cards to draw. but that is 5 points of damage so that is not adviseable
4 / 5. it is what is highest if it says Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Divine. If I have intelligence. then I rolle that but if I have a +3 arcane I add 3 to my dice roll. what it means is Intellegence or Arcane. This is so that if you don't have arcane you have a chance to get it.
6. when you come across this. You have to go into your box and pull out a monster at random face it and defeat it and the location is closed.
I hope this helps. I am no expert and I plan on putting in my own questions but I have played the game quite a bit and I have read the rule quite a few time. This is my perception of the rules. I say this because people my disagree with what I say.
Hey this is way out of the box. but in playing this I see SO MUCH potential. Please think about a Secret Agent themed game.
think about weapons
I have not given it much thought but Cyberpunk, Secret Agents, Space, Ninja. I hope you consider my idea's
There are so many things you can do with this. BTW I LOVE this game alot.
I will be looking at Skulls and Shackles but I was never really into Pirates.