Symbol spells, how to trigger them, confusion


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Very straight forward question here.

Can I trigger a symbol that I created?

from this line of Symbol of Death,

'You are automatically considered attuned to your own symbols of death, and thus always ignore the effects and cannot inadvertently trigger them.'

it reads to me that I CAN trigger my own symbol, but not on accident.

Grand Lodge

Bump


Yes, destroy the surface it is on.

CRB p356 wrote:
Destruction of the surface where a symbol of death is inscribed destroys the symbol but also triggers it.

Grand Lodge

But then where does it emanate from? The 2 pieces? Where I destroyed it?

Scarab Sages

You could choose not to attune yourself to it. "You are automatically considered attuned" That is, the rules are assuming you would attune yourself. This phrasing is not perfectly clear but seems to assume that you would want to attune yourself instead of dying. It's annoying that they didn't give each symbol it's own rules. Instead you have to try to apply rules from a harmful spell onto a beneficial spell.

The way I play my symbols of mirroring is that no one is attuned. I give each one a secret command word as the only way to activate it, then put the symbol on a banner attached to my weapon. Then at any time I can just yell the command word as a standard action and poof, everyone has a mirror image (including the baddies). It still is invaluable in combat and has saved my party several times.

Grand Lodge

I get how 'house rules' can clear things up, but we're trying to solve these issues for PFS play.


Are you trying to use symbols offensively?

Because this line

Quote:
You can't use a symbol of death offensively;

is probably going to get you a fight that you wont win.


The "you can't use a symbol of death offensively" line is intended to indicate that you cannot use it on a shield or weapon, set the activation to touch, and them make an attack with the shield or weapon and declare "it touched him so the symbol goes off!".

However, you can use them offensively in other ways by putting the symbol on an easily destroyed item and then destroying the item. I suggest paper.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Symbol spells, how to trigger them, confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.