Page of Spell Knowledge: When casting the spell do i use the item caster level or class caster level


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/m-p/page- of-spell-knowledge

I was playing a game the other game where i made a 1st level page of spell knowledge and was using herolab to do this. Hero lab was saying that it was casting it at level 1(was not using the up spell slots as well but that a bug for herolab).

it does say "she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known" but as we was not sure about it (mostly due to hero lab) we just rule at the time that it uses the item caster level.

I just wanted to check if that is right that i have to use the item caster level or if i use my own caster level and it just a bug or something with herolab.

I bug report this to them when i know if it right.

edit
i did not mean to flag it for the faq thing and no idea how to turn it off


Well let's look at the description:

Page of spell knowledge (From ultimate equipment)
This page is covered in densely-worded arcane or divine magical runes. It contains the knowledge of a single arcane or divine spell (chosen by the creator when the item is crafted). If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known. A page of spell knowledge is priced based on the spell's cleric or sorcerer/wizard spell level, unless the spell doesn't appear on either of those spell lists, in which case it is based on the highest spell level as it appears on any other spell list. For example, a spell that is on the 4th-level inquisitor list and the 2nd-level paladin list is priced as a 4th-level spell.

emphasis mine

My take on it is, you use your spell slot to cast...you are not using the item (activating an item)...so, it's your caster level, not the item...

basically, the item lets you add more spell to your list of spell known that you may then use to cast the spell...


The Page of Spell Knowledge does what it says it does.

It adds a spell to your spells known list for you as a spontaneous spell caster. After that, you can cast it as if it was your spell known. Meaning, pretend like you didn't have the item and you know the spell.

You cast it, using the proper DC for a spell of that level and at your caster level.


ok thx, i go send a bug report to them (bet they just copy the Scroll making code and did not fix it) I let my GM know about this bug so it working at full power from now on.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Page of Spell Knowledge: When casting the spell do i use the item caster level or class caster level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions