| MightyJim |
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I've had a dig through the forums, and can't find it anywhere.
On Seoni's card it says "For your combat check, you may discard a card to roll your Arcane die + 1d6 (☐ +1) (☐ +2) with the
Attack, Fire, and Magic traits. This counts as playing a spell."
does that mean that if the card I play is a spell, I can roll the relevant check to recharge it instead of re-charging? or does it just mean that I can't play another spell on this check?
| Hawkmoon269 |
It means that for all purposes, using that power counts as playing a spell. So you can't play another spell on the same check as that power. If you encounter a monster that says you can't play spells during the encounter, you also can't use her power. If anything happens or applies based on playing a spell, then it applies based on using that power.
But her power has no recharge check to succeed at, so there is no way to attempt to recharge her power. Just as she can't recharge Charm Person because there is no recharge check to succeed at.
And you can't attempted the recharge check on a card you discard for her power because you can only attempt the recharge check on a card if you play the card.
Doing something with a card that does not activate that card’s power does not count as playing that card. For example, if Kyra discards a spell to activate her healing power, it doesn’t count as playing that spell (meaning she also can’t recharge it).
You could substitute Seoni for Kyra and healing for fireball and get this: If Seoni discards a spell to activate her fireball power, it doesn't count as playing that spell (meaning she also can't recharge it).
Recharge: This explains circumstances under which you may recharge the card—put it on the bottom of your deck—after playing it;
And since you didn't active any of the powers on the card you discarded for Seoni's power, you didn't play that card so you can't attempt to recharge it.
| Alifera |
I can't find another relevant forum to ask this on. For Seoni's power in the class deck, it says: For your combat check, you may discard a card to use your Arcane skill + 1d6(+1)(+2) and add the Attack, Force, and Magic Traits. This counts as playing a spell. Are the attack, force and magic traits optional? We got in a huge discussion about this at my game last night. I say that it is optional, because it is a lot like Lini's and Sajan's powers to add fire/magic and those are optional as well. What do you guys think? Do you have any links to support or unsupport my question?
| Hawkmoon269 |
They are not optional. Seoni is hurling a magical fireball with her power. She can't make it not magical or not fire.
Sajan and Lini could previously use their powers without the extra traits before they took the power feat upgrades, hence why they can turn the traits off. i.e. Pre-power feats Sajan could punch the crap out of a monster with speed instead of Strength. He learned how to magically ignite his hands to do the same thing. But he didn't forget how to do it without magically flaming hands.
And Sajan and Lini were specifically changed to make clear that the traits were optional. Seoni's wasn't changed. Hence it is not optional.
The only time something is optional is when it is specifically worded to be so. You can ignore something that is impossible, but Seoni's power having those traits doesn't create an impossible situation.
Theryon Stormrune
|
If you take a look at Seoni's role for that version (class deck) of her, you'll see that Dragon Initiate is:
For your combat check, you may discard a card to use your Arcane skill + 1d6 (□+1) (□+2) (□+5) (□+8) and add the Attack, Force (□ or Acid), and Magic traits. This counts as playing a spell.
In this case you can replace Force with Acid. There is the "or" you were looking for. So her arcane blast can be Attack, Force, and Magic or Attack, Acid, and Magic. So if you choose that power feat, you can change the trait associated with the blast.
Hope this helps.
| Hawkmoon269 |
No, but only because the FAQ tweaked that.
As originally worded, yes they would always be magical and if you took the power feat for fire, they would always be on fire. (When you used the power at least. You can always not use the power, but if you wanted the +2 you have to take what comes with it. And originally that mean Magic and Fire when you took the upgrade.)