Recharging armor when you reset your hand


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm sorry if this has already been addressed. If an armor allows you to recharge it when you reset your hand, are you allowed to do so after drawing it as the last part of the 'reset your hand' phase?

Thanks


No, you have to discard before you draw. Some magic armor allows recharging instead of discarding.


Unless I'm mistaken, you can only recharge an armor when using it to mitigate damage. In other words, the recharge power only comes into effect when the card's power itself is used. Discarding to reset your hand does not use the armor's power.


Pixel Hunter wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, you can only recharge an armor when using it to mitigate damage. In other words, the recharge power only comes into effect when the card's power itself is used. Discarding to reset your hand does not use the armor's power.

Most magical armor has a power that allows you to recharge instead of discarding when you want/have to get it out of your hand during reset.


csouth154 wrote:
Pixel Hunter wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, you can only recharge an armor when using it to mitigate damage. In other words, the recharge power only comes into effect when the card's power itself is used. Discarding to reset your hand does not use the armor's power.
Most magical armor has a power that allows you to recharge instead of discarding when you want/have to get it out of your hand during reset.

Indeed? I stand corrected. Probably due to the fact that I haven't really played any characters that use armor. I.E. Sajan and Seoni primarily.


Pixel Hunter wrote:
csouth154 wrote:
Pixel Hunter wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, you can only recharge an armor when using it to mitigate damage. In other words, the recharge power only comes into effect when the card's power itself is used. Discarding to reset your hand does not use the armor's power.
Most magical armor has a power that allows you to recharge instead of discarding when you want/have to get it out of your hand during reset.
Indeed? I stand corrected. Probably due to the fact that I haven't really played any characters that use armor. I.E. Sajan and Seoni primarily.

Yeah, it is on some of the armors (not the basic ones) and require proficiency with the appropriate armor type as well.

Some armor cards wrote:
If you are proficient with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.

Its great for the characters that have more than a few armors in their decks, but don't want to have a hand full of armors.


It's the best thing about most armors, in my opinion.

Personally, I'd just give all armors the power:
You may bury this card to draw a card. You may use this power during an encounter.

...

Yeah, I hate armors, if you couldn't tell. XD

On topic, how Csouth worded it is best - think of it as recharging it instead of discarding it when you reset your hand. Just make sure you draw a card (even if your hand was too big).


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Orbis Orboros wrote:


On topic, how Csouth worded it is best - think of it as recharging it instead of discarding it when you reset your hand. Just make sure you draw a card (even if your hand was too big).

Orbis, I'm not sure that's correct. The text is "you may recharge this card when you reset your hand". Based on the FAQ, I believe you play the magic armor (by simply recharging it) before the discard and draw steps. Therefore, you won't draw a card if your hand was too big. I often will cycle an armor to avoid discarding a card.


Orbis Orboros wrote:
Just make sure you draw a card (even if your hand was too big).

Huh? No. All this power does is allow you to recharge the card instead of discarding it because you have to or want to while resetting your hand. It has nothing to do with playing the card and there is no requirement to draw unless you need to draw up to your hand size.


My bad, my bad, I was misremembering what it said - I was thinking they said "You may recharge this card to draw a card when you reset your hand."

This is most certainly wrong. Forgive my error.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Recharging armor when you reset your hand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion