
Hawkmoon269 |

Yes. Both would be done in the "Play cards and use powers that affect the check" step of Attempting a check. You can decide which order to do things with in that step.
That said, if the game doesn’t specify an order for things, you decide the order.
And also reveal is defined to mean it is right back in your hand.
Reveal: Show it from your hand then put it back in your hand.
Here is how Lini's powers work while attempting a check.
Attempting a Check
Determine which die you’re using.
Determine the difficulty.
Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional).
Assemble your dice.
Attempt the roll.
Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster.
Here is how Lini goes through it, if she's just going to use strength for a combat 8 check and plans to discard a card. She also wants to reveal that ally. We'll also pretend a fellow adventurer will play a BotG to help her. Lets pretend she has a +1 as a strength feat.
Determine which die you’re using.
She is going to use strength. It doesn't matter what the size of the die is yet.
Determine the difficulty.
Its 8.
Play cards and use powers that affect the check (optional).
Lini reveals her animal ally. Lini discards a card (which happens to be the same animal ally and is now back in here hand because of the definition of reveal) to activate her "strength of a bear" power. Lets pretend we still don't what size the die is yet, because it still doesn't matter at this point. Someone plays a BotG.
Assemble your dice.
Now Lini looks down and sees that, because of the power she used, she has a d10 for strength now. So she picks up a d10. She grabs a d4 for revealing that animal ally. And someone played that BotG, so she grabs a second d10 because that is her strength.
Attempt the roll.
She rolls the 2d10 + 1d4 and gets a 7. She also now has to "add any modifiers that apply to the check." Well, she has a strength feat modifier of +1, so she adds that and get an 8. Yay!
Take damage if you fail a check to defeat a monster.
She doesn't need to take damage because she did not fail.
So you don't need to know the size of the die until you assemble your dice. And you add modifiers that apply after you roll.

Pixel Hunter |

Initially I was going to say yes. But now I'm second guessing myself. I know Lini can reveal an animal ally to add a d4 to a check, and then play that same animal ally for its own power. But what you're asking is a good question. I think you need to convert your base die first (discarding the animal) before you can add the d4 (revealing the animal.) To get around this, just discard something else instead. I'm pretty sure that's how my wife plays Lini.
Edit: Seems my second guessing was wrong. Hawkmoon and csouth posted while I was typing. I'll have to make sure my wife knows she can do that when playing Lini.

Hawkmoon269 |

Initially I was going to say yes. But now I'm second guessing myself. I know Lini can reveal an animal ally to add a d4 to a check, and then play that same animal ally for its own power. But what you're asking is a good question. I think you need to convert your base die first (discarding the animal) before you can add the d4 (revealing the animal.) To get around this, just discard something else instead. I'm pretty sure that's how my wife plays Lini.
I understand. I second guessed myself on this a while ago too. Then I sat down and really thought through it. There is a thread on here about some of this.
Discarding to up her strength doesn't happen until "Play cards and user powers..." in attempting a check. He power doesn't say "For your combat check" so it isn't the kind of power that defines the skill. It affects the skill. So the reveal and discard happen as part of the same check, and you can choose what order to do them in. Obviously, if you reveal first you still have it to discard.
EDIT: Here is the thread I mentioned. Be warned it is quite long.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q4t9?What-is-a-die#34

csouth154 |
Initially I was going to say yes. But now I'm second guessing myself. I know Lini can reveal an animal ally to add a d4 to a check, and then play that same animal ally for its own power. But what you're asking is a good question. I think you need to convert your base die first (discarding the animal) before you can add the d4 (revealing the animal.) To get around this, just discard something else instead. I'm pretty sure that's how my wife plays Lini.
Nope. Like Hawkmoon said, Lini's power to replace her strength die with a d10 is played during the "play cards or powers that affect the check" phase, not the "determine the die you are using" phase. During the latter mentioned phase, Lini says "I'll use my strength die". During the former is when she uses her power to change that die to a d10.

Beargram |

EDIT: Here is the thread I mentioned. Be warned it is quite long.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q4t9?What-is-a-die#34
That is one of the threads I was making my way though. I think I will get all the rules down just in time for them to change for S&S. ;D
Thanks everyone for your help.

Beargram |

Nope. Like Hawkmoon said, Lini's power to replace her strength die with a d10 is played during the "play cards or powers that affect the check" phase, not the "determine the die you are using" phase.
I think this is where I was getting tripped up. For "Determine what die you are using" I was thinking I need to choose d10 or d4, not "Strength." Now that I realize I am really choosing what skill I am using at that stage it makes much more sense.
Thanks again.

![]() |

I have ben playing to the effect that if Lini using a d10 for strength, going all out animal:), she can not use any weapon for combat.
Am I doing this correctly?
It is not like Sajan's, where he can only use his Dex for combat if he doesn't play a weapon. Hers just tells you what die to use instead, not what cards can or cannot be played.