Swift AOO


Rules Questions


Can you take a swift action during a AOO?

Shadow Lodge

No - it needs to be an attack action.

To be clear, that's not a standard action (like casting a spell), but a swing with a weapon, an unarmed strike, or a combat maneuver.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Swift actions can only be taken on your turn. If the AoO happens outside of your turn (as they typically do), you wouldn't be able to use a swift action. Immediate action, maybe (depending on how the specific ability works), but not just a swift. If the AoO happens during your turn, you can take a swift action if applicable to the situation because it's your turn.


No. If you had an ability that you could activate as an immediate action you could use it when making an AoO. Otherwise, swift actions can only be taken during your turn.


I think all 3 of you are wrong.


an AoO is defined as "Not an Action" and isn't actually associated to any type of action.

there ARE however certain abilities that can be activated or trigger when you make an AoO, but they are ALL immediate actions AFAIK. in order to use a swift action it must be premeditated (meaning you planned it before hand) and an AoO is NOT premeditated. there is no possible way to combine one with the other.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I love this:

Post #1: Question
Post #2: Answer
Post #3: Answer
Post #4: Answer
Post #5: questioner simply refutes all answers with no reason given as to why.

I found it hilarious, at least.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darthslash wrote:
I think all 3 of you are wrong.

Nope. I'm right and the other two agree with me. 'Murica


Nefreet wrote:

I love this:

Post #1: Question
Post #2: Answer
Post #3: Answer
Post #4: Answer
Post #5: questioner simply refutes all answers with no reason given as to why.

I found it hilarious, at least.

me too....seems kinda pointless to ask a question if you don't want to hear the answer.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Darthslash wrote:
I think all 3 of you are wrong.

Which is unfortunate, as barring some interesting niche example, they have the right of it.

Immediate Action yes, Swift Action no.


Ok, I admit defeat after reading deeper. Poo

But Kazaan is still wrong about Flame Blade!


Then answer this, can you take a Free Action during a AOO?


If and only if the free action is associated with making the attack, such as drawing an arrow to make an attack via Snap Shot. And who brought up anything about Flame Blade?


free actions cant be taken outside of your turn, so it would depend on WHEN the AoO is taking place. if its on your turn, sure. if its not, no.


Yes, if the free action is speaking, or if someone has somehow provoked an AoO during your turn; no otherwise. I didn't see any support in the rules for Kazaan's theory but it make sense and I would probably allow it at my table. Free actions must generally take place during your turn (speaking is singled out as an exception to that rule).

Shadow Lodge

Rules, CRB wrote:
Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round.

Do you have a swift or free action kind of attack you can make as a single melee attack? Tell us about that and we'll be able to give you better advice.


I was just wondering if I could use this trip as a swift action during an AOO. But I guess not.

Aspect of the Wolf:
Aspect of the Wolf

School transmutation (polymorph); Level druid 5, ranger 4

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S, DF

Range personal

Target you

Duration 1 minute/level

When you cast this spell, you take on an aspect of a wolf, including some of its physical characteristics. You become more rugged, your ears become elongated, and you sprout sharp fangs and fur. You gain a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Dexterity, the scent ability, a +2 enhancement bonus on trip attacks, and can make a trip combat maneuver as a swift action. This trip attack does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


Nope. First of all, it's not a "free" action, it's a "swift" action. Second, "swift" actions are specifically spelled out as "only on your turn."

So unless someone's somehow provoked an AoO on your turn, no.


but guess what, once you cast that spell you can still make a trip as an AoO as a normal AoO because thats already allowed. a trip combat manuver is one of the few that are allowed as AoO's. so have fun :)

that being said, using that spell, you ARE allowed to make a trip as a swift action, then a standard (or full-attack) action to attack them on your turn and when they try to stand up on their turn make an AoO. then rinse and repeat.


Further to previous -- I think you're misunderstanding the spell.

You can always make a trip attack during an AoO, since you can make a trip attack as an attack.

What the spell lets you do is make an additional trip attack as a swift action -- if you normally get two iteratives, you get two iteratives and a trip. It's like a low-rent version of haste in that regard -- you get an extra attack during your turn.

But that extra attack can only be a trip attack -- you can't get three iteratives instead.

And because it's a swift action, you don't get an extra AoO out of your turn; if you normally get two AoO, you still only get two AoO.


i think he wants to use the one granted by the spell because it doesnt come with the incurred AoO from the target. basically with the swift trip from the spell he gets Improved trip to boot and he wants to use that when its not his turn.


Just to clarify, free actions can normally only be taken on your turn though there are some exceptions.

Speaking is stated to be a free aciton, and specifically includes a line about being able to do it when it's not your turn. This set the precdent that free actions can normally only be taken on your turn.

The other exceptions is certain free actions that are a part of an AoO are allowed, with the only known exception I can think of being drawing ammunition (normally a free action and not something you could do as part of an AoO) to make a ranged attack while possessing the Snap Shot line of feats. There was a discussion about it, in which the Devs clarified it was allowed as there was a hullabaloo about how the feat didn't work since you couldn't draw ammunition if it wasn't your turn.


Shield Slam gives a free Bull Rush when using a shield bash. This can be done as an AOO. Just an example.

Grand Lodge

Kazaan wrote:
If and only if the free action is associated with making the attack, such as drawing an arrow to make an attack via Snap Shot. And who brought up anything about Flame Blade?

I believe that they clarified/errataed drawing ammunition, at least arrows, as being not an action, rather than a free action.


Knocking the arrow (placing it to the bowstring) is a non-action. But the actual pulling of the arrow from the quiver is a free action.

FAQ wrote:

Snap Shot: Can a character with Snap Shot (page 119) and Combat Reflexes make multiple attacks of opportunity with a ranged weapon, assuming that loading the ranged weapon is a free action?

Yes. As long as you can reload your weapon with a free action you can reload your weapon as part of the ranged attack attack of opportunity you are making with the Snap Shot feat.

It explicitly refers to it as a free action which sets the precedent that a Free Action inherently involved with making the attack can be done as part of an AoO. That doesn't necessarily mean that other Free Actions not associated can be taken willy-nilly, though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swift AOO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions