Grazuul

JLendon's page

147 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Thanks, Dallium, for getting back to me. It took me a couple of days to notice.

Can you elaborate a little more on your answer to my 2nd question, please? Let's also assume no other opponents are involved. You're saying the overrun attempt doesn't provoke (due to Imp. Overrun), but the act of leaving my square to move the 5' necessary to enter the opponent's space still provokes from the overrun TARGET. So, no matter how close or far you start, an overrun will pretty much always provoke a movement AOO from your target.

EDIT- I think I see what you mean. The FAQ/Errata for Vicious Stomp mentions that the AOOs provoked by Gr. Trip and VS are not provoked in quite the same way, and thus they both give you an AOO. But Gr. Overrun and VS ARE provoked by the same action (target falling prone adjacent to you), so they would NOT STACK.


Thanks for the quick response. That is what I thought, but wanted to make sure. The Vicious Stomp feat is specifically called out for use with the Trip maneuver, but it seems like it would be even more suited to an overrun or bull rush.


I posted this question amongst others last night concerning Overruns, but no one wants to tackle them yet (http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2uzfo?Overrun-Vicious-Strike-and-other-Feats#1 ). But I'm hoping that someone will chime in on at least this question.

Can I use the Vicious Stomp feat in conjunction with an overrun (assuming success +5CMD)? Someone is telling me that the AOO gained by VS won't trigger because the target is falling prone in your same square instead of an "adjacent" one, as the feat requires. However, in the Core rulebook under Combat: Melee Attack, it says, "With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent WITHIN 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.)" I think that says that anything or any square from 0' to 5' of me is adjacent to me. Why wouldn't you be able to stomp on something that falls literally at your feet?

Vicious Stomp: Benefit: Whenever an opponent falls prone adjacent to you, that opponent provokes an attack of opportunity from you. This attack must be an unarmed strike.

Thanks. And if you get the chance look at some of my other questions and opinions on an overview of the overrun maneuver at the above-mentioned link and let me know if you agree or how I'm wrong.


On reading all the various thoughts on how overrun works (or doesn't) in conjunction with various feats like Vicious Strike, Spiked Destroyer, Charge Through, etc., I'd like to nail it down in order to present them to my GM when I bring a character in using them.

The Core Rulebook: p201 discusses the Overrun maneuver itself, and here are the feat descriptions:
Imp. Overrun: Benefit: You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing an overrun combat maneuver. In addition, you receive a +2 bonus on checks made to overrun a foe. You also receive a +2 bonus to your Combat Maneuver Defense whenever an opponent tries to overrun you. Targets of your overrun attempt may not chose to avoid you.

Greater Overrun: Benefit: You receive a +2 bonus on checks made to overrun a foe. This bonus stacks with the bonus granted by Improved Overrun. Whenever you overrun opponents, they provoke attacks of opportunity if they are knocked prone by your overrun.

Vicious Stomp: Benefit: Whenever an opponent falls prone adjacent to you, that opponent provokes an attack of opportunity from you. This attack must be an unarmed strike.

Spiked Destroyer: Benefit(s): When you succeed at a bull rush or overrun combat maneuver, you may automatically make an attack roll with your armor spikes against the target of the maneuver as a swift action, using your highest attack bonus.

Charge Through: Benefit: When making a charge, you can attempt to overrun one creature in the path of the charge as a free action. If you successfully overrun that creature, you can complete the charge. If the overrun is unsuccessful, the charge ends in the space directly in front of that creature.

First of all there is the movement up to a target creature I intend to overrun.
1) Can I use Acrobatics to try to avoid any AOO(s) caused by movement up to the target? Why not?

2) If I'm in an adjacent square to my target at the start of my turn, do I provoke an AOO from leaving my square (which normally provokes in any situation except a 5' move or withdraw) in order to attempt to move into the target's space (which also normally provokes)? In other words, does Imp. Overrun only stop the AOO that would normally provoke from attempting to use an untrained overrun, not the move?

3) If I'm using the charge action as part of an overrun, am I getting a +2 attack bonus (and -2AC) to any and all attacks I may make during my turn from things like: the attack roll for the overrun attempt; separate AOO's granted by both Gr. Overrun and Viscious Strike if I cause the target to go prone (CMD+5); a swift action attack using the Spiked Destroyer feat; etc.?

4) I'm pretty sure that I give up the actual melee attack I would normally get at the end of a charge in order to make the overrun attempt. But I've seen people say (mistakenly, I think) that I would still get it at the end of my overrun. But the only way to get that charge melee attack is if using the Charge Through feat in order to get to a second enemy that you continue moving in a straight line towards after overrunning the creature in between your target and where you began your turn.

Now, some questions on what can happen during the overrun itself.
1) Can I even use the Viscious Stomp feat at all in conjunction with an overrun (assuming +5CMD)? Someone is telling me that the AOO won't trigger because the target is falling prone in your same square instead of an "adjacent" one, as the feat requires. However, in the Core rulebook under Combat: Melee Attack, it says, "With a normal melee weapon, you can strike any opponent WITHIN 5 feet. (Opponents within 5 feet are considered adjacent to you.)" I think that says that your own space counts as adjacent, too. It is within 5' of me. Why wouldn't you be able to stomp on someone that falls literally at your feet?

2) Upon the successful overrun with a +5CMD, I think I would get the +4 attack bonus to hit the prone target at my feet with the AOO given with Vicious Stomp since it had to become prone to trigger the AOO. However, the AOO triggered by the +5CMD overrun with Gr. Overrun would not get the prone bonus to the attack since it was triggered by the overrun itself and interrupts before the creature goes prone. As for Spiked Destroyer, it's a swift action, so I'm not sure if it would get the +4 bonus or not. My guess is that it doesn't since it is also triggered by the overrun success, not the target becoming prone.

So, if anyone wants to tackle some or all of this, it would probably help all the others, like me, that are curious about how overrun is meant to work properly. Thanks.


Awesome, DM_Blake! Thanks for the detailed answer. It is as I thought, but wanted to make sure.


Maybe no one was up later last night to suggest an answer, so I'll bump this in hopes that someone will give it a try.

Thanks


Acid Spray: A spray of acid erupts from your outstretched hand, dealing 1d6 points of acid damage per caster level (maximum 15d6) to each creature within its area (Reflex half). This acid continues to burn for 1 round, dealing 1d6 points of acid damage per two caster levels (maximum 7d6) to any creature that failed its saving throw against the spell (a second Reflex save on the creature's turn negates this additional damage).

My question is: If a spellcaster fails his Reflex save vs this spell and takes the initial damage, and then on his turn wants to cast a spell of his own, does he add 1/2 the damage he took to his concentration check as if it was continual damage? He is supposed to roll another Reflex save on his turn. If he fails that, does he take the 2nd part of the damage at that time or on the Acid Spray caster's turn?

The spell is listed as an instantaneous duration spell, but then it says it can have a duration of 1 round with a failed Reflex save as it "continues to burn". If it does count as continual damage, does he add 1/2 of the initial damage he just took to his concentration check, or half of the secondary damage, or none of it?

Thanks


I think I read that Ghost Touch weapons can crit vs incorporeal undead. If that is true, then would an incorporeal creature that fails its save vs a Ghostbane Dirge spell, which practically gives all magic weapons the Ghost Touch ability vs it, be critable with them?


So, we're still left with a Mouser, using a rapier, for example, is not adding any weapon enhancement, weapon focus, etc. to his dirty trick hamstring CMB check, right?


I know you can use any weapon to make a trip, but you can't add any weapon enhancement, feat, etc. bonuses to the CMB check unless the weapon has the appropriate special feature; in this case "trip". There is no weapon with a Dirty Trick feature, so you'd only use your base CMB. If you have the Agile Maneuver feat you would get to add your DEX instead of STR.


I would normally agree, but both of the Mouser's previous abilities, Underfoot Assault and Quick Steal, specifically say that they don't provoke an aoo when used, and this one doesn't.

Also, Hamstring doesn't really say you're using the weapon to perform the Dirty Trick. It is a separate, swift action using...something, probably the weapon. I know that weapons generally have to have a special ability, like trip, disarm, or sunder, to be able to add weapon bonuses and feats to the CMB using them.


Hamstring (Ex): At 7th level, as long as a mouser has at least 1 panache point when she hits a foe whose size is larger than her own with a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon, she can as a swift action attempt a dirty trick combat maneuver check. Instead of the normal conditions that can be applied with dirty trick, this deed can only stagger the target if the check is successful. This deed replaces targeted strike.

Seems to me, it doesn't say it won't, so, without the Improved feat, it does.

And you'll still need the Agile Maneuvers Feat to use Dex for the CMB. You're not actually using your weapon to do the maneuver, so you don't get to add any weapon-based bonuses, right?


Hello, I was just going to post this same error message that I'm also getting. I am using Excel 2013.

Thanks


That's actually the version I was talking about. It looks like the last alpha version is from November. When I try to open it I get a message saying that there were some sort of problems. If I ignore them, it does open, but none of the data files get loaded.

Any idea when a beta version is coming out???


Hello, I was just wondering if there has been any work on this project since last November? I havent' been able to get it to work on my laptop running Windows 8. It crashes on startup for some reason. I loved the Excel versions, though I could see that it was getting a bit too much for Excel to handle. But it was the most indepth PF character sheet program out there.

I hope a workable version can come out soon. Appreciate the hard work.


Some further facts to consider are the rules for supernatural abilities: "Supernatural Abilities (Su): Supernatural abilities are magical but not spell-like. Supernatural abilities are not subject to spell resistance and do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). A supernatural ability's effect cannot be dispelled and is not subject to counterspells. See Table: Special Ability Types for a summary of the types of special abilities."

And they don't provoke AOO's.

However, I think I might agree that since it requires a touch attack, which can't be done while pinned, then it can't be used.


The description for the ability says it's a supernatural ability, not a spell-like ability. It's listed under the "special attack" section.

The full description: "Devour Soul (Su) By making a touch attack as a standard action, a devourer can deal 12d6+18 points of damage as if using a slay living spell. A DC 22 Fortitude save reduces this damage to 3d6+18. The soul of a creature slain by this attack becomes trapped within the devourer's chest. The creature cannot be brought back to life until the devourer's destruction (or a spell deflection-see below) releases its soul. A devourer can hold only one soul at a time. The trapped essence provides a devourer with 5 essence points for each Hit Die possessed by the soul. A devourer must expend essence points when it uses a spell-like ability equal to the spell's level (for sake of ease, spell levels for its spell-like abilities are included in its stats to the left in superscript). At the start of an encounter, a devourer generally has 3d4+3 essence points available. The trapped essence gains one permanent negative level for every 5 points of essence drained-these negative levels remain if the creature is brought back to life (but they do not stack with any negative levels imparted by being brought back to life). A soul that is completely consumed may only be restored to life by a miracle or wish. The save DC is Charisma-based."


Hello, Let's say I have a character that has pinned a Devourer via grappling. Can a creature with an innate touch attack ability--not a spell that needs to be cast with a concentration check--use it while being pinned? Does he even need to use his hand, or other appendage, to deliver it? Can it simply be delivered through the body contact? If it can, is there any penalty?

In this case, the Devourer has the Devour Soul ability, which is a standard action touch attack.


That's what I thought. Thanks


Hi, I've seen people trying out builds with this combo and was wondering if it is valid to use the Brawler's Close Weapon Mastery ability, which allows the shield to do unarmed strike damage, as a means to use the shield with the Pummeling Style feat. Is the ability changing the type of damage, or just the amount of damage? If it the type, then I think it would be valid. If it just a matter of which dice you use, then maybe not.

Close Weapon Mastery (Ex):
"At 5th level, a brawler's damage with close weapons increases. When wielding a close weapon, she uses the unarmed strike damage of a brawler 4 levels lower instead of the base damage for that weapon (for example, a 5th-level Medium brawler wielding a punching dagger deals 1d6 points of damage instead of the weapon's normal 1d4). If the weapon normally deals more damage than this, its damage is unchanged. This ability does not affect any other aspect of the weapon. The brawler can decide to use the weapon's base damage instead of her adjusted unarmed strike damage—this must be declared before the attack roll is made."

Pummeling Style:
"As a full-round action, you can pool all your attack potential in one devastating punch. Make a number of rolls equal to the number of attacks you can make with a full attack or a flurry of blows (your choice) with the normal attack bonus for each attack. For each roll that is a hit, you deal the normal amount of damage, adding it to any damage the attack has already dealt from previous rolls (if any). If any of the attack rolls are critical threats, make one confirmation roll for the entire attack at your highest base attack bonus. If it succeeds, the entire attack is a confirmed critical hit. You can only use Pummeling Style with unarmed strikes (see errata at right)."


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi, the Strangler archetype has the Strangle ability, which replaces the Brawler's Unarmed Strike and Brawler's Fury abilities. But, then later, it gets the Close Weapon Mastery ability which gives it a Brawler's unarmed strike damage minus 4 levels when wielding a close weapon, the group which includes unarmed strikes. Does this give you back the Brawler's Unarmed Strike damage ability at a -4 level instead of 1d3 base damage? I think it's intended to be used with close weapons besides UAS. Are UAS's wielded? Maybe that is the important factor.

"Strangle: At 1st level, a strangler deals +1d6 sneak attack damage whenever she succeeds at a grapple check to damage or pin an opponent. The strangler is always considered flanking her target for the purpose of using this ability. This damage increases by +1d6 at 2nd, 8th and 15th levels. This ability replaces unarmed strike and brawler's flurry."

"Close Weapon Mastery: At 5th level, a brawler's damage with close weapons increases. When wielding a close weapon, she uses the unarmed strike damage of a brawler 4 levels lower instead of the base damage for that weapon (for example, a 5th-level Medium brawler wielding a punching dagger deals 1d6 points of damage instead of the weapon's normal 1d4). If the weapon normally deals more damage than this, its damage is unchanged. This ability does not affect any other aspect of the weapon. The brawler can decide to use the weapon's base damage instead of her adjusted unarmed strike damage—this must be declared before the attack roll is made."


Hello, is there an easy way to transfer all the custom conditions I've made to another copy of Combat Manager (PC)? Also, does the Android app even allow custom conditions?

Also, I noticed that a lot of the teamwork feats from the Adv. Player's Guide are missing; like my favorite...Outflank.

Anyway, thanks for an AWESOME program.


Hi N N 959, thanks for your well thought out response. I agree with pretty much all that you said. I think the rules DO provide for the situation where one is bull rushed into another and then into a wall.

PRD / Combat section wrote:
"Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
.....
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer."

So, the first guy is slammed into the second, knocking #2 into the wall and prone (w/ successful 2nd shield slam roll-4) then #1 bounces back into his original square (his last legal square) without falling prone, I guess. However, if the shield slamming/Bull Rushing character can or decides to follow the first, occupying that one's last legal square, then that first guy gets shunted to nearest open square. What do you think?


Thanks for your answers. Casting defensively successfully, the wizard is able to dispel the Darkness spell (in a dimly lit room) and eliminate the blindness issue. Oh, it's a troop of Babau Demons that have teleported in to flanking positions. Now the Oracle will cast Sunlight to counteract any future Darkness spells and so on...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

How can you do anything defensively if you can't see what it is you're defending against. For example, you can't add a dodge bonus from using Total Defense vs a target you can't see. I'm assuming that casting defensively means your trying to avoid AOO's from opponents you can see.


Ok, I have a further question to ask about the scenario where you bull rush one opponent into another, and both into a wall.
xxx|
abc|
xxx|
a=you, b&c=foes, x=space, |=wall

So, you take your attack roll, with all those bonuses (and arguably also the Imp./Gr. Bull Rush feat bonuses) and hit B with enough success to push him 10'+ into a wall, though he is pushed into C first.

Do you:

1) Roll a normal bull rush with the -4 penalty (NOT a shield slam--just using your normal CMB+Bull Rush feats/special abilities) attempt vs C to see if C is pushed into the wall? If so, then he doesn't go prone, since the Bull Rush rules don't stipulate that. Then I also don't know what to do with B, since he wouldn't be pushed directly into a wall from the shield slam. Maybe he bumps off of C and gets pushed diagonally to fall prone next to the wall either above or below C?

OR:

2) Roll a new bull rush attempt vs C using all the same bonuses from your SHIELD SLAM attack and include the -4 from bull rushing a second character in line, in which case C could end up prone (as per Shield Slam) and moved to the side as B pushes into him and then the wall to fall prone as well.

OR:

3) Same as 2 but no reroll, just using the same roll from the initial shield slam and subtract 4?


I know this is almost a year late, but you are all forgetting that a shield IS a weapon. You don't NEED shield spikes to turn it into a weapon. You can add weapon enhancements to the shield, separate from the shield (armor) enhancements, like any other weapon.

CRB says. "Shield Bash Attacks: You can bash an opponent with a heavy
shield. See “shield, heavy” on Table 6–4 for the damage dealt
by a shield bash. Used this way, a heavy shield is a martial
bludgeoning weapon. For the purpose of penalties on attack
rolls, treat a heavy shield as a one-handed weapon. If you
use your shield as a weapon, you lose its AC bonus until
your next turn. An enhancement bonus on a shield does not
improve the effectiveness of a shield bash made with it, but
the shield can be made into a magic weapon in its own right."

So, medium shield (1d4 bludgeon dmg.) + spikes = 1d6 piercing dmg. Bashing makes the damage go to 2d6. Enlarge Person spell makes it go to 3d6. Keep in mind, w/o the Imp. Shield Bash feat, you lose the AC protection of the shield.


Hi, If a character is suddenly blinded, within a Deeper Darkness area, has an invisible foe, or otherwise can't see an opponent, can they still benefit from casting defensively, say to cast Dispel Magic on the Deeper Darkness?


Earlier I posted: "Has anyone else experienced an annoying problem where the initiative order, initially sorted properly, will occasionally mix itself up, somewhat randomly, when the Next Turn button is pressed? I think it does it if I take the focus off the program to use another open program, like Internet Explorer or whatever, then come back to CM and click on the Next Turn button. It causes me to have to hit the Sort button to get them back into proper order, which always goes back to the top of the current round. I haven't found a consistent cause, yet."

A workaround to fix part of the problem could be if you make the "sort" button not cause the current initiative count/turn to change. As it is now, it always goes to the top of the round when you hit "sort".


Has anyone else experienced an annoying problem where the initiative order, initially sorted properly, will occasionally mix itself up, somewhat randomly, when the Next Turn button is pressed? I think it does it if I take the focus off the program to use another open program, like Internet Explorer or whatever, then come back to CM and click on the Next Turn button. It causes me to have to hit the Sort button to get them back into proper order, which always goes back to the top of the current round. I haven't found a consistent cause, yet.


Dreaming Psion wrote: "There seems to be a problem with custom conditions that directly add to saves. It seems like they're applied inconsistently, and I haven't found a right pattern to it yet."

It works if you place the bonus in all the boxes except the "Fort" box. So with, for instance, a Heroism spell, you would put a "2" in the "Save", "Ref", and "Wil" boxes, to get a +2 to all saves. It won't work if you put a "2" in just the "Save" box, which is probably how it should work, but doesn't.

Also, I've found a bug when making a custom condition where if I put a number in either the melee or ranged damage boxes under the Attack Bonus menu, instead of just the "all damage" box, it crashes the program on the Windows version. I have Windows 7.


Shield Slam gives a free Bull Rush when using a shield bash. This can be done as an AOO. Just an example.


I have a character that's two-weapon fighting with a heavy shield and a light off-hand shield, both with bashing. In this case, it's valid and beneficial to have weapon focus: shield bash, no? He will, eventually with Shield Master feat, use two heavy bashing shields.


Thanks. I'll have to look into that weapon. Maybe also look at being a dwarf.


Hello, 1) If using a shield bash, can I add the shield's weapon enhancement, weapon focus: spiked heavy shield (or should it be shield bash) and any other feats/abilities that add to a normal shield attack to a bull rush? I'm looking at how you can do all this with a trip weapon when tripping. If not for a regular bull rush, what about when doing a shield slam?

Shield Slam: "Benefit: Any opponents hit by your shield bash are also hit with a free bull rush attack, substituting your attack roll for the combat maneuver check (see Combat). This bull rush does not provoke an attack of opportunity. Opponents who cannot move back due to a wall or other surface are knocked prone after moving the maximum possible distance. You may choose to move with your target if you are able to take a 5-foot step or to spend an action to move this turn."

2) If playing a Brawler Fighter archetype, I know I can add my Close Control bonus, but can I also add the Close Combatant bonus using said shield for a bull rush or shield slam?

Close Control (Ex): At 2nd level, a brawler becomes skilled at forcefully moving his opponent around the battlefield. The brawler gains a +1 bonus on bull rush, drag, and reposition combat maneuver checks. The brawler also gains a +1 bonus to CMD when attacked with the bull rush, drag, and reposition maneuvers. These bonuses increase by +1 for every four levels after 2nd (to a maximum of +5 at 18th level). This ability replaces armor training 1.

Close Combatant (Ex): At 3rd level, a brawler gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls and a +3 bonus on damage rolls with weapons in the close weapon group. Both of these bonuses increase by +1 for every four levels beyond 3rd (to a maximum of +5 on attack rolls and +7 on damage rolls at 19th level). This ability replaces weapon training 1 and 2.

Thanks


Thanks for you replies, Duncan888. I can understand your GM's frustration, but I don't want to give up on a fun and challenging build like this.

Anyone else want to try to tackle these questions?


Shield Slam: "Benefit: Any opponents hit by your shield bash are also hit with a free bull rush attack, substituting your attack roll for the combat maneuver check (see Combat). This bull rush does not provoke an attack of opportunity. Opponents who cannot move back due to a wall or other surface are knocked prone after moving the maximum possible distance. You may choose to move with your target if you are able to take a 5-foot step or to spend an action to move this turn."

Bull Rush says: "You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of the melee attack. You can only bull rush an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. A bull rush attempts to push an opponent straight back without doing any harm. If you do not have the Improved Bull Rush feat, or a similar ability, initiating a bull rush provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver.

If your attack is successful, your target is pushed back 5 feet. For every 5 by which your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD you can push the target back an additional 5 feet. You can move with the target if you wish but you must have the available movement to do so. If your attack fails, your movement ends in front of the target.

An enemy being moved by a bull rush does not provoke an attack of opportunity because of the movement unless you possess the Greater Bull Rush feat. You cannot bull rush a creature into a square that is occupied by a solid object or obstacle. If there is another creature in the way of your bull rush, you must immediately make a combat maneuver check to bull rush that creature. You take a –4 penalty on this check for each creature being pushed beyond the first. If you are successful, you can continue to push the creatures a distance equal to the lesser result. For example, if a fighter bull rushes a goblin for a total of 15 feet, but there is another goblin 5 feet behind the first, he must make another combat maneuver check against the second goblin after having pushed the first 5 feet. If his check reveals that he can push the second goblin a total of 20 feet, he can continue to push both goblins another 10 feet (since the first goblin will have moved a total of 15 feet)."

My questions: 1) If I knock an enemy into another enemy or even an ally, does that count as "another surface" and will it knock them prone? 2) In doing so, do I roll the 2nd CMB check to see if the character behind the initially bull rushed one is also bull rushed (knocked prone also)? 3) Does this bull rush take advantage of Imp+Gr. Bull Rush feats; such as bonuses and causing foe(s) to provoke from movement?


Rebuffing Reduction (Combat):
"Your damage reduction can turn the force of blows back on your enemies.
Prerequisites: Str 13, damage reduction, Improved Bull Rush, Power Attack, base attack bonus +1.
Benefit: Whenever an opponent that is adjacent to you fails to penetrate your DR with a melee attack, you can spend an immediate action to attempt a bull rush combat maneuver against that opponent. If you succeed, you cannot move with the opponent.
Normal: A bull rush combat maneuver is a standard action."

My question: does this mean that any time an adjacent character melee attacks me and MISSES, I can spend my immediate action to attempt a bull rush? Or only if it HITS but doesn't penetrate my DR? A failed attack doesn't penetrate my DR either.


You can dual-wield light and/or medium shields. Makes for an interesting shield bashing and bull rush build.


Hello, I've got another feature request. I noticed that I can manually change the name of a weapon from, say, "+1 longsword" to "+1 adamantine longsword", but in doing so, it loses it's ability to track bonuses from things like haste, custom addons like power attack, etc. When I look at the weapon using the normal tab, it has been moved to the natural weapon area. Is there a proper way to do this? I also do this to add weapon specials like "agile" which aren't on your rather short list of weapon specials. Would it be possible to add the ones from the Ultimate Equipment book, at least?

I notice (with the PC version), you have a little notepad that can pop up to add notes, but it doesn't remember notes or stick around. How is that used?

thanks!


Barbarians can also have levels in Martial Artist Monk archetype and vice versa. Martial artists can be any alignment.

On Touch Attacks discussed earlier:
I'm assuming that the free melee touch attack allowed when casting a melee touch attack w/o provoking doesn't negate the AOO from casting a spell in a threatened area, or the AOO for moving out of a threatened space if you're not within your reach to apply the touch attack (unless using free 5' step).

A big revelation to me was learning that all those Improved Combat Maneuver feats that eliminate the attack from provoking, only cancel the AOO from using the CM, not from any movement involved in leaving a threatened space to get up to the foe being CM'ed. Same for a charge. I'd always thought that a charge didn't provoke, including the movement through a creature's reach. Have to reconsider when charging and/or using imp. bull rush/overrun, or add mobility to shore up defenses.


Thanks. I'm in agreement.


"Scout’s Charge (Ex)
At 4th level, whenever a scout makes a charge, her attack deals sneak attack damage as if the target were flat-footed. Foes with uncanny dodge are immune to this ability.
This ability replaces uncanny dodge.

Skirmisher (Ex)
At 8th level, whenever a scout moves more than 10 feet in a round and makes an attack action, the attack deals sneak attack damage as if the target was flat-footed. If the scout makes more than one attack this turn, this ability only applies to the first attack. Foes with uncanny dodge are immune to this ability."

My main question is: Is the charged or skirmished foe considered flat-footed to the attack, using it's flat-footed AC, no AOO, etc?

As a secondary question, would a Kitsune Scout using Vulpine Pounce on a Scout's Charge get to add sneak attack damage on all his attacks? And would they all get the +2 to attack from charging? I'm thinking they would.


Prd wrote:
"Covering Defense (Combat)

You are skilled at protecting yourself and your allies with your shield.
Prerequisites: Shield Focus, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: When you use the total defense action while using a light, heavy, or tower shield, you can provide a cover bonus to AC against all attacks to an adjacent ally your size or smaller. This cover bonus is equal to your shield’s shield bonus and lasts until the beginning of your next turn. your shield does not provide a cover bonus to reflex saves."

So, my questions are: 1) is the character using this feat able to provide a cover bonus to ALL adjacent allies of appropriate size? In other words, If two or more allies, adjacent to the defender, are attacked with separate attacks during the round, will they all get the cover bonus? The feat doesn't specifically limit it to ONE ally. 2) If not, then do you have to pre-select the protected character, or after you give a cover bonus to the first ally, it is used up for the round?

To partially answer my own question, I see that it would at least protect ONE ally against MULTIPLE attacks.


I certainly agree with Samsaboy1. The helm doesn't say it gives a weapon attack, it gives a (magic) GORE attack, which is a natural attack. If you held, or used any part of your body to somehow attack with a pointy, horn-shaped object, THAT would be a non-natural attack, with an unconventional weapon. But a gore attack is a specific kind of attack in the natural weapons category.


Lord Malkov, I admit that you've persuaded me about not being able to knock a flying creature prone, but not because they are immune to being tripped, but only because they aren't being made prone by my attack...especially if they have magical flight. If they use wings, I think there is still some gray area.

The rules actually say that flying creatures and those without legs are immune to being TRIPPED, which is one way to be knocked prone. If you are tackled and knocked off your feet and pushed onto your butt, were you tripped? There is a whole discussion of this on at the link below. Granted, there was no resolution in that discussion, but being tripped and being knocked prone by overrun are two different methods of ending up prone. Some are immune to the former. But this may be splitting hairs, I agree. I suppose they should just say that certain creatures cannot be made prone, period.

The official FAQ answer for Greater Trip and Vicious Stomp says, "Yes, the two triggering acts are similar here but they are different. One occurs when you trip a foe. The other occurs when a foe falls prone." This DOES seem to make the distinction of using "Tripped" as a maneuver and any different method of knocking something prone.

The aforementioned link:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2p5wn?Can-a-snake-be-knocked-prone


Thanks for your replies. I did mention that the PC was using Greater Overrun, which implies Improved, and therefore there's no choice to avoid the overrun. Since the rules for AOO's say the AOO from knocking a creature prone occurs BEFORE they actually receive the prone condition, the PC should get the AOO (with no prone bonus) as the creature is on it's way down, realistically a kick within the first 5' of falling, and it wouldn't matter if the victim makes it's fly check, a few seconds later, as it's falling, to avoid hitting the ground and becoming prone.

Overrun says that they ARE knocked prone if the overrun is 5 or more than the CMD of the creature, and Greater Overrun gives you the AOO as they are following through with act of being knocked prone (falling down). Even if the creature has MAGICAL flight, a 5+ Overrun should have the effect of causing the creature to maybe lose it's balance, spinning vertically once or twice before regaining control, which allows the AOO from Greater Overrun and Vicious Stomp.

This does raise another question, does the act of overrunning cause the PC to have to make a collision check as well as the target? Is committing an overrun (or bull rush or trample?) counted as a collision for both parties? The initiator is in control of the maneuver, hoping to overcome the target. Although, the rules for flying say if you are ATTACKED you can lose 10' if you fail a fly check. A combat maneuver is an attack, not a collision. But really, a flying grapple, overrun, bull rush, etc. is more of a collision.

Also, Air Walk says, "The subject can tread on air as if walking on solid ground. Moving upward is similar to walking up a hill." That is why I think I could literally use a flying overrun to knock a character using air walk prone so that it has to stand up from prone on it's turn.


Does Rogue Talent: Weapon Training allow the full benefits of Gloves of Dueling?

Gloves of Dueling wrote:
These supple gloves grant the wearer a +4 bonus to her CMD against disarm attacks, attempts to sunder her wielded weapons, and effects that cause her to lose her grip on her weapons (such as grease). The wearer doesn’t drop held weapons when panicked or stunned. If the wearer has the weapon training class feature and is using an appropriate weapon, her weapon training bonus increases by +2.

Even the link for Weapon Training on the webpage for the gloves points to the Rogue Talent, not that it's an official rules page. I think it is intended for use with the Weapon Training ability of fighters, which does more than the benefit of Weapon Focus from the rogue talent. But if allowed, I'll let my rogue gain an additional +2 to hit from the gloves (I'm assuming that he doesn't get +2 damage as well, like he would if he had the fighter's version of the ability). I figure the other benefits of the gloves would function even without any weapon training.

Now that I think about it, does a Rogue Talent count as a class feature? The gloves refer to the Weapon Training class feature.

Here's the link mentioned: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/e-g/glove s-of-dueling


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

One very important point being overlooked, and which could possibly be the exception everyone is looking for, is the fact that Bull Rush specifically says, "You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of the melee attack." Overrun leaves out the part in bold print, so, by RAW, you would still get the attack allowed by charging if you are successful with the overrun attempt on the charge target.


No one is answering. Do you consider this a silly question?