Does alchemist's fire normally take almost 3 rounds to take out and throw?


Rules Questions


The chart of actions in the Combat chapter lists "Prepare to throw splash weapon" under FULL-ROUND actions.

So, assuming I don't have the Quick Draw feat, is this correct?

Round 1:
I draw out the alchemist's fire (move action, provokes AoOs)
I begin to prepare it to be thrown (standard action, provokes AoOs)

Round 2:
Finishing preparing it (standard action, provokes AoOs)

Note the following quote from the Combat chapter:

Quote:

Start/Complete Full-Round Action

The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can't use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.

Round 3:

Throw the alchemist's fire (standard action, provokes AoOs)


what a weird little action. 'prepare to throw splash weapon', like, what, pulling the pin out of a grenade? Uh, like maybe counting to three in a really horrible fashion?

I'd never seen that. yick.


Do you have to light it first?

Dark Archive

The Prepare a splash weapon action is for Oil not Alchemist Fire

From Oil in the CRB
"A pint of lamp oil burns for 6 hours in a common lantern or lamp. You can also use a flask of lamp oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist's fire, except that it takes a full-round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully."


ohako said wrote:


what a weird little action. 'prepare to throw splash weapon', like, what, pulling the pin out of a grenade? Uh, like maybe counting to three in a really horrible fashion?

I'd never seen that. yick.

1....2.....5!

3, sir.

3! (throw)

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

5 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm pretty sure the "prepare to throw splash weapon" option is for turning a flask of oil into a molotov cocktail (complete with lit rag), NOT for throwing a flask of acid or alchemist's fire (which is ready-to-go).


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
I'm pretty sure the "prepare to throw splash weapon" option is for turning a flask of oil into a molotov cocktail (complete with lit rag), NOT for throwing a flask of acid or alchemist's fire (which is ready-to-go).

But you...I...me...Nani Pratt...Paizocon...I...

::HEAD EXPLODES::


RIP Rogue Eidolon.

Silver Crusade

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
I'm pretty sure the "prepare to throw splash weapon" option is for turning a flask of oil into a molotov cocktail (complete with lit rag), NOT for throwing a flask of acid or alchemist's fire (which is ready-to-go).

That would be welcome indeed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does alchemist's fire normally take almost 3 rounds to take out and throw? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions