| Daarck |
If a game effect says "When you encounter x, do y", does it mean...
1) Do y INSTEAD OF encountering x
2) Do y BEFORE encountering x
3) Do y AFTER encountering x
4) Something else?
I would say (3), reading it as 'If this condition occurs, this effect triggers'. What you have put seems quite specific about the cause/effect progression.
Vic Wertz
Chief Technical Officer
|
It means "as soon as x happens, do y..." but that doesn't overrule the "finish one thing before starting another" metarule.
So, Foul Misgivings says "When you encounter a Haunt, put it in front of you." As soon as you flip over the Haunt, you can do that right away, since it doesn't conflict with anything the Haunt says.
Medusa Mask says "When you encounter a monster, you may display this card and put the monster atop it; the monster is neither defeated nor undefeated." You can do that right away, too.
Warrens, though, says "When you encounter a monster, put a random monster from the box on top of another random open location deck." So finish the original encounter, then get the random monster from the box.
| Rebel Song |
Sorry to necro this, but I want some verification on Wrath Adventure Deck 5 Scenario 2 (the one where you move a lot). Lightless Maze and Ivory Labyrinth, in particular.
"After you encounter a boon/bane, move to Blackthorn." (or whatever the location is, sorry, I didn't write it down and I don't have it with me here in the office)
I read this as you move after you complete your encounter, not right after you flip it over.
1. Flip up card.
2. Evade (if possible/necessary)
3. Before you Act
4. Actual encounter, attempt checks, etc.
5. After you act
6. Move to Blackthorn/hawn/whatever.
Is that correct? Finish one thing before you start another, right?
| Hawkmoon269 |
Sorry to necro this, but I want some verification on Wrath Adventure Deck 5 Scenario 2 (the one where you move a lot). Lightless Maze and Ivory Labyrinth, in particular.
"After you encounter a boon/bane, move to Blackthorn." (or whatever the location is, sorry, I didn't write it down and I don't have it with me here in the office)
I read this as you move after you complete your encounter, not right after you flip it over.
1. Flip up card.
2. Evade (if possible/necessary)
3. Before you Act
4. Actual encounter, attempt checks, etc.
5. After you act
6. Move to Blackthorn/hawn/whatever.Is that correct? Finish one thing before you start another, right?
Yup. Technically it would be:
6. Resolve the encounter.7. Move to whatever that place is.
But yeah, you've got the idea.
| tisfido |
With respect to Ivory Labyrinth, what do you do if the monster you encounter is a henchmen and you defeat it. Do you still get to close the location or do you have to move to Blackthorn without attempting to close the location? If you are allowed to close the location the On Closing rule it says to move to a random location.
I presume the On Closing rule takes precedence over the when you encounter a bane rule.
TiSfido
| elcoderdude |
After you encounter a bane, move to Blackburgh.
Say you defeat the Labyrinth Minotaur at this location.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.
Both the move to Blackburgh and the opportunity to close the location occur after the encounter, but the opportunity to close happens immediately, so it happens first.
On closing, move to a random location.
Say you successfully closed the location. You are moved to a random location. That much seems clear.
What I am unclear about is whether the directive to move to Blackburgh is simply disregarded in this scenario. Hawkmoon? skizzerz?
| Hawkmoon269 |
I'd say yes, you disregard it, since you are no longer at the location.
If (and I don't remember off the top of my head) the same "at this location" power was on the closed side and if you randomly moved to the Ivory Labyrinth, then I'd say you go ahead and move to Blackburgh.
I would also technically put closing the location from defeating a henchman in the "resolve the encounter" step of the encounter.