Spend a standard to take a swift?


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can you spend a move action or a standard action to take a second swift action in a round, if you've already used your one swift action for that round?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Short answer: No. There is no provision for "trading-down" actions, except for spending your standard to get a second move action.

Grand Lodge

Why don't you tell us exactly what you want to do? Specific situations make all the difference.


My group plays that you can and it's not unbalancing. Trading a standard for a second move gives precedent. Obviously a standard action would be "more" than a swift, but the relationship between move and swift isn't necessarily codified. However, given the ability to use a swift along with a full-round and not doing the same with a move, I think it points to Standard>Move>Swift>Free.

SlimGauge is correct that there is no RAW provision for it.

Shadow Lodge

There's at least fifteen reasons I would want to do this. My magus could Arcane Pool empower her sword, cast a spell that's a swift action, and also cast a spell as a standard in the same round if she could spend a Move Action to swiftly empower her sword. Among other things. It's particularly relevant for Magi, since they love their swift actions.

It is weird that you can't do this. Imagine all you wanted to do was swift actions - you had 3 of them you'd like to perform, while just standing still and doing nothing else. It would take three rounds to do them all? Yikes.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Obviously your group can houserule whatever they think is reasonable, but the offical rule is right here:

PRD wrote:
Swift Action: A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform only a single swift action per turn.

The last sentence makes it pretty cut and dry.


As Slim said, it's not possible.

Balance-wise there might not be too many issues with houseruling trading standard for swift, but move for swift would clearly be unbalanced in some cases (like spells or other offensive powers with swift action activation time which you could suddenly throw twice as many times in a round).


I wouldn't see a problem with a house rule to use a Standard action for a Swift. But never a Move action for a Swift - doing this would allow two Quickened Spells AND a normal spell, all in one single round. That's too much.

There are too many ways to convert something that requires a standard action into something that only requires a swift actions (e.g. Quicken Spell), so once people find out they can convert a MOVE action to be able to do a STANDARD action thing (which they then only need to quicken to use it), everyone will be trading Moves for Standards and that will get out of hand fast - you might as well let everyone convert Move actions into Standard actions.

Shadow Lodge

DM_Blake wrote:

I wouldn't see a problem with a house rule to use a Standard action for a Swift. But never a Move action for a Swift - doing this would allow two Quickened Spells AND a normal spell, all in one single round. That's too much.

There are too many ways to convert something that requires a standard action into something that only requires a swift actions (e.g. Quicken Spell), so once people find out they can convert a MOVE action to be able to do a STANDARD action thing (which they then only need to quicken to use it), everyone will be trading Moves for Standards and that will get out of hand fast - you might as well let everyone convert Move actions into Standard actions.

Good thinking. I'll allow people to use a Standard action to use a second Swift action then in home games, I think. Move actions are right out.


It can be very overpowering depending on the character and build in question, and in general don't think it should be allowed. As stated the RAW also says no quite clealry. If you must do it though, I agree allowing the exchange of a standard for a swift it definitely more acceptable than a move for a swift.


Allowing move->swift would be unbalancing. Allowing standard->swift probably isn't.


Heh, behold the fighter 1 (champion 1) moving three times his move speed and making three full BAB attacks that bypass damage reduction in a single round (not even getting into feats)!

Yeah, that'd be a bit much, even for mythic.


Oh right, you can already swap a standard for a swift. Just ready a swift action. That's explicitly allowed by RAW. Make the trigger condition "now". Fortunately, ready requires a standard action.

Grand Lodge

blahpers wrote:
Oh right, you can already swap a standard for a swift. Just ready a swift action. That's explicitly allowed by RAW. Make the trigger condition "now". Fortunately, ready requires a standard action.

The problem is that the text of swift action says you may only perform one swift action per turn. So you can't take a swift, then ready another swift, because you'll have already taken the one swift action you're allowed that turn.


Hmm, bummer. Back to housing it is.


If you go RAW then you can't.
If you are okay houseruling, I think you are reasonably safe. (as long as you stay away from move action that is :P)


Sorry for the necro.
Has there been any change/errata/unchained version in the mean time?
Is there a RAW way no to get a second swift action for a standard action?
I currently play a warrior of the holy light paladin. He can use almost half a dozen different swift actions. By the time he's done it all combat is often over.


Christopk-K wrote:

Sorry for the necro.

Has there been any change/errata/unchained version in the mean time?
Is there a RAW way no to get a second swift action for a standard action?
I currently play a warrior of the holy light paladin. He can use almost half a dozen different swift actions. By the time he's done it all combat is often over.

That's a negative. You still can't trade a Standard or Move for a Swift.

At least, not normally.

**EDIT** You can double the cost for additional uses of the ability per day. For example, you can pay 6,000 gold for 3/day, or even 10,000 gold for 5/day.


Wow, that is cool. Thanks!
We play Kingmaker so the once/day doesn't hurt much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spend a standard to take a swift? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions