Seoni Discard a card trait question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


When using the sorcerer skill of discarding a card to roll your Arcane die +1d6, if I discard a spell from my hand, can I then use her other trait ("you automatically succeed at your check to recharge a spell.") to recharge that spell automatically instead of discarding.


No, sorry. You only Recharge when you play/activate that card. Discard is about losing a card from your hand.
I am playing Seoni at the moment - I have Mending to retrieve the items I discarded to use that power. I prefer that flexibility to holding two or three offensive spells.


So would this same rule would apply to Valeros and his trait?

"When you play a weapon, you may recharge it instead of discarding it."


Yes indeed.
Valeria is interesting to play because he rarely Needs to go through cards so his deck remains quite full throughout the game. YMMV.

Silver Crusade

Cheez wrote:

So would this same rule would apply to Valeros and his trait?

"When you play a weapon, you may recharge it instead of discarding it."

Yes. When he discards it as part of activating that card's power, he can recharge it instead. If he discards because he's taking damage or something else, then that card is the "cost" of being damaged. Thus, it's treated as just a card, not as a weapon.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I may be wrong, but I think you can recharge it automatically if the card you are discarding happens to be a spell.


magnuskn wrote:
I may be wrong, but I think you can recharge it automatically if the card you are discarding happens to be a spell.

Unfortunately, the type of card you discard does really matter when you use her power. It's basically treated as a blank card, which cannot be recharged regardless of the type.


@magnuskn - sorry, but Seoni cannot recharge cards she discards to pay for her blast power (even if she discards an Arcane spell).

There is no opportunity to recharge cards discarded to pay a cost in this way (similarly she cannot recharge cards discarded for damage or discarded/banished as a result of some other game effect).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Ooof. Well, that makes Seoni even harder to play in solo situations. I had relied on her automatic recharge for spells to keep cycling the same three spells at the end in every solo scenario I've run her through so far, since she tends to end up with very few life.

You guys sure about that or is that just your interpretation? Are there any actual rulings in the rulebook or from Mike/Vic?


You can recharge spell cards that she plays. There is no problem there.

I thought the issue was if she used her power to discard a card to roll her arcane die and 1 d6 was what you were talking about. If you discarded a spell to use that power it would not be recharged since she is not playing the spell.

If she plays the spell normally for a combat check then it is recharged.

All this i am certain of, and it is in the rulebook at top of page 16
I hope this clears it up for you.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I was talking about her blast power. But Seoni's flavor text from the rulebook (page 13) kinda reinforces my impression that she is supposed to recharge the spell cards she discards for her blast power.

I still find the wording on her power (Last sentence, "This counts as playing a spell") and the wording on page 16 of the rulebook ("You cannot recharge a card you are forced to discard") to be not 100% clear in regards to the interaction with her power to automatically recharge spells.

In fact, my main problem with the two abilities is them having some crossover potential. Since using her blast ability makes the discarded card count like having played a spell (btw., that makes encounters with Goblin Warchanters truly suck for Seoni) a because spell card which she uses for the check may have a recharge option, I think it is well possible that the automatic recharge would work.


Alright, put in a plea for an official answer.
I'd be shocked if it's different then what I have suggested, but I could be wrong, so better to hear it from the powers at be.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Well, hereby I'm doing so. ^^ Or do I need to do it in some other thread?

Silver Crusade

As Tracker1 said, you can only recharge cards that you play. Playing a card means using the text of that card. So when Seoni uses her blast power, she's playing her character card, since the text of the power she's playing is on her character card. Whatever she discards is just the cost, not a played card, so it can't be recharged.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

And I still disagree, for reasons noted above.


magnuskn wrote:
And I still disagree, for reasons noted above.

I do think your right as her power states that it's counted as playing a spell. If It didn't say that then NO the discarded card can't be recharged because it wasn't played........ also maybe the golden rule on page 6 may come into play. "if a card and this rulebook are ever in conflict the card should be considered correct" ok the character stat card isn't a card you play as such but maybe the word " card" could actually include your stat card. I could be wrong


To me, text in the blast power that says it counts as playing a spell was put in there so that you can't use her Blast Power and Force Missile and Glibness on the same combat check (can't play two of the same type of card).

To me, the rules for Discarding are consistent across the board. I'm just glad that you don't have to discard a random card- that'd hurt.


OberonViking wrote:

To me, text in the blast power that says it counts as playing a spell was put in there so that you can't use her Blast Power and Force Missile and Glibness on the same combat check (can't play two of the same type of card).

To me, the rules for Discarding are consistent across the board. I'm just glad that you don't have to discard a random card- that'd hurt.

Exactly..... If It wasn't worded as played as a spell then you could play item, weapons etc to the check making it too over powered


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Given how Seoni otherwise would have severe problems completing solo scenarios (I got to Nualia with Merisiel without a problem and it felt easy. But I always was down to my last cards with Seoni, constantly recycling the last three spells), I sure hope she can recharge spells with her character power.


I'm 99% sure that she cannot recharge the card she discards. If she can then I think it will be the only situation in the whole game in which a card discarded for a 'cost' can be recharged.

The point is that the POWER itself "counts as playing a spell" so, as @OberonViking said, it stops you from playing other spells on the same check. However, the card you discarded to PAY FOR this power is just currency. A blank card that moves from your hand to your discard pile. It has no words on it, it has no recharge power written on it (so nothing for Seoni to auto-pass) and, in any case, recharge powers ONLY trigger when you play a card (i.e. activate a power written on the card itself).

When you discard a card as a 'cost', e.g. to pay for another power, when taking damage, etc you can never trigger the recharge effects. E.g. if Seoni is holding 4 Arcane spells in hand (and nothing else) and takes four DAMAGE then she has to discard the four spells. She gets no chance to recharge them in the process and, to me, paying for her blast power is the same thing.

--

As a side note, some characters are not very good solo, and I think Seoni (and Ezren) are two of them. Without somebody else around to help heal them they can burn out way too fast. I'm fine with this (what kind of wizard would go off adventuring on their own??). Nothing's stopping you from playing with two characters and adding Lini, Lem or Kyra to the mix for some healing power. I played through the whole first Adenture with Lini and Merisiel and am now redoing it with six (Seoni, Lem, Ezren, Kyra, Valeros and Harsk) and it's a very different game (wonderful and enjoyable in a completely different way). My aim is to get all the characters to the end of Burnt Offerings so I have a pool of characters I can use if somebody dies in the second adventure. Playing through the third time with just Sajan, Amiri and Seelah is going to be interesting!


magnuskn wrote:
Given how Seoni otherwise would have severe problems completing solo scenarios (I got to Nualia with Merisiel without a problem and it felt easy. But I always was down to my last cards with Seoni, constantly recycling the last three spells), I sure hope she can recharge spells with her character power.

I've taken Seoni solo through all 8 scenarios. Sheis pretty powerfull with a few attack spells that she can cycle through when her deck is quite small. So, her recharge works great with attack spell cards. i've played that the card she uses for her blast power is discarded even if the discarded card was a spell. She could easily kill her self this way, so the attack spells cards are really important, when she has no one to heal her. You don't want to have to rely on that power to often. I found her really fun to play, and not too weak solo, but maybe i got lucky, or possibly playing completly wrong.


I have also played her as a solo. I manged to cycle through her few spells for quite a few turns before coming across a Combat 13 monster with a bad dice roll. Mending is a useful spell to help with that situation, though I think the other two need to be combat spells. I can't wait to have more spells in my deck.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Discarding a card in the process of triggering a power which requires discarding a card counts as being forced to discard it. No recharging allowed there.


Ah yes the whole discarding a card not actually played can't be recharged thingy lol........ Anyway it still says this counts as playing a spell..... The wording "playing a spell" seriously implies (to me anyway) that you could recharge it....... But at the same time it's a card discarded triggered from a power so maybe it doesn't recharge

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ah, I see the confusion. We mean "This counts as playing a spell" in the negative sense (you can't play another one on the check). You've interpreted it in the positive sense (you can recharge... something). I get it. OK, we will think about clarifying that.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Thanks, Mike! Alright, that will make it interesting to see if Seoni still feels viable for solo play after this. Makes selecting at least two good attack spells way more important. Invisibility stays a must to avoid encounters.


Now I understand thank you mike


@Mike - I don't think you need to clarify Seoni's power. But an entry in the FAQ explaining that cards discarded to pay for 'costs' cannot be recharged in any circumstance (citing Seoni's power as an example) would be very helpful to newcomers!

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Noted.

Silver Crusade

This is already covered in the latest FAQ, just not with Seoni as the example:

Quote:

I have a power that lets me discard a card to trigger an effect. If I discard a spell, can I recharge it?

You may only recharge cards that you play; playing involves triggering an effect on that card, not on some other card.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, under "Playing Cards," change the following:

"Playing a card means activating a card's power by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing the card."
to
"Playing a card means activating that card's power by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card. Doing something with a card that does not activate that card's power does not count as playing that card. For example, if Kyra discards a spell to activate her healing power, it doesn't count as playing that spell (meaning she also can't recharge it)."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Seoni Discard a card trait question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion