Can you use Dimensional Assault from a mount?


Rules Questions


Dimension Door:
You instantly transfer yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You always arrive at exactly the spot desired - whether by simply visualizing the area or by stating direction. After using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn. You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load. You may also bring one additional willing Medium or smaller creature (carrying gear or objects up to its maximum load) or its equivalent per three caster levels. A Large creature counts as two Medium creatures, a Huge creature counts as two Large creatures, and so forth. All creatures to be transported must be in contact with one another, and at least one of those creatures must be in contact with you.

If you arrive in a place that is already occupied by a solid body, you and each creature traveling with you take 1d6 points of damage and are shunted to a random open space on a suitable surface within 100 feet of the intended location.

If there is no free space within 100 feet, you and each creature traveling with you take an additional 2d6 points of damage and are shunted to a free space within 1,000 feet. If there is no free space within 1,000 feet, you and each creature traveling with you take an additional 4d6 points of damage and the spell simply fails.

(Emphasis mine)

Dimensional Assault:
As a full-round action, you use abundant step or cast dimension door as a special charge. Doing so allows you to teleport up to double your current speed (up to the maximum distance allowed by the spell or ability) and to make the attack normally allowed on a charge.

Does this mean that a mounted character could use this ability to teleport charge into combat with a lance?


I don't see why not.


I see no rules problems. Mind if I steal this? This just seems too awesome to pass up. I may be able to scare the crap out of my players with this.


Harark wrote:
I see no rules problems. Mind if I steal this? This just seems too awesome to pass up. I may be able to scare the crap out of my players with this.

By all means, go for it!


I think the problem is this. To do the mounted charge your mount has to charge. The mount cant really charge if your casting dimension door. How far would you be able to go? Dimensional assault doesnt care what the horse speed is.

On a side note if this is legal you should probably get a smarter mount. Id think the whole thing would confuse an animal.


Mojorat wrote:

I think the problem is this. To do the mounted charge your mount has to charge. The mount cant really charge if your casting dimension door. How far would you be able to go? Dimensional assault doesnt care what the horse speed is.

On a side note if this is legal you should probably get a smarter mount. Id think the whole thing would confuse an animal.

I think you are right, the lance says that "A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand."

This means that the question is whether or not the ride-alongs benefit from the ability "to make an attack normally allowed on a charge," and I think the answer there is no.

It will still look cool though, lol.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you use Dimensional Assault from a mount? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions